Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 17, 2010, 09:31 PM   #1
bobdobalina
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Single 2gb DDR2 stick for Powerbook w/lower ram failure?

Hope that title's not too confusing... I have a 1.67ghz G4 PowerBook that has the dreaded lower ram slot failure. This limits me to 1gb of ram, though the machine works fine otherwise.

My understanding is that this PowerBook does not accept more than 2gb ram..... So, my question is this: Will this PB not accept more than 2gb ram total, or will it simply not accept DDR2 larger than 1gb each, be it one or two??

I really need more ram!
bobdobalina is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2010, 11:01 AM   #2
gageray
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
You might be in luck, but I have no idea

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=248704
gageray is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2010, 12:17 PM   #3
bobdobalina
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gageray View Post
You might be in luck, but I have no idea

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=248704
Thanks gageray,

Sounds like that poster's machine worked with a ingle 2gb stick. I guess I just need to try it.

I assume the worst thing that can happen is it doesn't work or is unstable??
bobdobalina is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2010, 12:45 PM   #4
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Yeah, that's about the worst that could happen. You could easily replace the motherboard for about $175 + thermal paste. That's what I did when mine failed.

Might be cheaper that way too.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2010, 12:58 PM   #5
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Arizona's First Phase tech fixes that ram slot for 50 bucks. It's just a loose solder.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2010, 08:05 PM   #6
bobdobalina
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
Arizona's First Phase tech fixes that ram slot for 50 bucks. It's just a loose solder.
OOH! OOh! OOH! I like that answer!


Thanks everyone for the assist.
bobdobalina is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Macbook Pro 2009 13'' take a single stick of 8GB RAM? galaksy MacBook Pro 4 May 22, 2014 09:24 PM
PowerBook g4 1 x 2gb ram stick will work? jwjsr PowerPC Macs 14 Mar 5, 2014 08:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC