Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2004, 08:41 PM   #1
suraj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Upgrading Titanium G4 Powerbook

I love my TiBook.

G4 400mhz, 384MB, 10GB HD.

Is it possible to up both the CPU and HD? Ideally I would like to have a 30-40GB HD and a 1ghz G4 cpu.

Any suggestions?
suraj is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 08:45 PM   #2
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
AFAIK, you cannot upgrade the CPU, but you can upgrade the hard drive.
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 08:56 PM   #3
vga4life
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by suraj
I love my TiBook.

G4 400mhz, 384MB, 10GB HD.

Is it possible to up both the CPU and HD? Ideally I would like to have a 30-40GB HD and a 1ghz G4 cpu.

Any suggestions?
You can up the HD with a much faster modern drive without much difficulty and get a nice speed improvement. MCE Technologies ( http://www.mcetech.com ) can replace the internal DVD-ROM with a combo drive for $200 or a superdrive for around $300 (they also do harddrive upgrades if you're not comfortable doing it yourself). The RAM can be boosted to 1 GB, which would also improve perfomance.

It's not possible to up the CPU to 1 GHz, though if you're comfortable with a soldering iron, you can overclock it to 500 MHz or even 550 MHz if you're lucky. See http://www.voelker.com/service/void_...owerbookg4.php

There's a high capacity battery available for TiBooks here: http://eshop.macsales.com/Catalog_It...=NWTBAPT4800LI

Finally, you should be running Mac OS X 10.3 (aka Panther) for best performance.

Those are pretty much all your upgrade options. Hope this helps.

-vga4life

Last edited by vga4life; Oct 20, 2004 at 09:00 PM.
vga4life is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 09:12 PM   #4
suraj
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by vga4life

Those are pretty much all your upgrade options. Hope this helps.

-vga4life
It sure does, cheers.
suraj is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 10:21 PM   #5
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I have the same computer. I chickened out on putting in a 7200 rpm hard drive because of supposed heat issues and just dropped in a 40 gig 5400 Travelstar. (I will be putting a larger 7200 hd in it soon.) Put the old 10 gig hd in an usb enclosure as backup. Bumped ram to 768mb. FASTER. QUIETER. BETTER and runs Panther like it was made for it -- better than Jaguar btw. PS I had Applecare until August and they have sent me a new keyboard, new hard drive (the 10gig) and new case for it so this is why I was so reluctant to upgrade now -- felt like I had a new computer. With faster hard drive and more RAM -- it IS a new computer and I LOVE MINE TOO.

I would not up the speed on the CPU by tweeking it that weird way. I heard if you do that, btw, your RAM all has to be 133 -- and our computers run both pc100 and pc133 so if you do, make sure your ram is 133.
California is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 10:35 PM   #6
Col. Panic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
You should upgrade the RAM first (max it out if possible). Then the HD (up to 100 GB now for notebooks). Then the battery (the new high capacity ones are great).

I don't think most people realize how much better performance they can acheive by upping the RAM in their computer. This allows more apps to be open at once, working with larger files more easily, less use of the HD as a scratch disc, better battery life, less heat, less niose.
Col. Panic is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 10:55 PM   #7
vga4life
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by California
I would not up the speed on the CPU by tweeking it that weird way. I heard if you do that, btw, your RAM all has to be 133 -- and our computers run both pc100 and pc133 so if you do, make sure your ram is 133.
No - this isn't the same as some of the PowerMac G4 overclocks - it does not increase the bus speed, just the processor multiplier. The bus remains at 100 MHz so PC100 ram still works.

It's still not an operation for those of the faint of heart, but if you're geeky enough to own a soldering iron, it's not difficult at all.

-vga4life
vga4life is offline   0
Old Oct 20, 2004, 10:58 PM   #8
mian
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Recently announced G4 Upgrade

http://www.applelinks.com/pm/more.php?id=2413_0_1_0_M

Product Link

http://4daystar.com/index.asp?PageAc...ROD&ProdID=241

Last edited by mian; Oct 20, 2004 at 11:03 PM.
mian is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 11:21 AM   #9
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Mian Thanks so much. It is a bit steep for a modest upgrade but worth it for my machine. Do they replace the logic board in these upgrades? Because I forgot to say that Apple also replaced my logic board a few months ago. I know Daystar has a good rep, so again thanks for the heads up.
California is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 11:33 AM   #10
vga4life
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
I would caution against spending too much money upgrading a rev1 TIbook. Remember, you can sell a 400 MHz tibook for $500 and take the $500 you might have spent on an upgrade and get a brand new ibook that outperforms it in every way and doesn't lose much in screen resolution - those older tibooks were only 1152x768 and current ibooks are 1024x768.

Granted, they're not as sexy, but they're inarguably faster, more functional and durable.

-vga4life
vga4life is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 11:50 AM   #11
stevehaslip
macrumors 6502a
 
stevehaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Ocean Floor
Quote:
Originally Posted by vga4life
I would caution against spending too much money upgrading a rev1 TIbook. Remember, you can sell a 400 MHz tibook for $500 and take the $500 you might have spent on an upgrade and get a brand new ibook that outperforms it in every way and doesn't lose much in screen resolution - those older tibooks were only 1152x768 and current ibooks are 1024x768.

Granted, they're not as sexy, but they're inarguably faster, more functional and durable.

-vga4life
hes/shes got a good point, if i were you then thats what i'd do.
__________________
1.8Ghz Powermac G5 1gb ram/ 12" 1Ghz powerbook / Panther 10.3.8 / 4g 20gb iPod
stevehaslip is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Powerbook G4 Titanium G4 1Ghz/1GB RAM/Superdrive/60GB HDD *SOLD* turtlebud Marketplace Archive 2 7 Feb 11, 2008 06:10 PM
Looking to upgrade my G4 Powerbook 17" Pink Panther PowerPC Macs 5 Jun 5, 2007 09:23 PM
Fair Price for a Titanium 15" PowerBook G4 800 (DVI) Elan0204 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 4 Aug 6, 2004 11:09 PM
15" PowerBook Titanium G4 1Ghz/1024MB/60Gig/Built-in Wireless/DVD-RW/CD-RW daikon38 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 3 Jun 16, 2004 08:19 PM
Best 1gig RAM upgrade for G4 Powerbook? PowermacZach Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 5 Feb 27, 2004 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC