Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:14 AM   #1
alFR
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Handbrake: one encode to rule them all (or, is Apple TV the new Universal)?

Up to now I've been doing 2 encodes of each of my rips using Handbrake, one with the Apple TV preset and one with the iPhone/iPod preset for mobile use. However, I'm getting tired of encoding everything twice (well, my Mac is getting tired of it actually) and managing 2 sets of files (I do know about the ID number trick to get iTunes do recognise the 2 files as 1 title, but I'd sooner save that for pairing files that are really HD and SD as iTunes does and up to now all my encodes are from DVD so are SD). The prospect of managing a third set of iPad-specific encodes isn't that appealing either. So, I'm thinking of just doing one encode of each title for use on all my devices (iPhone 3GS, iPad, Apple TV, Mac).

I know that the Apple Universal preset for HB is designed to fill this role, but at the cost of a bigger file size cf. the Apple TV preset. File size isn't really a massive concern, but I don't want to use more space than I actually need to for the sake of my mobile devices. So, my questions are:
  • I'm fairly sure that all the devices listed above will play HB encodes done with the ATV preset: is that true?
  • Is there a different preset (or tweaks to the ATV preset, like Dynaflash's custom settings mentioned elsewhere on here) that would be a better choice?

[EDIT] One more thing I thought of: I've tended to use decomb (default) and detelecine (default) on all my encodes up to now. Worth it, or waste of time?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Last edited by alFR; Jun 12, 2010 at 06:20 AM.
alFR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:40 AM   #2
kiranmk2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Actually, I think the ipad and iphone have now surpassed the ATV in capability so the ATV is now the weak link in the chain!

Last edited by kiranmk2; Jun 13, 2010 at 09:00 AM.
kiranmk2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 06:43 AM   #3
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
None of my Universal rios play on the appletv but they play on my iphone 3G, iPod touch 3G, nano 5G, iPad etc.

The appletv is DEFINITELY the weak link in the chain and it's damned annoying.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 03:29 PM   #4
paduck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
None of my Universal rios play on the appletv but they play on my iphone 3G, iPod touch 3G, nano 5G, iPad etc.

The appletv is DEFINITELY the weak link in the chain and it's damned annoying.
My Universal rips all play on my AppleTV.
__________________
Proud owner of every Apple product line since 1978.
paduck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 10:09 PM   #5
itsmefudge
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
None of my universal encodes work on ATV, but all work on my iPad and 3GS. I don't want to re-encode them. I have changed over to encoding for ATV, to work on all devices.
itsmefudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 10:42 PM   #6
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Top left corner
I encode everything with the Universal preset.
Works perfectly on all 3 of my AppleTVs plus all my iDevices.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac 1.8GHz i7 11" MacBook Air 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display
4TB RAID 10 8TB RAID 0 6TB RAID 0 2TB Time Capsule ac White/silver iPhone 5S & iPad Air
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 10:45 PM   #7
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by paduck View Post
My Universal rips all play on my AppleTV.
Yeah I think it's a PAL thing. Our DVDs are all about 576p versus 480p.

They work fine on all the iPods, iPhones and iPads etc but must just have too many pixels for the appletv to handle.

They play fine even on a 3rd gen nano though. It's weird.

The appletv just plain refuses to play them, iTunes can even sync them across but they will not play back.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 02:02 AM   #8
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Papua New Guinea
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
Yeah I think it's a PAL thing. Our DVDs are all about 576p versus 480p.

They work fine on all the iPods, iPhones and iPads etc but must just have too many pixels for the appletv to handle.

They play fine even on a 3rd gen nano though. It's weird.

The appletv just plain refuses to play them, iTunes can even sync them across but they will not play back.
Weird. My universal encodes play just fine on my ATV and I live in a PAL area. Here are the following facts:

1. 480p and 576p are both fine in any form, anamorphic, 24, 25, and 30 fps.
2. 720p at 25fps (PAL) is absolutely fine even though Apple says 24fps is the max at 720p
3. All encodes are HB's unmodified universal preset.
4. My ATV is the 160GB model with 3.0.2 software
5. My ATV is not modded or patched in any way

I have no idea what could cause your problems.

Joshua
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2010, 02:51 AM   #9
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinJosh View Post
Weird. My universal encodes play just fine on my ATV and I live in a PAL area. Here are the following facts:

1. 480p and 576p are both fine in any form, anamorphic, 24, 25, and 30 fps.
2. 720p at 25fps (PAL) is absolutely fine even though Apple says 24fps is the max at 720p
3. All encodes are HB's unmodified universal preset.
4. My ATV is the 160GB model with 3.0.2 software
5. My ATV is not modded or patched in any way

I have no idea what could cause your problems.

Joshua
Yup, that's weird now.

All of mine are unmodified universal rips too. 40GB with 3.0.2 and unpatched. The movies sync but do not play, the progress bar appears but stays empty and black. The timer stays at 0:00.

Maybe time for yet another restore to factory settings.

Two of thes things now flakey as all hell. I'd hate to be relegated to hobby status at apple.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One switch to rule them all... rockstarjoe Digital Audio 5 Sep 13, 2007 09:36 AM
iMac "Remote Controls" - One Remote to rule them all? jasonnorm iMac 7 Sep 8, 2007 03:43 PM
Launchd: one program to rule them all MacBytes MacBytes.com News Discussion 7 Aug 24, 2007 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC