Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 22, 2010, 10:47 AM   #1
dezza.1985
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Encoding driving me insane!!!

Hi

I have been encoding DVD's to .m4v using my mac and they turn out superb!! I am using strict anamorphic, 2 pass encoding, 2500kbps with 2 audio tracks.

However as I have a 13"macbook pro the encoding takes AGES, I have a quadcore windows vista pc at work and I thought that it might be a lot better to encode on there as it would take half the time!! I used Handbrake again and put down the exact settings as per the mac, however I have now tried 4 different DVD's and all the video's when finished come out scrambled?!?! I can't understand why and it's driving me mad!! I then thought that it might be the PC so I tried the same on a colleagues work windows laptop and it came out the same!!

Please say I'm missing something simple as the encoding itself takes half the time and I have a lot of DVD's that I need to put into iTunes!!

Cheers
dezza.1985 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 11:02 AM   #2
jaw04005
macrumors 601
 
jaw04005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AR
Unless something has changed recently, Handbrake for Windows doesn’t include decryption software. Handbrake for Mac uses VLC (free). You need something like AnyDVD (not free) on Windows to use in combination with Handbrake.

Mighty brave of you to be ripping DVDs at work (unless it’s a family-owned business, etc).
jaw04005 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 11:06 AM   #3
dezza.1985
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaw04005 View Post
Unless something has changed recently, Handbrake for Windows doesnít include decryption software. Handbrake for Mac uses VLC (free). You need something like AnyDVD (not free) on Windows to use in combination with Handbrake.

Mighty brave of you to be ripping DVDs at work (unless itís a family-owned business, etc).
Ahh, you don't know of any free bit's of software that work with windows?

Although at work, we use our own machines and I own all of the DVD's that I'm using, so not as brave as you may think
dezza.1985 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 11:23 AM   #4
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
VLC is available for Windows as a free download.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 12:28 PM   #5
dezza.1985
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWallace View Post
VLC is available for Windows as a free download.
Is it just the VLC player that you have to download or some other encryption software that they provide?
dezza.1985 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 12:39 PM   #6
brentsg
macrumors 68020
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
You can also rip the DVDs to ISO files in the OSX environment and then use the ISO files as sources to queue up encodes in Windows.
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 02:59 PM   #7
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dezza.1985 View Post
Is it just the VLC player that you have to download or some other encryption software that they provide?
VLC provides the decryption capability Handbrake needs to read and encode DVDs on the fly.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 10:00 PM   #8
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Though note, this does not work with windows. only mac. windows requires another ripping utility like dvd43 or anydvd. One is free the other is better but costs money.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 05:54 PM   #9
bainesajay
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Send a message via ICQ to bainesajay Send a message via AIM to bainesajay Send a message via MSN to bainesajay
Re: Lots of DVDs

I agree with the above. If you have a lot of DVDs, you really should be ripping them first to .iso files. Que all those up and send them to both machines simulataneously. You will be done in no time.
bainesajay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 12:19 AM   #10
The Mad Kiwi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In Hell
What you really need is a i7 iMac, 10 minutes per encode.
The Mad Kiwi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 02:49 AM   #11
dezza.1985
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Kiwi View Post
What you really need is a i7 iMac, 10 minutes per encode.
If only they sold a 13" version and it would be mine!!
dezza.1985 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 12:01 PM   #12
Merthyrboy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Kiwi View Post
What you really need is a i7 iMac, 10 minutes per encode.
You serious? When I encode on my 2003 eMac it takes up to a day. Maybe I should invest in an iMac
Merthyrboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 12:48 PM   #13
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Depends on what I am encoding, by my i7 27" iMac averages north of 80fps on DVD rips from my HDD.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 01:47 PM   #14
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merthyrboy View Post
You serious? When I encode on my 2003 eMac it takes up to a day. Maybe I should invest in an iMac
A 2003 eMac is woefully outdated for modern video encoding. Heck my 2006 mbp is pretty slow compared to a current i7 machine.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 05:35 PM   #15
Merthyrboy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I do feel quite outdated as well now. Like the one post is getting over 80 fps I'm lucky if sometimes I go over 3, my average is about 2.2 or around there.
Merthyrboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 12:46 AM   #16
The Mad Kiwi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In Hell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merthyrboy View Post
I do feel quite outdated as well now. Like the one post is getting over 80 fps I'm lucky if sometimes I go over 3, my average is about 2.2 or around there.
You need a new computer my friend.

I'd wait until they put core i5 & i7 into the whole iMac range, it shouldn't be much longer before they dump the core2duos from the whole range.
The Mad Kiwi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifications Not In Sync - Driving me insane! biosci iCloud and Apple Services 0 Feb 9, 2014 10:40 AM
iPhoto '11 is driving me insane! (Reorganizing pictures) PinkyMacGodess Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Mar 24, 2013 09:19 AM
This camera is driving me insane bbplayer5 iPhone 18 Dec 6, 2012 11:04 AM
Lack of Available Lightning Adapter is Driving Me Insane! gsugators iPhone Accessories 17 Sep 28, 2012 12:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC