Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Old Jun 14, 2010, 08:08 PM   #1
Morisato
macrumors member

What's the best hard drive repair / recovery / maintenance software?

I recently discovered this old OLD software that was supposedly leaps beyond it's competitors called spinrite.

http://www.grc.com/intro.htm

It's probably old news for anyone who did any research on finding this type of software but this is my first time researching the matter and coming across this. The problem is that this software is PC only it seems. I was wondering if there is an equivalent software that could do just the same for my Mac. Or can this software already run on Mac considering that Mac is now intel based and can run Windows in bootcamp? The website says that I could remove my HD and place it into a PC system, but I don't have a PC system so that's not an option for me.

Any help would be appreciated. I don't really need to recover any HDs, but I want to keep my HDs happy.
Morisato is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 09:07 PM   #2
bdj33ranch
macrumors regular

When I purchased AppleCare for my iMac it came with a version of TechTools. There is an even more comprehensive suite if you buy the retail version. I haven't used it very often in the past 3 years.

I have had good success just doing the following:
I have a bootable clone I update fairly regularly. Before cloning I boot from the clone and use the built in OSX disk utilities to 'repair disk' and 'repair permissions' on the primary HD. There is seldom any issues with 'repair disk' but always a long string of 'repair permissions' fixes. I then run awhile off the primary drive, using several different programs, just to make sure everything is still working right. Then I clone to the clone drive and put it away until the next time.