Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 3, 2010, 04:04 AM   #1
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Sim required to activate?

I am restoring my old iphone to give to my kid bro as an ipod

However, the phone will not activate without a valid sim

How can I get the iphone to an ipod touch state status? My iphone 4 sim will not fit. I am slightly annoyed and it wont let me get past the insert sim screen

Thanks
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2010, 04:44 PM   #2
dukebound85
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
anyone? this is annoying
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2010, 04:51 PM   #3
ToroidalZeus
macrumors 65816
 
ToroidalZeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Buy a MicroSim to normal SIM adapter on ebay.
ToroidalZeus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2010, 06:25 PM   #4
benflick
macrumors 68020
 
benflick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Depending on the iPhone and version, you can use redsn0w/pwnagetool to hactivate.
__________________
benflick enterprises 2010. All rights reserved.
benflick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2010, 06:31 PM   #5
vabunuc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lanoka Harbor, NJ
what happened to the sim in the phone. I restored my old 3g phone to factory, and it activated fine.
vabunuc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2010, 10:30 PM   #6
dukebound85
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by vabunuc View Post
what happened to the sim in the phone. I restored my old 3g phone to factory, and it activated fine.
The sim is no longer active since I have the new iphone with the micro sim
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2010, 10:34 PM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Any valid at&t simcard will activate it.
Maybe try the old inactive simcard in, it might activate it also.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 12:10 AM   #8
dukebound85
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Any valid at&t simcard will activate it.
Maybe try the old inactive simcard in, it might activate it also.
My old inactive one was not recognized and did not activate it
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 01:43 AM   #9
Blaenk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I'm on the exact same boat.

Can I use my brother's cell's (AT&T too) sim card to activate the iPhone? Does that mean that his cell phone will lose service in favor of this iPhone? How does this work? I don't see the reason for having to activate just for updating or restoring the iPhone.

So basically my question is, since I can't use the iPhone 3GS' old sim card (since it's no longer in service, or can I?), can I use my brother's phone's sim card? If I do, what will happen? He'll still be able to use his cell phone correct?
Blaenk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get rid of "No Sim Installed"? Garbag3man117 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 9 Dec 24, 2011 12:01 PM
Transferring info on old iPhone 3G sim card to new iPhone 4s zachleon11 iPhone 5 Oct 14, 2011 04:36 PM
Simple trick to activate FaceTime on non-supported mobile networks askfranklin iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Mar 7, 2011 02:48 PM
New i4 requires old iPhone to activate? seungmook.lee iPhone 22 Jun 17, 2010 08:00 AM
INCORRECT SIM - Insert an Unlocked and Valid sim to activate iphone rph105 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 10, 2008 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC