Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 9, 2010, 07:01 AM   #1
csjxx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Help with my current set up?

Hey,

Just wondering if anyone can help me with my current set up. At the moment I have-

Living Room:
Samsung UE40C6530U TV
Sony Playstation 3
Amstrad Sky HD Box
2x LaCie 1tb External HD

Bedroom:
SAMSUNG LE32B450C
Samsung BD-C5500 Blu-ray Disc Player

Just wondering if anyone can help me on how I can incorporate my 2 external hard drives onto a network system so I can watch the movies on both tv's?
Also if theres a way to connect them to my network so i can just move files from my macbook onto the hard drives without having to plug them in?
At the moment the hard drives are plugged into the Samsung TV USB.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
13" Macbook White, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HD; 8 GB iPhone 3G; 8 GB iTouch; 4 GB iPod Nano; Nikon D3000 18-55 VR + 55 - 200 VR
csjxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 07:10 AM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Your bedroom setup isn't able to access them wirelessly I think, you would need to hook your MacBook or other computer/device to it. If your router has an USB port, then you may be able to make them NAS and access them everywhere with your MacBook and PS3 but you still need something for bedroom I think
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 07:33 AM   #3
csjxx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Your bedroom setup isn't able to access them wirelessly I think, you would need to hook your MacBook or other computer/device to it. If your router has an USB port, then you may be able to make them NAS and access them everywhere with your MacBook and PS3 but you still need something for bedroom I think
No the Hard drives only have usb ports, thats why I have plugged them directly into the TV and the Sky TV router only has ethernet connections...

The blue ray player has ethernet connection and usb if that helps?
__________________
13" Macbook White, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HD; 8 GB iPhone 3G; 8 GB iTouch; 4 GB iPod Nano; Nikon D3000 18-55 VR + 55 - 200 VR
csjxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 07:38 AM   #4
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by csjxx View Post
No the Hard drives only have usb ports, thats why I have plugged them directly into the TV and the Sky TV router only has ethernet connections...

The blue ray player has ethernet connection and usb if that helps?
Have you tried plugging them to the Blu-Ray player's USB? It might work (see manual). You can't set them up wirelessly though as your bedroom lacks a device that can access them wirelessly

To watch movies from both externals on both TVs you would need a new router and a device (e.g. low-end computer) for your bedroom that can access the HDs wirelessly
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 09:02 AM   #5
csjxx
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Have you tried plugging them to the Blu-Ray player's USB? It might work (see manual). You can't set them up wirelessly though as your bedroom lacks a device that can access them wirelessly

To watch movies from both externals on both TVs you would need a new router and a device (e.g. low-end computer) for your bedroom that can access the HDs wirelessly

Yeah it would work if I plugged the hard drives in but thats what I wanted to avoid, as they are externally powered and means pulling all the cables out every time...

Would it work if I purchased a airport express and plugged the ethernet cable in the express and hard drives in the usb?

I just want to try and network the system into my wireless home system and 2 TV's...
__________________
13" Macbook White, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HD; 8 GB iPhone 3G; 8 GB iTouch; 4 GB iPod Nano; Nikon D3000 18-55 VR + 55 - 200 VR
csjxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 09:15 AM   #6
wysinawyg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Nope, Airport Express does printer sharing but not hard disk sharing.

You'd need an Airport Extreme and if that was the only use you'd probably be better off picking up a proper NAS enclosure.
wysinawyg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 09:16 AM   #7
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by csjxx View Post
Yeah it would work if I plugged the hard drives in but thats what I wanted to avoid, as they are externally powered and means pulling all the cables out every time...

Would it work if I purchased a airport express and plugged the ethernet cable in the express and hard drives in the usb?

I just want to try and network the system into my wireless home system and 2 TV's...
I'm afraid your bedroom setup does not have a device that can access those HDs wirelessly. You would need e.g. Mac Mini to do that or another PS3.

If you're fine by plugging your MacBook to your bedroom TV, then it is possible
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General: TimePasscode - A tweak that sets the current passcode to the current device's time Maverick1337 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 1, 2014 10:23 AM
In a dilemma.. Upgrade current set up? dan-K MacBook Pro 13 Oct 27, 2013 06:10 AM
Got a current MP and getting a new one? Michael73 Mac Pro 17 Sep 13, 2013 10:43 AM
The bless tool was unable to set the current boot disk drinktanglefoot MacBook Pro 1 Mar 1, 2013 05:05 AM
How can I set “numbers” to return a specific integer in a set? rotarypower101 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 3, 2012 02:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC