Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2010, 05:21 AM   #1
lakshi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
error 3014 with 3Gs

Hi, i have a 3Gs phone with new bootrom...whenever i try to restore to 3.1.3 using itunes i get error 3014. I have tried using on different computers on itunes 9.2 and 9.0 but still same error. Can anyone help me?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 05:28 AM   #2
pixelated
macrumors 6502a
 
pixelated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
you have your 3.1.3 SHSH on file and have edited your hosts file to redirect iTunes to the Cydia servers right?
pixelated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 05:38 AM   #3
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelated View Post
you have your 3.1.3 SHSH on file and have edited your hosts file to redirect iTunes to the Cydia servers right?
What is SHSH and how do i edit hosts file?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:03 AM   #4
pixelated
macrumors 6502a
 
pixelated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Apple restricts restores on the most recent idevices (3gs & above) by only allowing the current official FW to be restored.
SHSH blobs are the signature from apple for a FW (e.g. 3.1.2) that was saved while 3.1.2 was being signed. This allows you to downgrade(EDIT: or restore) to said FW.
Read here for more info.
SHSH's are unique to each iPhone, so you cannot use someone elses.
You cannot get SHSH blobs for a FW if Apple have stopped signing for it.
Apple is now only signing for 4.0
Cydia gives an option to 'Make my life easier' and, if you said yes, proceeded to save, and continue saving, SHSH blobs for each FW as it was released.

Last edited by pixelated; Jun 26, 2010 at 06:40 AM.
pixelated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:36 AM   #5
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just want to let you know that im not downgrading from 4.0 to 3.1.3. This phone already has firmware 3.1.3 or lower. Can you tell me which itunes to use to restore to 3.1.3?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:39 AM   #6
pixelated
macrumors 6502a
 
pixelated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Just want to let you know that im not downgrading from 4.0 to 3.1.3. This phone already has firmware 3.1.3 or lower. Can you tell me which itunes to use to restore to 3.1.3?
If you don't already have SHSH blobs for 3.1.3 you cannot restore to 3.1.3 because apple have stopped signing that FW version.... any clearer?
pixelated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:45 AM   #7
gooddeal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Just want to let you know that im not downgrading from 4.0 to 3.1.3. This phone already has firmware 3.1.3 or lower. Can you tell me which itunes to use to restore to 3.1.3?
When you want to restore the phone, the iTune needs to verify your 3GS and only allow you to restore to the latest FW. Basically, Steve says you MUST use the 4.0.
__________________
MBA 1.7 GHz, 64GB SSD
IPhone 5 unlocked on T-Mobile
Dell Studio XPS 435, Core i7-920, 12GB RAM, 24" Dell monitor
MacBook 2.1 GHz, 4GB RAM and MBA 2010-Sold
gooddeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:53 AM   #8
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Ok guys im clear now, i realize i cant restore to 3.1.3, just want to know what to do with my 3Gs since it is the new bootrom. How do i unlock it?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:53 AM   #9
pixelated
macrumors 6502a
 
pixelated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Ok guys im clear now, i realize i cant restore to 3.1.3, just want to know what to do with my 3Gs since it is the new bootrom. How do i unlock it?
Install ultrasn0w 0.93 through cydia
pixelated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:57 AM   #10
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelated View Post
Install ultrasn0w 0.93 through cydia
Yes, but how do i jailbreak it since it is stuck on emergency screen?
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 06:59 AM   #11
pixelated
macrumors 6502a
 
pixelated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Yes, but how do i jailbreak it since it is stuck on emergency screen?
You must activate it first using an official SIM, then JB using spirit
pixelated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 07:00 AM   #12
gooddeal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakshi View Post
Yes, but how do i jailbreak it since it is stuck on emergency screen?
You need to have AT&T sim to get out from that screen.
__________________
MBA 1.7 GHz, 64GB SSD
IPhone 5 unlocked on T-Mobile
Dell Studio XPS 435, Core i7-920, 12GB RAM, 24" Dell monitor
MacBook 2.1 GHz, 4GB RAM and MBA 2010-Sold
gooddeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 07:05 AM   #13
pixelated
macrumors 6502a
 
pixelated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooddeal View Post
You need to have AT&T sim to get out from that screen.
im starting to hear an echo, albeit a less informative one
pixelated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2010, 07:37 AM   #14
lakshi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Guess what guys, i activated my iphone with Att sim, jailbroke it with spirit and then unlocked with ultrasn0w..thank you everyone :-)
lakshi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error 3014 Dtp8513 iOS 5 and earlier 7 Oct 12, 2011 05:05 PM
HELP..... need help with iPhone error 3014 confusedkid iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Oct 16, 2010 10:35 PM
iTunes error 3014 when restoring iPhone 4 (and your previous iPhone was JB)-Solution TimSS iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 26, 2010 08:49 AM
Error 3014 When Restoring rich101682 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Jun 21, 2010 02:47 PM
error 3014 goneeuro iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 17, 2010 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC