Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2004, 07:59 PM   #1
neoelectronaut
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Looking for a Video/Sound Switch.

I'm gonna make ya'll a quick little doodle in Photoshop here to explain my situation....

Okay, there. It's basic but it sort of describes what I want to do.

Currently I have a 15" CRT VGA monitor on a bookshelf in my room. Connected to it via a special cable is my Sega Dreamcast. I also have a RCA stereo (not the one pictured) that is connected using a .8mm headphone-style to RCA plugs that are connected to the stereo.

I just ordered a VGA cable for the eMac so I can use the monitor also as a secondary display using the screen spanning hack. However, I'd also like to connect the computer to the stereo while this is being used.

So, my question is: "Is there any sort of switchbox available that I can use that will allow two VGA inputs and two .8mm-style inputs and will output in the same fashion?

I'd like to easily switch between the Computer and the Dreamcast being connected to both the monitor and the stereo without the hassle of disconnecting and reconnecting each time.

Is there such a product available? Where can I pick it up?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crummydiagram.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	18238  
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 06:24 AM   #2
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Okay....a whole bunch of views but no replies.

I guess it can't be done.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 08:00 AM   #3
hotwire132002
macrumors 65816
 
hotwire132002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cadillac, MI
Send a message via AIM to hotwire132002 Send a message via MSN to hotwire132002
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoelectronaut
Okay....a whole bunch of views but no replies.

I guess it can't be done.
What about a KVM switch? It won't switch the audio source, but it will allow you to switch the video.
hotwire132002 is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 09:18 AM   #4
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Well that's kind of a waste of two ports. Hell if I can get a separate video switch and a separate audio switch I guess I could live with that, though it'd be more expensive.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 10:27 AM   #5
irmongoose
macrumors 68030
 
irmongoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
Just did a quick Google search. Don't know if this will help.

http://www.vpi.us/cgi-bin/vpi/se-15v-2-2c1u-a.html

Just look around for VGA audio switch.




irmongoose
__________________
A Film and Artwork Portfolio and Re: Gruber
irmongoose is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 11:04 AM   #6
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Yeah that's what I'd like....but uh...$160? Yeesh...I was hoping somewhere between $15 and $35.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 12:29 PM   #7
Jalexster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
A really good KVM switch like one from the Belkin SOHO series, will allow you to switch audio and video.

In fact, it switches VGA/DVI + Audio Out + Audio In + USB + Keyboard + Mouse
Jalexster is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 04:00 PM   #8
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
That's still $130. Besides, I have no need for PS/2 ports, or USB. Just Audio & Video.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 06:23 PM   #9
MacFan25863
macrumors 6502a
 
MacFan25863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to MacFan25863
You could get a standard video (RCA) switch, use the Apple Video connector and .8 to RCA for the eMac and the orginal Dreamcast cord in the inputs, and then connect the RCA output to your monitor and stereo somehow (if the Dreamcast cord is just a VGA-RCA connector cord, that would work, but I'm sure that there is someone out there that has a connector for this (If you are up to it, you could even take a Apple mini-VGA cord and a Apple Video connector with mini VGA and connect the VGA pins with some wire.....)
MacFan25863 is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 06:52 PM   #10
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Nah, that's won't work...

I already ordered the eMac VGA cable, for one.

And the VGA cable I use with the DC is a VGA-only deal.

neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 03:59 AM   #11
MacFan25863
macrumors 6502a
 
MacFan25863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to MacFan25863
You can use the eMac VGA cable...here...let me put it in a picture for you (attatched).

These are the parts you need:

RCA Video Switch
2 miniVGA to RCA adapters
miniVGA to VGA adapter
1 VGA cord (unless your monitor has one bulit in)
3 RCA cords
line out to RCA adapter
Dreamcast RCA cord
1 custom bulit miniVGA to miniVGA cable (just connect connector to connector...pretty easy to make)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	setup.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	18314  
MacFan25863 is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 11:22 AM   #12
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
That's a fine idea except for the fact that I'll have to order 2 more of the mini-VGA to RCA and mini-VGA to VGA adapters (Which'll get REALLY freakign expensive), and having an RCA connection to the Computer Monitor means I'll lose the "True VGA Quality" I get from using a special VGA cable from the DC to the monitor.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 08:10 PM   #13
MacFan25863
macrumors 6502a
 
MacFan25863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to MacFan25863
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoelectronaut
That's a fine idea except for the fact that I'll have to order 2 more of the mini-VGA to RCA and mini-VGA to VGA adapters (Which'll get REALLY freakign expensive), and having an RCA connection to the Computer Monitor means I'll lose the "True VGA Quality" I get from using a special VGA cable from the DC to the monitor.

I'm almost positive that the Dreamcast outputs RCA quality anyway, and the VGA cable just converts the picture. That means that you will get the same, if not better, quality. The only place you will loose quality is the eMac screen, but there is nothing you can really do about that. In total, this runs you about $80, which is still $50 cheeper than every other solution offered.

The only other way to do this, really, would be to buy a VGA switch and a seperate audio switch, but that would run you about $70.
MacFan25863 is offline   0
Old Oct 28, 2004, 11:32 AM   #14
neoelectronaut
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFan25863
I'm almost positive that the Dreamcast outputs RCA quality anyway, and the VGA cable just converts the picture. That means that you will get the same, if not better, quality. The only place you will loose quality is the eMac screen, but there is nothing you can really do about that. In total, this runs you about $80, which is still $50 cheeper than every other solution offered.

The only other way to do this, really, would be to buy a VGA switch and a seperate audio switch, but that would run you about $70.
No, when you connect a Dreamcast to a VGA monitor using an official or third-party VGA Box/Cable, it outputs it to TRUE VGA QUALITY. So much so that folks with HDTVs shell out the big bucks to get VGA to component converters. Some have said that the Dreamcast looks even better on HDTVs than the Cube, PS2, and XBox do.

Too bad there's no way I can't just use my eMac as a screen. That would solve anything.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Oct 31, 2004, 12:07 PM   #15
MacFan25863
macrumors 6502a
 
MacFan25863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to MacFan25863
Well, then you could buy one of these one of these and one of these. It will run you around $40. Use the KVM for video and the speaker switch for audio.
MacFan25863 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nMP: Headphone extension, can't switch Sound Output snouter Mac Pro 2 Mar 27, 2014 11:43 PM
Automatically switch bluetooth headset to default sound device when turned on gman3042 OS X 1 May 6, 2013 04:10 PM
Switch video game from iMac to external monitor? Tofray iMac 12 Dec 30, 2012 10:41 PM
looking for iphone video cable (video only, no sound) zwodubber iPhone Accessories 4 Nov 26, 2012 10:16 PM
iOS6 Mute switch kills video sound? visualise-this iOS 6 7 Sep 28, 2012 07:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC