Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 6, 2010, 01:53 PM   #1
Apple2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
Powermac G5 Explosion

After using third party software on my dual 1.8ghz Powermac G5, I had to force shut down by holding down the power button because the computer had completely frozen up. When I pressed the power button to turn the machine back on, there was a flash and a loud explosion from the computer. The G5 no longer boots, and is completely unresponsive. Any ideas as to what happened? Is there any way to fix this, or do I need a new computer?
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 01:55 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Have you disconnected the power and looked inside the PowerMac for any visual confirmation of some kind of damage?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 01:56 PM   #3
gilkisson
macrumors 65816
 
gilkisson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, Horry County (do not pronounce the "H"), South Cacalaki
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple2 View Post
After using third party software on my dual 1.8ghz Powermac G5, I had to force shut down by holding down the power button because the computer had completely frozen up. When I pressed the power button to turn the machine back on, there was a flash and a loud explosion from the computer. The G5 no longer boots, and is completely unresponsive. Any ideas as to what happened? Is there any way to fix this, or do I need a new computer?
I would guess the third-party software had little to do with it. Sounds like the power supply cooked off/shorted out.

I would venture to say, she's given all she has to give. You wanted a new Mac Pro anyways, right?
gilkisson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:04 PM   #4
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
Nothing abnormal inside

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Have you disconnected the power and looked inside the PowerMac for any visual confirmation of some kind of damage?
There is no physical damage on the inside of the G5. I cleaned it out with some canned air, but saw nothing out of the ordinary.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:05 PM   #5
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
The flash and bang came from the front panel of the G5, near the power button. Don't know if this is important, but throwing it out there in case it is.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:08 PM   #6
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
OMFG You'll be lucky if it's only PSU damaged (i guess it's lobo too). If you can afford new computer then go for it. I've seen many dying/dead G5, but no one was end with explosion...
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:08 PM   #7
gilkisson
macrumors 65816
 
gilkisson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, Horry County (do not pronounce the "H"), South Cacalaki
Do you smell the smell of fried electronics/burnt wires?

You may have "merely" a shorted out power switch.

Was it very dusty/dirty, as in caked-on?
gilkisson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:15 PM   #8
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilkisson View Post
Do you smell the smell of fried electronics/burnt wires?

You may have "merely" a shorted out power switch.

Was it very dusty/dirty, as in caked-on?
No, it wasn't that dusty inside the case. Resetting PMU had no effect either.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:20 PM   #9
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
I was browsing the internet trying to find out more information on the explosion, and found this at http://www.macintouch.com/readerrepo...topic4026.html.

"You can add my G5 2.0 DP to the list.
Yesterday, I went to turn it on and when I pressed the power button there was a very loud pop with a bright blue spark from around the button and now the machine is completely dead.
Looks like there are others having the same problem."

I also read that the explosion may have been caused by a blown capacitor in the front panel.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 02:25 PM   #10
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple2 View Post
The flash and bang came from the front panel of the G5, near the power button. Don't know if this is important, but throwing it out there in case it is.
Hmm, it's little changing things... but not much, i think. Front panel is burnt for sure. To remove it you must disassembly almost whole unit: CPU, PSU and lobo. To test rest of components, you will need to get working one (or other G5 case). If you want to try and don't know how to disassembly your G5, PM me your email address, and i will send you service source (if you don't have one).
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 03:42 PM   #11
mannyrm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Send a message via Skype™ to mannyrm
Sounds like the Thermocouplers blew. Could be due to a faulty Magneto Hydro propulsion inducer.

I've seen this happen before, As a PC repair tech, I normally pull out the p/s and try to see if it gives a burnt oder.

If the Mac P/S has a fuse, it could have blown to protect the unit.

Good luck
mannyrm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 12:59 AM   #12
applegeek13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I would take it to an Apple store and see if they'll fix it or replace it for free. Even out of warranty, they might repair/replace due to manufacturer error, e.g. Leaky G5 Quads. If not, no harm done, either fix it yourself or buy a new Mac. Good luck!
__________________
Power Mac G4 FW800, 2X1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 650GB (combined) Combo; 8GB iPod Touch 2nd Gen
Heritage: PowerBook 170; iMac G3
applegeek13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 01:10 AM   #13
DesmoPilot
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple2 View Post
After using third party software on my dual 1.8ghz Powermac G5, I had to force shut down by holding down the power button because the computer had completely frozen up. When I pressed the power button to turn the machine back on, there was a flash and a loud explosion from the computer. The G5 no longer boots, and is completely unresponsive. Any ideas as to what happened? Is there any way to fix this, or do I need a new computer?
From my experience as an Apple tech I can all but guarantee your PSU fried (and might of taken more hardware with it). We had quite a few machines come in with your same problem.

Take it in for repairs but it's up in the air as to what happens. Some shops have the parts to do the job and some don't; supplies are all but dried up on G5 replacements. Just before I left my job, we were told by Apple not to touch G5s anymore and to give the customer a number to call (Some customer's were given Mac Pro's free of charge).
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" i7 2.66GHz w/HR-AG|OWC Data Doubler w/OCZ Vertex 2 180GB SSD and Hitachi 7K500 500GB HDD
Google Nexus S 4.1.1 Jelly Bean
DesmoPilot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 01:50 AM   #14
applegeek13
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
^^^ Well said, sir. It might be your lucky day at the Apple store, Apple2!
Best of luck!
__________________
Power Mac G4 FW800, 2X1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 650GB (combined) Combo; 8GB iPod Touch 2nd Gen
Heritage: PowerBook 170; iMac G3
applegeek13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 11:35 AM   #15
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
from what i have heard before it is the psu, but if it is from the power button i would think it is the front panel board
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 09:17 PM   #16
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
I will be taking the G5 in for repairs tomorrow. Hope it's not completely fried. If it is, I'll probably be better off getting a new 8 core Mac Pro anyway...
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 09:23 PM   #17
aednichols
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
If it is fried, consider ebaying the enclosure instead of letting Apple have it. There's quite a demand for them, and they often go for well over $100.
aednichols is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 03:05 PM   #18
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
The logic board and PMU are fried... I guess a new Mac Pro is coming my way.
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 11:37 AM   #19
MacintoshMaster
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple2 View Post
I guess a new Mac Pro is coming my way.

For Free!?? My iMac G3 (Blue one) has broke...... Could I get a free Mac Pro then?
MacintoshMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 12:47 PM   #20
Apple2
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Providence, RI
I came home from work, and found a Mac Pro sitting on my desk. It seems my parents felt generous. BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!

SPECS:
8 core 2.26ghz
6gb RAM
Airport Extreme Card
Mac OS-X Snow Leopard
__________________
2
Switched to Solaris!
1x Sun Cobalt LX-50, 1x Sun Sunfire 3800, 2x Sun Storedge D240, 2x Cisco PIX-515e Firewalls, 1x Cisco Catalyst 2950, 1x APC Smart-UPS 1000

Last edited by Apple2; Jul 23, 2010 at 01:02 PM.
Apple2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 03:14 PM   #21
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacintoshMaster View Post
For Free!?? My iMac G3 (Blue one) has broke...... Could I get a free Mac Pro then?
If your parents are willing to buy ya one!
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 03:21 PM   #22
halprin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Send a message via AIM to halprin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple2 View Post
I came home from work, and found a Mac Pro sitting on my desk. It seems my parents felt generous. BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!

SPECS:
8 core 2.26ghz
6gb RAM
Airport Extreme Card
Mac OS-X Snow Leopard
Frick dude!
__________________
2.66 Ghz Core i7 MacBook Pro; 1.83 Ghz Core Duo MacBook
dead Dual 2.7 Ghz PowerMac G5
halprin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2010, 12:30 PM   #23
neenja
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
nice man. now i hope mine blows up too and will wish for a new one
neenja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2010, 01:06 PM   #24
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple2 View Post
I came home from work, and found a Mac Pro sitting on my desk. It seems my parents felt generous. BEST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!

SPECS:
8 core 2.26ghz
6gb RAM
Airport Extreme Card
Mac OS-X Snow Leopard

Sweet. Now I know they'll be updated tomorrow for sure.
__________________
If your religion is worth killing for, please start with yourself.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Australian Vodafone Store Evacuated After Demo iPad 'Explosion' MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 77 Nov 17, 2013 07:16 AM
Two Dead After Weapon Discharge Causes Explosion Fire rdowns Politics, Religion, Social Issues 19 Aug 21, 2013 06:45 PM
Explosion at Texas fertilizer plant ugahairydawgs Current Events 20 Apr 19, 2013 11:48 AM
Nuclear Explosion Panoramic Picture batmangorden Picture Gallery 26 Jan 4, 2013 05:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC