Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2010, 12:37 AM   #1
Ender17
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Blu-Ray ISO to MP4

Hi, what's the best way to convert from a Blu-Ray ISO to MP4? I'm actually using Windows 7, but was hoping someone from this forum could help.
Thanks
__________________
PW0o5dvTz0
Ender17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 08:31 AM   #2
a2applegirl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender17 View Post
Hi, what's the best way to convert from a Blu-Ray ISO to MP4? I'm actually using Windows 7, but was hoping someone from this forum could help.
Thanks
Handbrake will do it, but make sure you check the large file size option. Regular MP4s cannot be larger than 4gb and bluerays will compress to more than that.
a2applegirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 08:40 AM   #3
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2applegirl View Post
Handbrake will do it, but make sure you check the large file size option. Regular MP4s cannot be larger than 4gb and bluerays will compress to more than that.
Not always. I have a few Bluray encodes at 720p using constant quality at RF20 that are less than 4GB in size. The last Harry Potter movie is one that stands out to me as the 720p encode ended up smaller than the 480p Digital Copy included by the studio.

That said, most devices can deal with 64-bit MP4 files nowadays, so I'd just leave "Large File Size" checked just in case.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 5S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 10:18 AM   #4
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2applegirl View Post
Handbrake will do it, but make sure you check the large file size option. Regular MP4s cannot be larger than 4gb and bluerays will compress to more than that.
As far as I know Handbrake wont open an ISO.

Best bet is to mount the ISO using DEAMON tools lite or Virtual Clone Disk then use MakeMKV to extract the main movie to a mkv file then use Handbrake to convert the mkv to an mp4.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 10:39 AM   #5
a2applegirl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
As far as I know Handbrake wont open an ISO.

Best bet is to mount the ISO using DEAMON tools lite or Virtual Clone Disk then use MakeMKV to extract the main movie to a mkv file then use Handbrake to convert the mkv to an mp4.
I use the 64 bit version of handbrake and it works with isos just fine, if it is already on the harddrive as an iso. As roidy says, MakeMKV can extract from the actual disk if you are ripping from the disk and need to extract, etc..

Last edited by a2applegirl; Jul 6, 2010 at 10:53 AM. Reason: added info
a2applegirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 10:57 AM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
As far as I know Handbrake wont open an ISO.

Best bet is to mount the ISO using DEAMON tools lite or Virtual Clone Disk then use MakeMKV to extract the main movie to a mkv file then use Handbrake to convert the mkv to an mp4.
As long as the ISO contains a format hb can read ... hb can open right from the ISO. Afaik HB has read dvd iso's since almost the beginning.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 10:59 AM   #7
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Us poor Windows users don't get a 64bit version or the ability to open ISO's directly

edit:- Handbrake wont open any of my ISO's made with AnyDVD.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 11:06 AM   #8
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Scratch that, just tried one of the new nightly's and it works fine. Just out of interest does it handle Blu-ray ISO's?
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 11:28 AM   #9
a2applegirl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Scratch that, just tried one of the new nightly's and it works fine. Just out of interest does it handle Blu-ray ISO's?
Yes I have encoded some blu-ray iso's in handbrake, but they were already ripped to the harddrive as an image. Being such a mac person, I don't even have a blue ray player, but being a real movie buff I have bought a few titles in blueray and borrowed a windows laptop to rip the iso image to disk.
a2applegirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 01:33 PM   #10
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Thanks, all we need now is for Handbrake to support PGS sup subtitles and the whole process would be perfect
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 11:54 PM   #11
Ender17
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
I have HandBrake 0.94 and under source it only has options for video file, DVD folder and DVD drive.
__________________
PW0o5dvTz0
Ender17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 05:30 AM   #12
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Use the video file option to load the ISO. Also get one of the new nightly versions of Handbrake, much faster and better quality than 0.9.4

http://build.handbrake.fr/
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 08:48 AM   #13
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
HandBrake does not currently understand the Bluray disc structure, so you'll have to know which file contains the feature movie. This is further complicated by the fact that movies can be split between multiple files (although this appears to becoming a rarer occurrence). This also means that you won't have subtitles (which can be an issue for a few discs that use subtitle tracks for forced subtitles), or chapters.

I suspect the necessary support will eventually be added to Handbrake, but the developers have other commitments that take a lot of their "free" time. Here are a couple threads on the Handbrake forums that deal with encoding from Bluray/HDDVD and the forced subtitle issue.

http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9258
http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16784
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 5S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 04:29 PM   #14
Ender17
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by roidy View Post
Use the video file option to load the ISO. Also get one of the new nightly versions of Handbrake, much faster and better quality than 0.9.4

http://build.handbrake.fr/
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightStorm View Post
HandBrake does not currently understand the Bluray disc structure, so you'll have to know which file contains the feature movie. This is further complicated by the fact that movies can be split between multiple files (although this appears to becoming a rarer occurrence). This also means that you won't have subtitles (which can be an issue for a few discs that use subtitle tracks for forced subtitles), or chapters.

I suspect the necessary support will eventually be added to Handbrake, but the developers have other commitments that take a lot of their "free" time. Here are a couple threads on the Handbrake forums that deal with encoding from Bluray/HDDVD and the forced subtitle issue.

http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9258
http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=16784
I'll check it out. Ripbot seems to work pretty well if anyone is looking for another option.
__________________
PW0o5dvTz0
Ender17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2010, 05:03 PM   #15
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender17 View Post
I'll check it out. Ripbot seems to work pretty well if anyone is looking for another option.
Yep Ripbot does work well, but it's very slow.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 07:21 AM   #16
nmharleyrider
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
ISO to mp4 with Handbrake

Used Handbrake and tried to load in an ISO but I got an unreconizable format message. Got this on several Bluray ISOs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ender17 View Post
Hi, what's the best way to convert from a Blu-Ray ISO to MP4? I'm actually using Windows 7, but was hoping someone from this forum could help.
Thanks
nmharleyrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2013, 08:50 PM   #17
mfram
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Depends on how the BluRay was ripped. It has to be decrypted during the rip. HB won't do that. Then you have to mount the ISO. One it is mounted as a virtual BluRay, HB can read it. Windows 7 requires software for this.
mfram is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp4 File Size from Blu Ray Rip in Handbrake jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Sep 28, 2013 02:30 PM
Blu-Ray for MacBook Pros - Finally, a 9.5mm Slot-Load Blu-Ray Drive! Prodo123 MacBook Pro 72 Sep 15, 2013 11:17 AM
Probelm converting my Blu-ray discs to mp4 tcatcrb Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Jan 15, 2013 09:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC