Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:41 PM   #1
Edrubin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
14 GB iPhone 4??

HI All,
I recently purchased a 16GB iPhone 4. I recently realized that on the phone and when plugged in it says 14 GB. I know some of the phone is used up for operating system, but shouldn't it still say 16GB for the total amount. I thought that was odd. Thanks for the help.

Eddie

Last edited by Edrubin; Jun 28, 2010 at 12:43 PM. Reason: forgot title
Edrubin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:42 PM   #2
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
binary vs decimal counting
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:43 PM   #3
JakeyBoy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Plus the fact that the iphone itself has to have space for the operating system and such.
JakeyBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:43 PM   #4
The Governor
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edrubin View Post
HI All,
I recently purchased a 16GB iPhone 4. I recently realized that on the phone and when plugged in it says 14 GB. I know some of the phone is used up for operating system, but shouldn't it still say 16GB for the total amount. I thought that was odd. Thanks for the help.

Eddie
No it wouldn't list 16gb, it only shows you how much memory/space is available to you.
__________________
iMac powerbook ipad
iPhone4, HTC Evo, Nexus S 4G (Worse phone Ever), HTC ReZound (Main) and Droid Razr
Nexus < Razr < iPhone4 < Evo < ReZound
The Governor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:43 PM   #5
LimeyBastard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
That's standard on all hard drives, OP.
LimeyBastard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:44 PM   #6
JonBorichef
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Roseville, CA
Send a message via Skype™ to JonBorichef
MRoogle
__________________
20" iMac 3GB Ram 250GB HDD with Windows 7 BootCamp Partition |iPod Nano 3Gen 8GB | Dell ST2210 | 1TB Hitachi External Hard Drive | iPod touch 4 (hopefully soon)
Twitter|FaceBook|YouTube
JonBorichef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 12:59 PM   #7
ipoddin
macrumors 6502a
 
ipoddin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edrubin View Post
HI All,
I recently purchased a 16GB iPhone 4. I recently realized that on the phone and when plugged in it says 14 GB. I know some of the phone is used up for operating system, but shouldn't it still say 16GB for the total amount. I thought that was odd. Thanks for the help.

Eddie
You mean you've never noticed, after how many years, that a hard drive always has some space used up and never has the amount of space available as advertised on the box?
__________________
15" MBP 2.4ghz i5, 8gb ram iPad 3 32gb Black TV2
ipoddin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 01:00 PM   #8
cloudberrybrew
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edrubin View Post
HI All,
I recently purchased a 16GB iPhone 4. I recently realized that on the phone and when plugged in it says 14 GB. I know some of the phone is used up for operating system, but shouldn't it still say 16GB for the total amount. I thought that was odd. Thanks for the help.

Eddie
__________________
iPhone 4 (32gb black)
cloudberrybrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 03:47 PM   #9
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Things I own that display HD space like this:

PS3
PSP
2 iPods
3 iPhones
MBP
work computer

and on and on....
Interstella5555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 03:49 PM   #10
mloffa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Did you guys even read the OP?

They said they knew some of the space was taken up but they were wondering if it should say 14 or 16.

To the OP, nothing is wrong. Ignore everyone else.
mloffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2010, 03:54 PM   #11
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Decimal counting gives you the advertised 16GB or 16,000,000,000 bytes. However iTunes and the iPhone (all software in general) works in binary which means you have to divide to get the binary number.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2010, 11:36 PM   #12
GeekGuys
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Bringing this back up as I wondered the same thing as the OP.

I have worked in computers for over 20 years so most of what is said here is not factual.

Yes, 16,000,000,000 is not 16GB. American representation of GB tends to use 1,000,000,000 for a GB. Even using binary which is 1024, rather 1000 units, the figure showing in iTunes should be 14.9GB

I believe the issue is display rather than anything else. I assume that iTunes simply drops the decimal place but it does show it elsewhere so I think this is a bug that should be fixed myself.

If you sell a device as 16GB then it should have 16GB, and display 16GB.... in whatever version of GB you subscribe to. Just my opinion.
GeekGuys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2010, 11:45 PM   #13
Mlrollin91
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekGuys View Post
Bringing this back up as I wondered the same thing as the OP.

I have worked in computers for over 20 years so most of what is said here is not factual.

Yes, 16,000,000,000 is not 16GB. American representation of GB tends to use 1,000,000,000 for a GB. Even using binary which is 1024, rather 1000 units, the figure showing in iTunes should be 14.9GB

I believe the issue is display rather than anything else. I assume that iTunes simply drops the decimal place but it does show it elsewhere so I think this is a bug that should be fixed myself.

If you sell a device as 16GB then it should have 16GB, and display 16GB.... in whatever version of GB you subscribe to. Just my opinion.
Yes but with that being said, you are forgetting about the OS. So no matter what it would never be 16GB available. At most it would be around 15.4GB.
__________________
iMac 21.5", 2.7 i5 Quad, 8GB, 1TB; 11" MBA 1.7 i5, 4GB, 64GB; Black 64GB 3G iPad 2; Space Grey 32GB iPhone 5S; Red 8GB iPod Nano 5G, and ATV 3
Mlrollin91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leather flip style iPhone 4 case ipadguru iPhone Accessories 6 Dec 23, 2011 05:20 PM
Restore backup from iPhone 4 4.1 01.59.00 unlocked to iPhone 4 4.0.2 01.59.00 unlocke carreragt7 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jan 19, 2011 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC