Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2010, 09:04 PM   #1
ct2k7
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida / UK
How does FaceTime work?

In terms of protocols, how does each phone discover each others IP/etc address and route the data, which ports may be used?
ct2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 09:05 PM   #2
D3lta
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cupertino, California
http://www.apple.com/iphone/features/facetime.html
__________________
black & grey 64GB iPhone 5S on AT&T
4th gen iPad 16GB Wi-Fi
3rd gen iPad 16GB Wi-Fi + 4G LTE on Verizon
1st gen iPad 32GB Wi-Fi
D3lta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 09:08 PM   #3
nickspohn
macrumors 68040
 
nickspohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
It just works. That's the magic of Apple. Don't ask any questions.
__________________
iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | iPhone 3G | iPhone
Macbook Pro 17inch Unibody Core i5
nickspohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 09:09 PM   #4
ct2k7
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida / UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3lta View Post
Information is useful to customer, not a systems or network administrator or to someone who wants to look at the technology itself.
ct2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2010, 09:09 PM   #5
cloroxbleach4
macrumors 6502a
 
cloroxbleach4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickspohn View Post
It just works. That's the magic of Apple. Don't ask any questions.
Ha! I thought that was funny.
__________________
2011 13" MBP 2.3Ghz i5/8 gb ram/1 tb HDD; 2011 11" MBA; White/Silver 64gb iPhone 5; 160 gb iPod classic

For Sale Thread
cloroxbleach4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 06:28 PM   #6
candyman2000
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
anyone...?

I'm too really interested in learning how Facetime works under the hood. Can't figure out how it works out of the box. How are the IP address's are found by connecting a voice call?

Anyone have more details on the specifics of a Facetime call setup?
candyman2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 07:53 PM   #7
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
AppleInsider has a bit more information:

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles...o_calling.html
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:27 AM   #8
ct2k7
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida / UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
AppleInsider has a bit more information:

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles...o_calling.html
aah, very nice
ct2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:01 PM   #9
candyman2000
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
still don't get it...

Maybe I'm missing something, do you need to register an Apple ID or Facetime user for facetime? Does it just work out the box with your contacts list? How does the originating party find out the destinations IP address?
candyman2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:02 PM   #10
xanadeath
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by candyman2000 View Post
Maybe I'm missing something, do you need to register an Apple ID or Facetime user for facetime? Does it just work out the box with your contacts list? How does the originating party find out the destinations IP address?
It's made so you don't have to think like this at all. If you're in a phone call with another person who's talking on an iPhone 4, tap the FaceTime button. That's it.

Xanadeath
xanadeath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:03 PM   #11
Minimoose 360
macrumors 65816
 
Minimoose 360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by candyman2000 View Post
Maybe I'm missing something, do you need to register an Apple ID or Facetime user for facetime? Does it just work out the box with your contacts list? How does the originating party find out the destinations IP address?
Just works out of the box.

It's as easy as pressing one button.
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB 'HAL 9000' - 17"MacBook Pro 2.93GHz, 320GB 7200rpm, 4GB RAM
'Skynet' - Phenom II BE X6 @4.0GHz, RadeonHD 6950 XXX 2GB (2)CrossFireX @ 925MHz, 8GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Minimoose 360 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:03 PM   #12
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by candyman2000 View Post
Maybe I'm missing something, do you need to register an Apple ID or Facetime user for facetime? Does it just work out the box with your contacts list? How does the originating party find out the destinations IP address?
It's all handled behind the scenes.

You can start FaceTime either when you are in a voice call or by selecting the FaceTime option on a page in the Contacts app.

The system relies on phone numbers to connect you to the other person.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 05:23 AM   #13
BUFFBOY
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sydney
hello.
does facetime work if my number is private or i hide my number ??

thanks
BUFFBOY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 05:36 AM   #14
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUFFBOY View Post
hello.
does facetime work if my number is private or i hide my number ??

thanks
Should do.

As long as people have your number in their contacts (or they are on a call with you) then they can start FaceTime with you.

If you try and make a FaceTime call it should work fine.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 05:39 AM   #15
BUFFBOY
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sydney
i just tried it.

she rang me on facetime and came up as private and it was a normal voice call then when we talked for like 1 second it requested facetime ...
BUFFBOY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 06:05 PM   #16
mac.network
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
It has nothing to do with the phone carrier, SMS or Apple IDs

I just called up an iPhone from a new iPod Touch and it works more or less instantly. But it does need to have an email account set up on both devices.

Amazing system.
mac.network is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 07:42 PM   #17
No ice please
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Unicorn milk.
__________________
Stuff I bought goes here.
No ice please is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 10:24 PM   #18
Tom G.
macrumors 65816
 
Tom G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Champaign/Urbana Illinois
How does FaceTime work? Very well, thank you.
__________________
Tom G.
Sent from my iPad Air.
15" retina screen MBP; iPhone 5s White 64G, iPad Air White 64GB 4G LTE.
Tom G. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 10:49 PM   #19
Pillar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: CA.
i don't know, but today i used it for the first time an it was pretty neat.
Pillar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 12:33 AM   #20
iMaconApple
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sunny Diego
iMaconApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 08:10 AM   #21
alee
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Here's some real detail on how it works:
http://blog.roychowdhury.org/2010/06...-stun-and-sip/

Basically it's standard SIP and uses standards based protocols. Well, all standards except it uses an Apple proprietary registration and invitation process (e.g. how the Facetime-capable phones register against Apple's servers to tell them their current IP).

I've done some of my own Wireshark analysis which matches the findings on that blog post.
alee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone FaceTime will not work flimzy iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Apr 20, 2014 12:59 PM
Will FaceTime audio work on the Mac macness iOS 7 0 Sep 12, 2013 12:07 PM
Facetime does not work, tried everything aosmon iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Dec 7, 2012 11:12 AM
Does Facetime not work for anyone else? yoshibirdofan iOS 6 4 Oct 5, 2012 06:01 PM
Can't get 720p FaceTime Webcam to work? iChaseH Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 24, 2012 07:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC