Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:24 PM   #1
davidnssbm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Just set up my iphone 4 and NO SERVICE?!

What gives!
davidnssbm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:25 PM   #2
Knarl
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hold down on the power button on the top right of your phone for three seconds, power it off, and then turn it back on. If that doesn't work, then you might just need to wait a few minutes (or hours). Make sure your old phone is turned off.
Knarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:25 PM   #3
bababoey14
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidnssbm View Post
What gives!
You must be holding it wrong...buy a bumper..
bababoey14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:25 PM   #4
MikePA
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidnssbm View Post
What gives!
What do you mean by 'set up'? Do you mean you activated it?
MikePA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:27 PM   #5
davidnssbm
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
it worked thanks!
davidnssbm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:27 PM   #6
The JTizzle
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Maine
Send a message via AIM to The JTizzle Send a message via MSN to The JTizzle Send a message via Skype™ to The JTizzle
I ordered through ATT and had to make a quick 1 800 number call to get the new micro sim activated even after i set up the phone on iTunes, took all of 3 minutes.
__________________
27' i7 iMac & 15' MacBook Pro
iPhone 6 (Space Grey), 128 GB
iPad Air (Space Grey), LTE 128 GB
TV 2 & 3
The JTizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 01:34 PM   #7
shakenmartini
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knarl View Post
Hold down on the power button on the top right of your phone for three seconds, power it off, and then turn it back on. If that doesn't work, then you might just need to wait a few minutes (or hours). Make sure your old phone is turned off.
I made the mistake of leaving my old phone on and it caused the same problem, but on my wife's phone I turned her old one off and it activated without reboot.

Reboot the new iPhone 4 and all is well as you discovered.
shakenmartini is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't set Service shortcuts while in text editors? printz OS X 4 Apr 18, 2013 08:52 AM
Intel to Launch Cable TV Service and Set Top Box at CES 2013 MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 135 Apr 10, 2013 10:26 AM
iPhone says no service even when I re-enter a service area. Any fix for this? BrandonZ iOS 6 7 Mar 27, 2013 11:59 AM
iPhone 4 service + 3G signal fluctuating (full bars - no service) WherEmEweeD iPhone 1 Mar 4, 2013 05:33 AM
Intel Set-Top Box and Cable TV Service Won't Initially Revolutionize the Industry MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 67 Feb 14, 2013 09:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC