Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 9, 2010, 05:01 PM   #1
mikes63737
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Safari 5 - Disable "improved" URL Auto-complete

I upgraded to Safari 5 yesterday, and I am finding the new URL autocomplete to be the most obnoxious thing I have ever dealt with.

Is there any way to disable URL autocomplete all together, or revert it to its old behavior? It's driving me up a wall.

Thanks
mikes63737 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2010, 07:38 PM   #2
jdstoddard
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Agreed, someone PLEASE find a solution for this! Its either awful or I'm missing the point.
__________________
user since 2001. Macbook Air 11.6" i5; iPad mini black/slate; iPhone 5 black/slate for Verizon (have had every model iPhone!)
jdstoddard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 01:33 AM   #3
bobsaget611
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
please somebody!! safari 4 url typing was much better as it wasn't as "smart."
bobsaget611 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 04:54 PM   #4
miknos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
From Nicholas Tam

I’m finding the new address bar auto-complete to be a bit of a mess. In theory it’s great, but the problem is that suggestions based on partial URLs assembled from disparate substrings are taking priority on the list over actual URLs that you are punching in from the beginning (if I’m making my meaning clear). It’s also causing problems for keyword search. I’ve reenabled Keywurl by editing the Info.plist file in the plug-in bundle, and other essential plug-ins like GlimmerBlocker and ClickToFlash are working as well as ever, but the new auto-complete is overriding keyword-based searches like “g ” (if I want to search for something on Google, for instance).

This is one browser feature that is absolutely a deal-breaker for me if it doesn’t work the way I want it to, because I’m so accustomed to using my address bar as a prompt for keyword searches. If there isn’t a workaround soon, I may have to retreat to Firefox for the time being. And I’d rather not, because the new Reader feature is very, very pretty.
miknos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 05:51 PM   #5
bobsaget611
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by miknos View Post
From Nicholas Tam

In theory it’s great, but the problem is that suggestions based on partial URLs assembled from disparate substrings are taking priority on the list over actual URLs that you are punching in from the beginning
exactly.

Example: I want to go to youtube.com.

I start tying y-o-u.. and it wants to send me to macrumors.com because "you Care About" comes up as top hit!!!

to go to youtube.com i have to type until "yout" until it recommends youtube.com, while in the past I could punch in "y" and hit enter.

This is awful!
bobsaget611 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 08:10 PM   #6
dmcwally
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
not only is that annoying the whole browser is slower !!!
dmcwally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 11:04 PM   #7
mikes63737
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmcwally View Post
not only is that annoying the whole browser is slower !!!
AND links are less "sensitive"... I don't know how to explain it, but some links don't activate when you hover over them or click!
mikes63737 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 01:21 AM   #8
ericob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
"Smart" url complete... isn't

I'm pleased to see that I am not the only person who finds this new behavior extraordinarily infuriating. It seems to be an attempt to copy a feature that's in Firefox that a good number of Firefox users detest too!

Worse than showing me a messy list filled with items I have no interest in seeing, my favorite (and useful) add-on is now broken. That being "KEYWURL," which enabled keyword searches in Safari. For example, in the location bar, type "dict wombat" too look up the word "wombat" at dictionary.com. Or type "wiki captain cook" to open wikipedia to the page about Captain James Cook. Dead in Safari 5.

I don't see how this new behavior could be useful for any user. But for those who might like it... fine. But I have no way to disable it!

Grrrrr.
ericob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 01:25 AM   #9
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
i don't know why they did this with it. its frustrating, but not a deal-breaker for me yet.


ideally i'd like the address bar to:

1. act the way it did under safari 4, but
2. also be a search bar as it is now in that typing or not choosing an auto complete (like the ones from safari 4) would lead to a search of history/bookmarks, etc.

or just a google search like chrome.
__________________
dim my eyes on the waves of confessions...
PlaceofDis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 01:59 AM   #10
atlanticza
macrumors 6502a
 
atlanticza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cape Town
Why not just change the setting under General - Remove history items After one day? (It's not perfect I know.)
__________________
Expired Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 6GB memory | 17" MacBook Pro | PC | Canon EOS 1D | Canon 5D Mark ll |Canon G10
atlanticza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 02:02 AM   #11
appleguy123
macrumors 603
 
appleguy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 15 minutes in the future
I hope someone can find a solution to this. I try to go to youtube and it takes me to MacRumors! So annoying!
__________________
[Steve Jobs was] brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it. -Barack Obama
appleguy123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 07:44 AM   #12
joelmacpro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
YES this needs to be fixed!!

This is by all means the worst feature in any browser, what have apple done. This doesn't make things simpler it just makes it harder. Please fix it.

i know apple probably wont ever read this but anyway.

if anyone knows a fix, please let us know!!
joelmacpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 08:50 PM   #13
hirui
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I think the biggest problem is the redirect issue.

Let say you type "duckduckgo" through google search, then click on the link from the search result, now you know what?

next time you type "duckduckgo" from the location bar the url from the suggestion is the messy long url of the google redirect link rather than duckduckgo.com

the simplest solution for now is using bing.com etc, because the links from the search results are direct links, unlike google adding so much messy code.

what is your idea?
hirui is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 11:08 PM   #14
mikes63737
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirui View Post
what is your idea?
My idea is to not auto-select anything in the dropdown that appears when you start typing. If you want to access an item in the dropdown, press the down arrow or click it.

Hopefully someone from Apple sees this, as it's only gotten more annoying with time.
mikes63737 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 12:19 AM   #15
WiLLGT09
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I'm throwing my hat into the ring here too. I hate this feature. It needs to be fixed.
__________________
'13 MBA 11"/i7/8/128 | iPhone 5S 32GB Silver | iPad mini Wi-Fi 16GB
WiLLGT09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 05:41 AM   #16
mabaker
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I am personally not bothered by it since I’m using Glims plugin.

It allows you to write “y steve apple” to look for “steve apple” on youtube automatically.
__________________
„Integrated Intel graphics chip steals power from the CPU and siphons off memory from system-level RAM. You'd have to buy an extra card to get the graphics performance of Mac Mini [..]” - Apple.com
mabaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2010, 05:52 PM   #17
MBX
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
OK WTF, Apple once again knows what's better for the user instead of giving us an option to switch it off in preferences?

I sure hope somebody will fin a fix ASAP for this or an extension-add-on that disables this, as S5 now allows extensions.

Pretty please
MBX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2010, 07:22 PM   #18
emt1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wisconsin
I hate this also. Hopefully someone can figure out a fix
emt1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2010, 07:45 PM   #19
psingh01
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I agree this feature is crap. Sometimes I want to type the first few letters of a URL only to edit the URL slightly, like if I've visited a forum so it's in my history but I want to alter it to visit another forum on the site that isn't in my history. The old way was perfect.
psingh01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2010, 10:12 AM   #20
studiox
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Send a message via ICQ to studiox
I have to agree that his is really annoying. First it took me about 3 posts in a few swedish forums to actually get people to understand the issue (dumb people) - I was so glad that i found this thread - I'm not alone

But, as we all have been saying - Can't we point apple to this thread? Has anyone posted our feedback on the issue on the apple forum's?
studiox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2010, 11:00 AM   #21
victori
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I just want to post a "me too."
victori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2010, 11:49 AM   #22
snverhallen
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsaget611 View Post
exactly.

Example: I want to go to youtube.com.

I start tying y-o-u.. and it wants to send me to macrumors.com because "you Care About" comes up as top hit!!!

to go to youtube.com i have to type until "yout" until it recommends youtube.com, while in the past I could punch in "y" and hit enter.

This is awful!
Exactly! This is so irritating! It happens with some other sites I visit as well.
__________________
iMac 20" C2D
snverhallen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 01:32 PM   #23
Qaanol
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I concur that the new URL autocomplete behavior is a downgrade. What is the appropriate channel through which to provide user feedback to Apple? So far I have found in the Safari menu the option “Report Bugs to Apple…”, which allows one to provide the URL of a problem website, and enter a description of the problem.

I can imagine that if this thread were the URL provided, perhaps some people at Apple might be led to view it. (Of course, I can also imagine that those people would have no input as to design decisions, so a better channel would be preferable.)
Qaanol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 01:35 PM   #24
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlanticza View Post
Why not just change the setting under General - Remove history items After one day? (It's not perfect I know.)
I'm not particularly bothered by it, but for those that are, this solution won't help, as it not only pulls suggestions from browsing history, but also from bookmarks.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 01:37 PM   #25
Sky Blue
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
hate it, must be a way to get rid of it.
Sky Blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks disable "Auto select" printer's software enisala OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Oct 30, 2013 01:49 AM
difference between "require pwd after" and "auto lock after" mirzank iOS 7 4 Aug 7, 2013 12:30 PM
iPad Safari web bar auto complete Devie iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 13, 2013 12:32 PM
Turnoff Safari Address Auto Complete jusacruiser Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Oct 21, 2012 08:56 PM
Is there a terminal line I can use to turn off Safari auto-complete and suggestions? east85 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 1, 2012 04:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC