Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2010, 12:12 AM   #1
kilowattradio
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Send a message via AIM to kilowattradio Send a message via Yahoo to kilowattradio
Question Memory for Power Mac G-5 1.6 GHz

Hi, I just ordered two 512 Mb sticks PC2700 184 PIN DDR SDRAM 333 MHz and when I installed them the G-5 did not even recognize them. Is there a special RAM for this computer or did I just get two bad sticks?
According to System Profiler I have this type of ram installed:
Apple PC-2700U-25330


Yes I did check to make sure they were firmly installed and the clips locked in place, twice.
__________________
Best Regards, Keith
G5 Power Mac 1.6 GHz, G3 iMac 350 MHz
iPod Touch 64 GB.
kilowattradio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 02:24 AM   #2
drewdle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Both MacTracker and Low End Mac say this particular model (late 2004 iMac G5) takes PC3200 (or DDR400) memory, so perhaps the replacement PC2700 sticks you bought aren't timed correctly, or are just plain defective. Machines that support PC3200 or typically backwards compatible with slower sticks of memory, so I'm not sure why the issue, although I can say it's not the first time I've seen this problem.

Can you get a refund on the sticks you bought? My suggestion would be to go to PC3200 sticks instead, as those are what's called for. As to why your Mac has slower memory than was originally specified, that I have no idea.
__________________
~ Drewdle ~
Mini 2.0Ghz C2D/2Gb RAM/120Gb/10.6.4
iMac G4 700Mhz/1Gb RAM/160Gb/10.4.11
iBook SE 466Mhz Graphite/576Mb RAM/160Gb/10.4.11
drewdle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 04:39 AM   #3
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
the g5's are very picky about ram i would go and buy ram from crucial that is guaranteed to work with your g5,
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 11:53 AM   #4
drewdle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
I've also had great service from OWC.
__________________
~ Drewdle ~
Mini 2.0Ghz C2D/2Gb RAM/120Gb/10.6.4
iMac G4 700Mhz/1Gb RAM/160Gb/10.4.11
iBook SE 466Mhz Graphite/576Mb RAM/160Gb/10.4.11
drewdle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2010, 03:45 PM   #5
Boldie24
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by max•• View Post
the g5's are very picky about ram i would go and buy ram from crucial that is guaranteed to work with your g5,
Agree, mine has been very picky in the past. Everything I have purchased from Crucial has worked flawlessly.
Boldie24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 01:03 PM   #6
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
PC2700 333mhz memory was the correct memory for the 1.6ghz G5. You didn't buy ECC or high-density did you? PC3200 400mhz will work in your G5 and will automatically downclock to the correct speed.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 01:10 PM   #7
kilowattradio
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Send a message via AIM to kilowattradio Send a message via Yahoo to kilowattradio
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
PC2700 333mhz memory was the correct memory for the 1.6ghz G5. You didn't buy ECC or high-density did you? PC3200 400mhz will work in your G5 and will automatically downclock to the correct speed.
Ok I was able to run down two sticks of 512 Mb at OWC macsales.com for $40 and they claim that memory will work in a G-5. Thanks for the help
__________________
Best Regards, Keith
G5 Power Mac 1.6 GHz, G3 iMac 350 MHz
iPod Touch 64 GB.
kilowattradio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 01:12 PM   #8
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilowattradio View Post
Ok I was able to run down two sticks of 512 Mb at OWC macsales.com for $40 and they claim that memory will work in a G-5. Thanks for the help
It's pretty sick to see the prices of DDR memory now-a-days Maxing to 4gb is basically the cost of the G5 itself lol. Glad you got it all worked out.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Timer--Early 2005 Power Mac G5 2.7 Ghz Upgrades hulksmashed31 PowerPC Macs 35 Feb 13, 2014 12:19 AM
Mac Mini 2012, 2.3 GHz vs 2.6 GHz noise? dp-p Mac mini 25 Feb 18, 2013 06:57 PM
Mac Mini 2.3 GHz vs upgraded, more expensive MM Server 2.0 Ghz HAM2012 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Nov 13, 2012 10:47 AM
Mac Pro RAM failed Power On Self-Test - Memory MythicFrost Mac Pro 4 Nov 7, 2012 07:49 PM
Power Mac G5 2.3 Ghz Wont Power On hectbp PowerPC Macs 15 Jun 28, 2012 04:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC