Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2010, 11:04 AM   #1
pacdamac9
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
if i reset my iPhone from settings will I lose my JB/unlock?

Im trying to sell my 3GS that has been jailbroken with blackra1n and unlocked with blacksn0w...

Before I sell it to some stranger, I wanna clear all my personal stuff off of it.

So if I were to reset from settings, "erase all content and settings", will it wipe my phone completely? Will it be like I just got it out of the box? Or do I have to sync it to iTunes to get the latest OS...

Im running on 3.1.2(7D11) and DO NOT want to go to 3.1.3 and lose my unlock.

What do you guys think?
pacdamac9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 11:06 AM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Yes, you will have to restore it cause it will delete everything.
And if you dont have SHSH's for 3.1.2 you wont be able to restore to anything but 3.1.3
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 11:10 AM   #3
pacdamac9
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
icic... thanks for the info.

I was in Cydia the other night and I do have SHSH's for 3.1.2 on file....

Im not sure how all that works... do I contact them? I guess I should run a search for this.....
pacdamac9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 11:59 AM   #4
Makaveli6103
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacdamac9 View Post
icic... thanks for the info.

I was in Cydia the other night and I do have SHSH's for 3.1.2 on file....

Im not sure how all that works... do I contact them? I guess I should run a search for this.....
You need to go into the hosts file on your mac or pc and add an entry. This allows iTunes to talk to Saurik's servers instead of apples. Go here http://www.saurik.com/id/12 and scroll down to bypassing the overloard section. It will tell you how to with a mac and pc
Makaveli6103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 03:24 PM   #5
upnorth067
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is this also required if you own a 3G?
upnorth067 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 05:54 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by upnorth067 View Post
Is this also required if you own a 3G?
No, just 3GS models.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 11:28 PM   #7
Grasshopper2Ant
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
This is my experience on 3GS. "Erase all Content and Settings" and you will:

1. Lose your JB and Unlock.
2. Keep your 3.1.2 and baseband you were on.
3. To re jailbreak and unlock, (and this is important), you will need the Original Provider Sim card to activate your iPhone. If you do not have the original provider sim card, you will be stuck!! After you activate you can put any sim in.

4. I used Spirit to JB and Blacksn0w to unlock.

Good luck.
Grasshopper2Ant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 12:19 AM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grasshopper2Ant View Post
This is my experience on 3GS. "Erase all Content and Settings" and you will:

1. Lose your JB and Unlock.
2. Keep your 3.1.2 and baseband you were on.
3. To re jailbreak and unlock, (and this is important), you will need the Original Provider Sim card to activate your iPhone. If you do not have the original provider sim card, you will be stuck!! After you activate you can put any sim in.

4. I used Spirit to JB and Blacksn0w to unlock.

Good luck.
How did you restore back to 3.1.2 ?
I assume your had your SHSH's saved locally or thru cydia.
If not itunes wont let you restore it to anything but the latest OS thats out at the moment.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 01:59 PM   #9
Grasshopper2Ant
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Did not have blogs saved. Did not restore to 3.1.2. as it was running on 3.1.2 with 05.11.07 baseband.

Original poster is running 3.1.2 (7D11) just like mine.

When "Erase All Content and Settings" the version and baseband stayed the
same.

Just could not activate it until put in original sim. I knew the original provider of phone so I got one to activate. When activated it was on same version and baseband.

Trying to warn the Original poster of above before he "Erases".
Grasshopper2Ant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My apple ID had deauthorised on my iPhone 4 and iOS5?! waywardsage iOS 5 and earlier 0 Oct 12, 2011 07:22 PM
Okay so it looks like I need to start my iPhone from new - What about my phonebook? james-bailey iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 9 Aug 1, 2011 03:12 PM
If I upgrade to iOS 4.3 will I lose my unlocking??? garysims Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 8 Jun 18, 2011 11:10 AM
So if I lost my iPhone from AT&T.... ggmonogram iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Sep 14, 2010 01:27 PM
Accidentally restrict my iphone 3g setting and i lose the setting icon michaelsantuile iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jul 24, 2009 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC