Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:27 PM   #1
WarnerBrown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Connecting old powerbook g4 15inch to my flatscreen

Hi guys, I have an old powerbook g4 15inch model A1106. I want to connect it to my flatscreen. i understand i need a dvi-> hdmi cord, not sure which one though.
http://cgi.ebay.com/1-5m-Dvi-D-Hdmi-...item483b3af3d9

would that do the job?

im on a film shoot deadline, need to order what i need asap so any help be so appreciated!

Warner
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:31 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
That should work, unless your flatscreen (TV or real computer display, which model either anyway?) has a DVI input, then a normal DVI extension cable will do the trick.

If it is a TV: How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

Btw, one thread is enough.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:41 PM   #3
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
That should work, unless your flatscreen (TV or real computer display, which model either anyway?) has a DVI input, then a normal DVI extension cable will do the trick.

If it is a TV: How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

Btw, one thread is enough.
apologies for double-posting. I didn't expect such a quick answer.The link was helpful. My flatscreen is newer "dynex" model. it doesn't have a DVI input, just hdmi ones.
I think the last input on this (to the right) is a DVI input correct? thats like my powerbook

__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:48 PM   #4
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks again, think i found what i need
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:51 PM   #5
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarnerBrown View Post
apologies for double-posting. I didn't expect such a quick answer.The link was helpful. My flatscreen is newer "dynex" model. it doesn't have a DVI input, just hdmi ones.
I think the last input on this (to the right) is a DVI input correct? thats like my powerbook

If it has no DVI input, then it is a TV, and the guide I linked to will help you connecting it properly to your PowerBook, which has a DVI output (not input).


spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:57 PM   #6
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks alot for the info. mine's a dual link DVI, just like in the bottom picture but it has s-video out also. and yes its a flatscreen tv. i'm about to order this, that should do the job right?

http://www.amazon.com/Eforcity-Black-Meter-HDMI-Cable/dp/B000E8SY5Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1253779313&sr=8-1
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:59 PM   #7
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
damn. nevermind, that's the wrong one, canceling order. getting the ebay one.
thanks again for the help
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 05:18 PM   #8
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
****** I'm getting frustrated.

the left side of the DVI male has 4 thingers which would fit in the DVI on my powerbook, but that metal thing inbetween would block it from fitting.
this is an older g4, aluminum i got in 2005. i'm scouring amazon without much luck..
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 05:35 PM   #9
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I would get this one


but where are the other 4 pins on the left that would connect to the D-DVI? are they necessary?
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 05:46 PM   #10
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
the other one ships from australia.don't have enough time.
would this one work?

__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 06:22 PM   #11
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
the guide in that link doesn't cover my old powerbook.

My d-dvi output is 24+5 pin. does anyone know if a 24+1 pin DVI cable would work??
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flatscreen interfering w/ trackpad? tweak25 MacBook Pro 0 Jan 12, 2014 11:45 AM
connecting iphone to macbook pro 15inch retna tbluhp MacBook Pro 2 Jul 10, 2013 02:17 AM
cMbp 15inch vs. rMbp 15inch Deneb MacBook Pro 19 Jun 27, 2013 11:45 AM
Connecting a PowerBook G3 to the internet... Braniff747SP PowerPC Macs 7 Sep 25, 2012 05:50 PM
Do you need to have a flatscreen to use apple tv? ellaimac Apple TV and Home Theater 21 Jun 7, 2012 08:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC