Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2004, 10:45 AM   #1
coconn06
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Send a message via AIM to coconn06
Bluetooth: BTO only on PowerMacs?

I know the Bluetooth module is only available as a BTO option on the iMacs, but can you upgrade a PowerMac with the BT module "aftermarket"?

I ask because I want to save money initially and I don't really care about the BT mouse and KB, but BT might be something I want down the road. I'd also rather have the internal BT module than a USB module.

Thanks.
__________________
-Colin
24" iMac 2.8 GHz C2D
iPhone 3G 8GB (soon to be iPhone 4 32GB)
coconn06 is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 11:10 AM   #2
Veldek
macrumors 68000
 
Veldek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Send a message via ICQ to Veldek Send a message via AIM to Veldek Send a message via MSN to Veldek
Quote:
Originally Posted by coconn06
I know the Bluetooth module is only available as a BTO option on the iMacs, but can you upgrade a PowerMac with the BT module "aftermarket"?

I ask because I want to save money initially and I don't really care about the BT mouse and KB, but BT might be something I want down the road. I'd also rather have the internal BT module than a USB module.

Thanks.
Initially, I wanted to say that you can add Bluetooth later by using a dongle - then I read your last sentence. AFAIK, the internal BT module is soldered to the mainboard and therefore cannot be added later. So, it's internal BT now or a dongle later, I guess...
__________________
Never ask a man what computer he uses. If it's a Mac, he'll tell you. If it's not, why embarrass him?
T. Clancy
PM G5 2x2.5 / Penryn MBP 2.4 / X.6
Veldek is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 11:26 AM   #3
RGunner
macrumors 6502a
 
RGunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midnight Sun
internal bluetooth

i beg to differ.

is not solderied to the MB on the 'new' iMacs or the PowerMacs (FW800 or G5's).

it is a small board 1" by 3/4" held by two opposite screws. having said that, i am unsure if the 'antenna' is included in the iMac. the internal case antenna is included in the FW800 machine as well as the G5 PowerMac.

you just have to find a vendor willing to sell you the module (it is not available from Apple, nor is a customer installable part). the only logic i can deduce is that it is something regulatory about installing this item in a machine (ie FCC regs).

hope this helps. i highly recommend this option when BUYING a new Apple.
RGunner is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 11:44 AM   #4
junior
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by coconn06
I know the Bluetooth module is only available as a BTO option on the iMacs, but can you upgrade a PowerMac with the BT module "aftermarket"?

I ask because I want to save money initially and I don't really care about the BT mouse and KB, but BT might be something I want down the road. I'd also rather have the internal BT module than a USB module.

Thanks.
When you say 'powermac', do you mean the G5 powermac? If so, I'm sure there'll be a place that will sell the little module.
There's a place in Japan that sells it HERE , and they show a quicktime of it being placed on at the back.
It's just under $100, so it doesn't come cheap.
junior is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 11:58 AM   #5
RGunner
macrumors 6502a
 
RGunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midnight Sun
coconn06.. this is helpful but...

this is the outside antenna, we were speaking of the 'module' electronics itself. Its a PC board about 1" by 3/4" is attached by two screws and a small antenna cord plugs into it (very tiny stuff). it IS not available through Apple (it may be available to Apple service providers.



Quote:
Originally Posted by junior
When you say 'powermac', do you mean the G5 powermac? If so, I'm sure there'll be a place that will sell the little module.
There's a place in Japan that sells it HERE , and they show a quicktime of it being placed on at the back.
It's just under $100, so it doesn't come cheap.
RGunner is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 12:22 PM   #6
junior
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGunner
this is the outside antenna, we were speaking of the 'module' electronics itself. Its a PC board about 1" by 3/4" is attached by two screws and a small antenna cord plugs into it (very tiny stuff). it IS not available through Apple (it may be available to Apple service providers.
So this antenna is actually useless unless the module is installed by Apple to begin with? Will they only include the mini board if you go for a BTO mac?
junior is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 12:28 PM   #7
RGunner
macrumors 6502a
 
RGunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Midnight Sun
you are correct.

the antenna will be useless.

of course any of the BTO Macs with the optional bluetooth will come with the module in place, the internal antenna cable routed and the external plastic cable which is pictured here.

really it is a no brainer and should be purchased at the time you order.
RGunner is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 02:22 PM   #8
coconn06
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Send a message via AIM to coconn06
[QUOTE=junior]When you say 'powermac', do you mean the G5 powermac?/QUOTE]

I do mean G5 PowerMac. Specifically, the new low-end single processor 1.8 GHz processor.

This is very unfortunate. Why can't Apple make this an easily added option after market? Like in a PCI slot or something? Seems silly to me.
__________________
-Colin
24" iMac 2.8 GHz C2D
iPhone 3G 8GB (soon to be iPhone 4 32GB)
coconn06 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So I got 2 G4 PowerMacs alexanderasher PowerPC Macs 22 Mar 17, 2014 03:07 PM
Use of PCMCIA/Airport Slot in PowerMacs G4fanboy PowerPC Macs 7 Feb 7, 2014 09:40 AM
presentation and asking for help to set up some powermacs powermi PowerPC Macs 0 Apr 6, 2013 02:48 PM
BTO or Non-BTO hellomms MacBook Air 4 Nov 5, 2012 10:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC