Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2010, 12:19 AM   #1
nuggetWRX
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Upgrade to 8GB or 16GB DDR3 RAM?

I'm considering getting a new 27" quad-core iMac, quad-core Mac Pro, or eight-core Mac Pro to use for editing AVCHD footage off of a Canon HG10, HG20, and a GoPro vehicle mounted camera. The editing I do isn't exactly major motion picture graphics work that requires rendering banks of computers hooked together, but I would like to accelerate rendering times. I currently run a 2.4GHz MacBook Pro with 4Gb RAM (its from about 3 years ago) and it made a DVD in about 2 weeks working with nearly 2TB's of hard drives full of raw footage. Since the MBP i have now is a dual-core processor (intel based of course) I know any more cores will really improve rendering/processing times, but I want to know what your opinions are. Is it a better idea to get 8GB of RAM or 16GB in either 3 of the Mac's I'm considering, basically will that doubling in RAM improve the processing speed of the AVCHD footage from either of the HD Canon camcorders substantially enough to justify the extra cost... even from a site like macsales.com where its generally less expensive than OEM upgrades. Thanks in advance to everyone who puts some thought to this.
nuggetWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 02:11 AM   #2
iSpoody 1243
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
ram doesn't increase the speed of your computer
it allows you to run more applications at once efficiently.
if you do allot of video editing an upgrade to 8gb would be worthwhile.
especially if you plan on keeping your computer for at least 3 years
__________________
15" 2.4 ghz Penryn Mbp, And love it!!!
iSpoody 1243 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 03:23 AM   #3
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
RAM doesn't speed up rendering speeds, CPU does.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 07:43 AM   #4
nuggetWRX
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Oh I was under the impression, as you could tell, that RAM sped up rendering times. The numbers of processing cores does and the speed of those do. So 16Gb would be a waste of money if I'm just running maybe 3 programs (FCP, Motion, and Illustrator for example) at once, I usually try to keep my computer as efficient and focused on one program as possible but I'd like to be able to surf the internet while it renders at decent speed. It's quite slower on my 2.4GHz MacBook Pro when its rendering video.

Since I'm working with 1800Gb's of raw footage I thought more RAM would be necessary. I plan to have a higher ratio of useable footage on this next DVD project because I will personally be able to film all of the events included in the DVD.

I have another question then, considering the amount and type (AVCHD) of raw footage that I work with in Final Cut Studio, would I be smarter to get either the quad core iMac (w/ the 2.8GHz i7 processor) or the 2.66GHz quad core Mac Pro or the eight core 2.26GHz Mac Pro, all with 8Gb of RAM?
nuggetWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 07:58 AM   #5
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuggetWRX View Post
Oh I was under the impression, as you could tell, that RAM sped up rendering times. The numbers of processing cores does and the speed of those do. So 16Gb would be a waste of money if I'm just running maybe 3 programs (FCP, Motion, and Illustrator for example) at once, I usually try to keep my computer as efficient and focused on one program as possible but I'd like to be able to surf the internet while it renders at decent speed. It's quite slower on my 2.4GHz MacBook Pro when its rendering video.

Since I'm working with 1800Gb's of raw footage I thought more RAM would be necessary. I plan to have a higher ratio of useable footage on this next DVD project because I will personally be able to film all of the events included in the DVD.

I have another question then, considering the amount and type (AVCHD) of raw footage that I work with in Final Cut Studio, would I be smarter to get either the quad core iMac (w/ the 2.8GHz i7 processor) or the 2.66GHz quad core Mac Pro or the eight core 2.26GHz Mac Pro, all with 8Gb of RAM?
Your best bet is to keep your eye on Activity monitor. If you are using +75% of you RAM, then add more. If not, then there is no need.

Final Cut Studio is single core, only the compressor is multicore so iMac would actually be the fastest one. Of course we never know will an update improve the multicore support thus 8-core could be faster in the long run and it also beats iMac in e.g. final rendering as the compressor is multicore.

There is also '08 Mac Pro with 8 cores @3.2GHz for 3299$ from refurb store so if your wallet allows, give it a think
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will you upgrade to Lion or do a clean install? unobtainium Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 78 Oct 24, 2011 12:51 AM
So, do I need to upgrade to 8GB of RAM on my MPB? iHalo OS X 5 Mar 30, 2011 06:30 PM
MacBook Pro (MBP) 13 inch RAM Bench Tests (XBench + Geekbench) 4GB, 6GB, & 8GB DDRAM NickZac MacBook Pro 15 Jan 26, 2011 08:33 PM
First gen Uniboday 2.4ghz upgrade to 8GB or RAM? kublaiboy MacBook Pro 0 Sep 5, 2009 02:14 AM
Should I upgrade to 8GB DDR3 in new unibody 17" MBP? amitdoc2b MacBook Pro 9 Feb 3, 2009 05:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC