Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 7, 2010, 06:37 PM   #1
wryta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Zealand
Epson printer stuck on "Pause"

I have an Epson Stylus Photo R290 (I'm in NZ - elsewhere, I think this is the R280 or R285), about three years old. It has performed fine... up until now.

I recently installed a new hard drive (I'm on an iMac, running Leopard), and everything worked fine until I set about fixing permissions on my user identity.

Now, my printer prints its test pages fine, but as soon as I try to print anything at all from any program (including Epson's own Easy Print program), the printer immediately pauses, and refuses to resume. The error message that flashes up briefly between "resume" and "pause" is this...

can't open `/private/var/spool/cups/tmp/4c0c36c5d579f'.

I have restarted, reconnected and rebooted everything in every possible order, and reloaded all operating systems and drivers. I have deleted the printer and re-added it in System Prefs. It may be I wasn't holding my tongue right, or I missed a permutation/combination of the above, or Venus wasn't in alignment with Neptune.
I have a feeling it may be a permissions screw-up relating to the cups/tmp file - but I have no idea where to find the folder or directory these files are kept in. Nothing related to cups, spool or anything shows up in Finder.
Any help would be appreciated - it's driving me nuts. Hey, I would even appreciate it if someone could tell me they were having the same problem!
wryta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 01:34 AM   #2
hrbw1963
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
similar problem

I'm glad to learn I am not alone. Same symptoms. Anyone got a cure?
hrbw1963 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 10:44 PM   #3
tsiong
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I am a new MBP user running on Snow Leopard. And I'm also trying to print on an Epson R290.

The Print Queue GUI is stuck at "Sending Data...".

The test page printed well but not any others.

After installing the driver using the Epson CD, I did an Apple Software Update. It suggested me to update the driver to 2.1.3 which I already did.
tsiong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 07:56 AM   #4
gsahli
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicago
Try resetting printing system:
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1341
gsahli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 05:39 PM   #5
wryta
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Zealand
Nope - resetting the printing system, reloading the printer, reloading the driver... still refuses to do anything but load a job into the print queue and then pause immediately.
__________________
"If a picture is worth 1000 words, then 2000 words are worth twice as much as any picture."
wryta is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks disable "Auto select" printer's software enisala OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Oct 30, 2013 01:49 AM
Automator "Set desktop picture" stuck on "Fill Screen" rollandburn Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 23, 2013 05:01 PM
Lost Bonjour! Only "FlashPaper"? HP Printer, Airport, Mac 10.6.8 won't show NaturalPerson Mac Peripherals 4 Sep 26, 2013 06:32 AM
MacBook declaring connected Epsom Printer "Offline" milamilano Mac Basics and Help 1 Jan 28, 2013 06:15 PM
Music won't play, I push "play" but it just returns to pause ShaleBeach iPod touch 0 Jul 24, 2012 04:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC