Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 22, 2010, 10:52 AM   #1
bladerunner88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Off World
G5 Drive Failing wont Mount

Last night I heard a couple of clicks and my G5 OS X 10.4.11 Boot Drive became unresponsive, Shutdown. Was able to install System on 2nd Internal. Launched DiskWarrior, which found the bad drive and made Preview Directory. Before had a chance to copy all more clicking started, so Shutdown. This AM swapped the drives in the bays so The Bad Drive is now in the Lower Bay. However now Diskwarrior does not see the damaged Drive nor does Disk Utility.

Also tried the ole drive in the Freezer Trick....

Any Thoughts appreciated.....

Am dying over here.....

Last edited by bladerunner88; Jun 22, 2010 at 11:03 AM. Reason: spelling
bladerunner88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 11:29 AM   #2
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
i cant make you much hope there ..my guess it had it and gone to the hdd nirvana , but maybe someone else has a trick to revive a harddrive that makes clicks and doesn't show up any more

i had some luck in the past with putting a non responsive harddrive in a linux powered pc to rescue whatever possible , sometimes it works
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 12:16 PM   #3
bladerunner88
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Off World
At this point I may try the Freezer again and let it get really cold....
Currently about 6 Hrs into a cold soak.
Would luv to hear from anyone who has had some success with this method.

Last edited by bladerunner88; Jun 22, 2010 at 10:43 PM. Reason: Expanded
bladerunner88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 10:00 AM   #4
bladerunner88
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Off World
Ice Station Hard Drive!

Ice Station Hard Drive is being removed from the Freezer today. Have read various views on what happens next.
Some say Drive should be inserted in Computer as quickly as possible due to coldness and narrow window of possible recovery. Others say there should be an adjustment period to alive possible condensation before Drive is inserted back inside Computer. Any Thoughts or suggestions? The Drive is double bagged first in an anti - static one and then a freezer ziplock......
bladerunner88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 10:08 AM   #5
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladerunner88 View Post
Ice Station Hard Drive is being removed from the Freezer today. Have read various views on what happens next.
Some say Drive should be inserted in Computer as quickly as possible due to coldness and narrow window of possible recovery. Others say there should be an adjustment period to alive possible condensation before Drive is inserted back inside Computer. Any Thoughts or suggestions? The Drive is double bagged first in an anti - static one and then a freezer ziplock......
i would put it in as soon as possible, also if you have an external case you may want to use that as i find you may need to turn the drive on and off a few times for it to be recognized
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 10:38 AM   #6
bladerunner88
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Off World
Maxx,

I was able to load a system on the 2nd Internal in the G5, that Drive is now in the Top Bay. My plan 9 from outer space is to use that drive to Boot and have Ice Station HD in the lower Bay and an external Firewire to hopefully copy Data too.

I also have diskwarrior installed.....
bladerunner88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 03:46 PM   #7
bladerunner88
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Off World
Well No Joy...
Ice Station Hard Drive went into lower Bay of G5, Booted off drive in the Upper and nothing could see it, Not disk utilities, not DiskWarrior not the G5. Re booted a number of times still nothing.

One Odd thing could not do a PramZap or Boot into open Firmware, thought perhaps by resetting it might see the drive but the G5 starts booting after the first chime even tho am holding down Cmnd option PR.

Am open to suggestions........
TIA

Cheers.
bladerunner88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal Hard Drive Will Not Mount, HELP! jadasneez Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 3, 2011 02:25 AM
MBP Hard drive fail, time machine wont mount macbadluck MacBook Pro 1 Dec 10, 2009 08:34 AM
ibook external hard drive wont mount sina91 PowerPC Macs 1 Sep 1, 2007 05:21 PM
External Hard drive wont Mount insomniac321123 Mac Peripherals 3 Apr 6, 2007 03:47 PM
Hard drive wont mount Sideonecincy Macintosh Computers 1 Jan 30, 2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC