Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2004, 09:43 AM   #1
pimentoLoaf
macrumors Demi-God
 
pimentoLoaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The SimCity Deli
Airport Extreme Dial-Up Modem Speed Issue

Is there any way of having it negotiate a higher speed with an ISP? It is only connecting at 33.6kbps.

__________________
I have tasted victory. And it's exactly like bacon...Henry Tudor @KngHnryVIII on Twitter
pimentoLoaf is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 10:29 AM   #2
yoda13
macrumors 65816
 
yoda13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
That is about what I get connected at as well. But it is a factor of my location, not the modem in my AE base station. Have you tried using the modem in your computer. It is only a problem if it gets connected consistanly at a higher rate of speed. Mine both connect at the same rate of speed.
__________________
For over a thousand generations, the Jedi Knights were the guardians of peace and justice in the Old Republic. Before the dark times, before the Empire.
yoda13 is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 11:49 AM   #3
russed
macrumors 68000
 
russed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London, England
Send a message via MSN to russed
i have found that different modems connect at different speeds (even though they should be the same). out on my 2 windoze boxes. one connects most of hte time at about 46kbits and the other at about 50kbits
__________________
all the ducks are swimming in the water...
russed is offline   0
Old Oct 18, 2004, 11:23 PM   #4
pimentoLoaf
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
pimentoLoaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The SimCity Deli
My 17" PB routinely connects via its own modem at 38kbps.
__________________
I have tasted victory. And it's exactly like bacon...Henry Tudor @KngHnryVIII on Twitter
pimentoLoaf is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection issues w/ Airport Extreme/modem rbf1138 Mac Basics and Help 6 Nov 2, 2013 12:44 PM
Airport extreme and new comcast/xfinity modem/router selaing Mac Peripherals 9 Sep 16, 2013 03:00 PM
Buying new AirPort Extreme. What cable modem to buy? Squizzles Mac Peripherals 13 Jun 19, 2013 07:35 PM
New Airport Extreme with red internet light on modem ? dac2360 Mac Peripherals 2 Feb 9, 2013 07:54 PM
Airport Extreme and Broadband modem setup? ducatiti Mac Peripherals 27 Aug 19, 2012 10:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC