Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 15, 2010, 08:00 AM   #1
John Paul
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington DC
iPad 3G: "no service" (???)

Have a problem, trying to figure out what's going on...

A little over a week ago I got my 3G. The day after I got it I signed up for the unlimited data plan without any hassles, got my confirmation email, etc. Just to test it out to make sure it was working I turned off the WiFi on the iPad and used the 3G to surf around the web a bit, everything was perfect.

Well since I am mostly at home (WiFi network) I turned off the 3G and have been using the iPad exclusively on WiFi for about a week.

Then yesterday I had to run some errands across town. Got on the metro, pulled out the iPad, turned on the 3G and... "no service." Figured maybe it was something to do with all the metal of the subway train, so waited til I arrived at my destination, got outside, sat down on a park bench... "no service." Went to 3 or 4 places all around Washington DC and its near suburbs, everywhere "no service."

Finally got back home, and even at home (where it had worked perfectly fine a week ago)... "no service." Getting the same message today.

I'm trying to figure out if it's an AT&T issue (doubtful, unless the entire greater Washington metro area has had its 3G network down for over 24 hours now...highly unlikely), a hardware issue (could some component in the iPad critical for the 3G somehow have broken?) or whether there is some setting that I am just missing.

So to start with the latter, is there anything I need to be doing in the Settings besides simply turning on the "Settings --> Cellular Data" to "On"? I can hit the "Settings --> View Account" and log in correctly, everything seems fine there. Not really sure what "APN settings" is for, I assume just use my AT&T iPad login & password, yes?

I'm perplexed. Help!
John Paul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 08:03 AM   #2
harry*333
macrumors 6502
 
harry*333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Mine says no service when I turn it back on, though as soon as I try and load something it gets a signal, just another bug
Waiting for that update apple...
__________________
nMP - 6-core - D300
2012 11" MacBook Air
iPhone 5 - Gen 1 iPad 3G - Macintosh SE Superdrive
Small collection of old iPods, iPhones, and MacBooks
harry*333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 08:09 AM   #3
John Paul
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry*333 View Post
Mine says no service when I turn it back on, though as soon as I try and load something it gets a signal, just another bug
Waiting for that update apple...
Sadly that's not the case with me...when I try to get to the web I can a "no internet connection" error message.
John Paul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 08:13 AM   #4
harry*333
macrumors 6502
 
harry*333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Try doing a hard reset, hold both the home and sleep buttons down at the same time
If that doesn't work then try restoring
If it still doesn't work go to the genius bar
__________________
nMP - 6-core - D300
2012 11" MacBook Air
iPhone 5 - Gen 1 iPad 3G - Macintosh SE Superdrive
Small collection of old iPods, iPhones, and MacBooks
harry*333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 08:33 AM   #5
John Paul
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry*333 View Post
Try doing a hard reset, hold both the home and sleep buttons down at the same time
If that doesn't work then try restoring
If it still doesn't work go to the genius bar
Wow, well I feel like an idiot. Did the hard reset and everything is back to working fine.

Really embarrassed I didn't think of something as simple as that myself. Thanks for the help.
John Paul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 08:41 AM   #6
robinfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry*333 View Post
Mine says no service when I turn it back on, though as soon as I try and load something it gets a signal, just another bug
Waiting for that update apple...
It's the iPad bug originally and I thought it's the reason of my network. I usually switches the edge when there is "no server".
robinfish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 11:13 AM   #7
ikm19
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I am too getting no service I did try reseting the network settings and calling the att customer care number but still it didn't worked out.
They gave me a case number and said everything is fine at their end but they will still look out what's wrong.

Any suggestions ?
ikm19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2010, 07:10 PM   #8
ikm19
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I am at work and still i am getting no service...
I was able to get service when i was on freeway but when i stop some place the network goes away.
kind of weird but i dont know how i explain the problem to tech department.
ikm19 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2010, 04:22 AM   #9
jmmo20
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
It's funny just seeing this bug. Yesterday I had wifi off and the "no service" thing. Ok? but you know what? It still loaded webpages. After a while it changed and showed "No service" and the 3G icon next to it LOL.

I made a screenshot, I will post it here later!
jmmo20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2010, 10:37 AM   #10
sturph
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Wink no service

did hard restart, reset no luck
turned on airplane mode then off twice fixed problem
sturph is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2012, 06:16 PM   #11
poundhound
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Unhappy

Resurrecting an old thread here, but I have the same problem.

Ipad 1st generation has lost its 3G connection for no apparent reason.

Ive tried all the suggestions above but to no avail.

Ive restored my device and replaced the cellular carriers sim, again to no avail.

Help!
poundhound is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ipad 4 on ios7 loses LTE constantly shows "no service" ReformedPirate iOS 7 3 Sep 12, 2013 07:52 AM
Why "no Service" then "Searching" for factory unlocked, jailbrok iPhone 3GS iOS 4.3.5 heathvc iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 29 Jun 10, 2013 04:25 AM
"No service" and "Call ended" issues on Iphone 4 6.1.3 Parisjazz iOS 6 2 Apr 23, 2013 04:49 PM
iPhone: [3GS | 6.0.1 | 05.16.07] "unable to load network list" // "no service" Moritz1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Jan 22, 2013 10:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC