Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2004, 12:06 AM   #1
pcproff
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale,FL.
Wireless Router Recommendation!!!!

Hello everyone I am back to ask questions to you guys since I usually find the best help on here. I am in the market for a wireless router, now what is compatible with mac's and has alot of features, and securtiy also. I am also looking for a router that is able to connect wired on the back also. I am not interested in the Apple Series e.g Air Port Express etc. I would prefer a Linksys or if anyone has a good recommedation and what features it has I would greatly appreciate it.
__________________
15.2" Powerbook,DVD-R,1gb RAM,128mb VRAM, OS X Tiger 10.4 and now introducing my new 30gb ipod photo yay!
pcproff is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:59 AM   #2
blackpeter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
I liked my Linksys for about a month, then it was just a pain. Spend a little cash and get the AirPort.

Sure, you're really paying for ease of use, but after dealing with Linksys and their bi-monthly firmware "updates" (most of which caused the router to perform WORSE than before) I was happy to spring for the AirPort.
blackpeter is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 02:47 AM   #3
markh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Add a second recommendation to get an Airport. I recently replaced my dlink .11g access point with an Airport express. It just works perfectly. So easy to setup and it just works.
markh is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 03:06 AM   #4
russed
macrumors 68000
 
russed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, England
Send a message via MSN to russed
i am using an 3com office connect wireless router but you can also hard wire 4 comps into it. it seems pretty good to me. i have been using it for just over a week and i have had no problems with it so far.

i have also got an airport extreme and that also seems good but you cant hardwire into it.
__________________
all the ducks are swimming in the water...
russed is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 03:24 AM   #5
deral
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kahuku, Hawai'i
Send a message via AIM to deral
I got a D-Link which works with no problems, but now I wanna purposely kill it and get an airport express.
deral is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 07:04 AM   #6
Estic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
I have a mixed wireless network (windows/mac). I have used only dlink and linksys. I have no problems with my linksys AP and router. Dlink on the other hand had problems reaching the far corners of my house.
Estic is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 07:51 AM   #7
JBReed
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Another vote for Airport. Had a dlink wireless system and it worked fine except I couldn't update the firmware, change passwords etc. 'cause the interface only worked with a PC. They *claimed* it worked on a Mac and I could access the interface but the changes never stuck. They *claimed* they were updating the software but phone support was a reai pain. I had to haul it someplace where I could access it via a PC. Got an Airport and have never looked back. It works, plain and simple. Sure it's more expensive, but my time is even more valuable.
JBReed is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 08:07 AM   #8
wPod
macrumors 68000
 
wPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBReed
Another vote for Airport. Had a dlink wireless system and it worked fine except I couldn't update the firmware, change passwords etc. 'cause the interface only worked with a PC. They *claimed* it worked on a Mac and I could access the interface but the changes never stuck. They *claimed* they were updating the software but phone support was a reai pain. I had to haul it someplace where I could access it via a PC. Got an Airport and have never looked back. It works, plain and simple. Sure it's more expensive, but my time is even more valuable.
thats weird, i had a d-link router and it worked fine. i was able to change update everything through the web interface in safari.

as for the original question. go with the Linksys WRT54G it has four ports for wired computers on it. this is much better than any apple product for this reason. the security is very good as well. the firmware is based off of Linksys version of linux so it is completely customizable. there is also quite a following of linux users who have written their own firmware for the Linksys router. this is what i find most interesting as I am able to now use my Linksys in WDS mode then use my airport express to extend the range of my router! i have been a bit disapointed with the airport express. . . the profiles are completely useless so if/when i ever move it i have to completely reset the firmware on it and start from scratch (though now i have the set up files saved so i just upload them every time) Linksys has been the most pain free router that does everything!
wPod is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 09:19 AM   #9
michaelrjohnson
macrumors 68020
 
michaelrjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: 54140
Send a message via AIM to michaelrjohnson
My suggestion is the Netgear WGR614. I have been using this router for 8 months now, and it has never failed me. Setup is easy. Plus, this router is only $40.00. You can't beat that.

Netgear WGR614 at Amazon
__________________
Designer
michaelrjohnson.com
michaelrjohnson is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 10:16 AM   #10
TurboLag
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
I for one have problems with the range of the netgear WGR614. If anyone can suggest any ideas to expand the range please do, otherwise grap the Airport Express.
TurboLag is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 10:37 AM   #11
philtech44
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London, UK
NETGEAR DG834 Wireless Router

check out the spec & price of this exceptional piece of kit...

I have installed over 20 of these in Mac/PC environments and nothing comes close for stability, ease of use & fail-safe operation...
philtech44 is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 01:35 PM   #12
blackpeter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by russed
i am using an 3com office connect wireless router but you can also hard wire 4 comps into it. it seems pretty good to me. i have been using it for just over a week and i have had no problems with it so far.

i have also got an airport extreme and that also seems good but you cant hardwire into it.
Not true. The AirPort Extreme has a LAN port for wired connections. If one isn't enough, it's very easy to attach a $30 router or switch to expand.

Last edited by blackpeter; Oct 18, 2004 at 06:53 PM.
blackpeter is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 02:53 PM   #13
Hemingray
macrumors 68030
 
Hemingray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ha ha haaa!
I recommend the D-Link 514. Had a Linksys before that and had nothing but problems with it. Not to mention Linksys customer service doesn't support the Mac platform. I use several D-Link products (wireless router, wireless bridge, bluetooth adapter) and they've all worked wonderfully.
Hemingray is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 03:28 PM   #14
Apple Hobo
macrumors 6502a
 
Apple Hobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: A series of tubes
I have a Linksys. It's OK, but I wont recommend them anymore for Macs because Linksys Mac support sucks like you wouldn't believe (read: it's nonexistent).

I've heard good things about Asante routers. They also seem to have decent Mac support. However, I have no personal experience with these routers.
Apple Hobo is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 05:23 PM   #15
DEXTERITY
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
wow, now you guys have me worried. I bought a linksys wrt54g for my new G5 which is shipping. I was going to connect the wirless router to my g4 and use the airport card in the G5. It isn't connected yet, I am still using my old linksys.

I have always sworn by linksys routers have had any issues with the one I have for my G4 (BEFSR41). now I am starting to wonder about the new wirless one.. argh.. what to do..keep it or exchange it.. shouldn't it just connect to the G4 and work from the get go? or am I going to need their tech support? thanks
DEXTERITY is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 06:21 PM   #16
Silencio
macrumors 68000
 
Silencio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Check out Asanté. I have their FR1104-G and am very happy with it. They make quality networking gear and have been a Mac-friendly company for a long, long time.
Silencio is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 06:46 PM   #17
EMKoper
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
D-Link 524

I have had a D-Link 524 wireless G router for about 2 months. It has 4 ports for hardwired attachment and seems to be working fine throughout the house with a PM 12" rev C. It has multiple security options, some of which didn't seems compatible with OSX 10.3 (like some encryption modes had options for different bit length) but there were multiple options (screen shot of security options attached).

All configuration is accomplished through web browser and works fine from either my PM or my PC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Security.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	18181  
__________________
Kopes
EMKoper is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 06:51 PM   #18
markh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
I found that the dlink configurtion via the web interface didnt work that all that well with safari.. So, had to configure it via a win XP machine. But as i said, experience soem dropouts with the dlink and since replacing it with an airport express, no dramas. Vote 1.. Airport ;-)
markh is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 01:56 AM   #19
Ryan1524
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada GTA
i use an Airport Express.
__________________
Ryan - my flickr
Ryan1524 is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 07:00 AM   #20
zim
macrumors 65816
 
zim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan1524
i use an Airport Express.
I have an ABS, original graphite, and want to get the AirProt Express. Do I need the ABS? I have been told that the graphite ABS does not work with the AirPort Express and as much as I would love to upgrade to the ABS Extreme, I just can't do both right now. My set up is that both computers are in the same room sometimes I bring my laptop downstairs or into the bedroom, next room over, but that is as far as I go. Do you think that the AirPort Express alone would work for me?

To answer the original posters question, I have an ABS and love it. I couldn't image using anything else.
zim is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 08:08 AM   #21
Loge
macrumors 68000
 
Loge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEXTERITY
wow, now you guys have me worried. I bought a linksys wrt54g for my new G5 which is shipping. I was going to connect the wirless router to my g4 and use the airport card in the G5. It isn't connected yet, I am still using my old linksys.

I have always sworn by linksys routers have had any issues with the one I have for my G4 (BEFSR41). now I am starting to wonder about the new wirless one.. argh.. what to do..keep it or exchange it.. shouldn't it just connect to the G4 and work from the get go? or am I going to need their tech support? thanks
I have had this router for several months, with two wireless powerbooks, wireless notebook pc and wired desktop pc. No problems whatsoever. I was upgrading from previous linksys, and I just plugged in the new one and it worked. Just changed security over from WEP to WPA, that was all. Web browser interface works okay in Safari too. Just my experience.
Loge is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 09:00 AM   #22
pcproff
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale,FL.
Guys thanks for all the feedback it is greatly appreciated it is between the airport and the D-Link
__________________
15.2" Powerbook,DVD-R,1gb RAM,128mb VRAM, OS X Tiger 10.4 and now introducing my new 30gb ipod photo yay!
pcproff is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 09:53 AM   #23
asmith
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
linksys wrt54g

I have a linksys wrt54g and I've never had any problems. This is my third linksys router. I have a powerbook connected via 802.11g and windows notebook connected via 802.11b. I also have a windows desktop and voip box connected through the router.
asmith is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 12:05 PM   #24
ToddW
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelrjohnson
My suggestion is the Netgear WGR614. I have been using this router for 8 months now, and it has never failed me. Setup is easy. Plus, this router is only $40.00. You can't beat that.

Netgear WGR614 at Amazon
I concur
ToddW is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 01:45 AM   #25
ozimax
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nth Coast NSW
Wireless router

Get AEBS and get going. Hooked up Optus DSL today, (Australia) with a d-link ADSL modem, absolute no brainer, no settings to change, nothing to do (except to reboot after connecting). I am planning on hooking up my son's PC to the network with a PCI wireless card soon, not sure how that will go, best of luck, Max
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro 13"
"Gulliver's Travels, Alice in Wonderland, Evolutionary Theory...all are as equally believable"
ozimax is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for wireless Router Recommendation Skormy Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 28, 2013 04:19 AM
Wireless router youngsunnz Buying Tips and Advice 18 Nov 21, 2013 09:31 AM
Wireless router help rye9 Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 13, 2013 05:30 PM
Best Wireless Router photogpab Mac Peripherals 15 May 12, 2013 02:21 PM
Wireless router tsduke Mac Basics and Help 8 Aug 21, 2012 02:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC