Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2004, 02:22 PM   #1
wylie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Will this work and fit ok in my G4 powermac?..

Seagate ST3160023A 16oGB 7200rpm 8mb Cache Barracuda 7200.7 Plus - OEM

or a

Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 160GB 7200rpm 8mb Cache ATA133 - OEM

? thanks
wylie is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 02:43 PM   #2
hotwire132002
macrumors 65816
 
hotwire132002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cadillac, MI
Send a message via AIM to hotwire132002 Send a message via MSN to hotwire132002
Quote:
Originally Posted by wylie
Seagate ST3160023A 16oGB 7200rpm 8mb Cache Barracuda 7200.7 Plus - OEM

or a

Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 160GB 7200rpm 8mb Cache ATA133 - OEM

? thanks
What model G4? I can't see any issues, unless it's a really old (i.e. one of the first) model. If worst comes to worst, you'll only see 127GB. Other than that... It should work fine.
hotwire132002 is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 02:46 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotwire132002
What model G4? I can't see any issues, unless it's a really old (i.e. one of the first) model. If worst comes to worst, you'll only see 127GB. Other than that... It should work fine.
Of course, adding a ATA133 PCI card isn't too big a pain either.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 02:51 PM   #4
wylie
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
its a dual 1.25ghz jobby (pretty recent-ish model i believe)

so either of those drives will be ok and function well ?
wylie is offline   0
Old Oct 21, 2004, 03:37 PM   #5
Macmaniac
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
They should both be fine, there should even be installation instructions for a second HD in your manuel.
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this work on my PowerMac G5? Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 3 Apr 28, 2014 03:57 PM
PowerMac superdrive fit iMac? nimraynn PowerPC Macs 6 Nov 29, 2013 04:13 PM
Where does AE fit into my editing? matteusclement Digital Video 23 Jan 11, 2013 03:37 AM
Will a 4S SIM fit in a 2G? Eckscaliber iPhone 7 Sep 3, 2012 12:54 AM
will this HDD fit? Voxelx MacBook Pro 1 Jul 30, 2012 10:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC