Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 14, 2004, 04:00 AM   #1
marco.botton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
How to play iTunes on the Mac AND on Airtunes?

Hi all,
I would like to play my songs using at the same time the PowerBook and Airport Express, via Airtunes. It seems not possible: iTunes let me choose only one destination. Does anybody know how to do it?

Ciao
Marco

PS: my first post!
marco.botton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2004, 04:38 AM   #2
redAPPLE
macrumors 68030
 
redAPPLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 2 Much Infinite Loops
this is the way Apple designed it. but if you find a way how, PM me, id like to know how too
redAPPLE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2005, 06:38 PM   #3
kjgnola
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Orleans
Has anyone ever found an answer to this question?

(iMac speakers and H/S speakers at the same time?)


kg
kjgnola is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2005, 06:42 PM   #4
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
If you could, you'd discover that there was a significant time lag between the Mac speakers and the AirTues-Stereo speakers, like a major echo..... major echo
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2005, 06:59 PM   #5
Scottyk9
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
There is no way that I know of to play the same song through your Mac & Airtunes (likely made not possible given the lag inherent in this). However, if your Mac & stereo are in 2 different locations, you can use iTunes for both, although it may not be that elegant, and it may not be what you are looking for.

First, create another account. Keep your primary account open, with iTunes open, and enable sharing. Fast-user switch to the second account, and use the shared library to play. I use my primary account to listen to music on my iMac upstairs, and use the second account to stream to my stereo downstairs.
Scottyk9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2005, 07:17 PM   #6
szark
macrumors Demi-God
 
szark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arid-Zone-A
If you don't mind paying $25, you could use Airfoil.

Guess it depends on how much you want the capability.
__________________
...let's climb those fences with signs that say...Don't...
szark is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get iTunes to check server for new music on startup? alexreich OS X 0 Jul 29, 2011 02:51 PM
Anyway to use itunes on a mac and something else on a PC? sillyrabbitt iPad 7 Apr 4, 2011 02:59 PM
how to play music in the background base on iPhone4? cleexiang iPhone/iPad Programming 0 Jun 24, 2010 02:49 AM
how to use ruby on a mac and how to get HTML for this site? iOrlando Web Design and Development 7 Sep 25, 2009 10:51 AM
Found out how to play runescape on your mac phill1234 Games 5 Sep 24, 2006 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC