Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2010, 03:15 PM   #1
harryhood
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
How to setup iPhone 4 from computer?

I have an iPhone 3G. I am going to back it up, take out the sim card and sell it, the night before I get my iPhone 4 in the mail.

I wanted to make sure that this was correct. All I have to do is toss my old sim card in my new iPhone 4 and plug it into my computer and I can set it up right?

I just want to make sure because there are no Apple stores within 800 miles of me...
harryhood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 03:19 PM   #2
iManny
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by harryhood View Post
I have an iPhone 3G. I am going to back it up, take out the sim card and sell it, the night before I get my iPhone 4 in the mail.

I wanted to make sure that this was correct. All I have to do is toss my old sim card in my new iPhone 4 and plug it into my computer and I can set it up right?

I just want to make sure because there are no Apple stores within 800 miles of me...
Thats gonna be hard considering the iphone 4 uses a micro sim, i believe when you hook the new iphone to the itunes it will ask you if you want to restore your last iphone to the new one though.
iManny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 03:21 PM   #3
lorenwade
macrumors 68000
 
lorenwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iManny View Post
Thats gonna be hard considering the iphone 4 uses a micro sim, i believe when you hook the new iphone to the itunes it will ask you if you want to restore your last iphone to the new one though.
And to further this, iTunes will also activate your new phone with your current number. No swapping SIMs.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro
64gb White iPhone 5
lorenwade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 03:23 PM   #4
nparmelee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
And unless you really know the person you are selling your iPhone to, you probably should delete all the existing data before handing it over. Settings, General, Reset, Erase All Content and Settings.
nparmelee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 03:24 PM   #5
Hellishness
macrumors 65816
 
Hellishness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorenwade View Post
And to further this, iTunes will also activate your new phone with your current number. No swapping SIMs.
Can I do this if I'm currently on T-Mobile and am switching to ATT with the iPhone 4? I really don't want to change my phone number...
__________________
Black iPhone 5, 16GB. White iPad 3 WiFi 32GB
Mid 2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5/4GB/320GB
Hellishness is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What home computer setup do you have? richard13 MacBook Pro 36 Jul 6, 2014 08:01 PM
iPad: Has anyone downsized their computer setup since getting an iPad? Misskitty iPad 40 May 8, 2014 12:18 PM
iCloud setup but want to connect to Computer...Help tsteakuk iPhone 1 Oct 3, 2012 08:57 AM
What is your computer setup? aaronchow Web Design and Development 15 Aug 29, 2012 09:07 PM
Computer setup for wedding photographer Goobley Buying Tips and Advice 3 Jul 27, 2012 11:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC