Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:27 PM   #1
WarnerBrown
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Connecting old powerbook g4 15inch to my flatscreen

Hi guys, I have an old powerbook g4 15inch model A1106. I want to connect it to my flatscreen. i understand i need a dvi-> hdmi cord, not sure which one though.
http://cgi.ebay.com/1-5m-Dvi-D-Hdmi-...item483b3af3d9

would that do the job?

im on a film shoot deadline, need to order what i need asap so any help be so appreciated!

Warner
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:31 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
That should work, unless your flatscreen (TV or real computer display, which model either anyway?) has a DVI input, then a normal DVI extension cable will do the trick.

If it is a TV: How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

Btw, one thread is enough.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:41 PM   #3
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
That should work, unless your flatscreen (TV or real computer display, which model either anyway?) has a DVI input, then a normal DVI extension cable will do the trick.

If it is a TV: How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV

Btw, one thread is enough.
apologies for double-posting. I didn't expect such a quick answer.The link was helpful. My flatscreen is newer "dynex" model. it doesn't have a DVI input, just hdmi ones.
I think the last input on this (to the right) is a DVI input correct? thats like my powerbook

__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:48 PM   #4
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks again, think i found what i need
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:51 PM   #5
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarnerBrown View Post
apologies for double-posting. I didn't expect such a quick answer.The link was helpful. My flatscreen is newer "dynex" model. it doesn't have a DVI input, just hdmi ones.
I think the last input on this (to the right) is a DVI input correct? thats like my powerbook

If it has no DVI input, then it is a TV, and the guide I linked to will help you connecting it properly to your PowerBook, which has a DVI output (not input).


spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:57 PM   #6
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks alot for the info. mine's a dual link DVI, just like in the bottom picture but it has s-video out also. and yes its a flatscreen tv. i'm about to order this, that should do the job right?

http://www.amazon.com/Eforcity-Black-Meter-HDMI-Cable/dp/B000E8SY5Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1253779313&sr=8-1
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 03:59 PM   #7
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
damn. nevermind, that's the wrong one, canceling order. getting the ebay one.
thanks again for the help
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:18 PM   #8
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
****** I'm getting frustrated.

the left side of the DVI male has 4 thingers which would fit in the DVI on my powerbook, but that metal thing inbetween would block it from fitting.
this is an older g4, aluminum i got in 2005. i'm scouring amazon without much luck..
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:35 PM   #9
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I would get this one


but where are the other 4 pins on the left that would connect to the D-DVI? are they necessary?
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 04:46 PM   #10
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
the other one ships from australia.don't have enough time.
would this one work?

__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 05:22 PM   #11
WarnerBrown
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
the guide in that link doesn't cover my old powerbook.

My d-dvi output is 24+5 pin. does anyone know if a 24+1 pin DVI cable would work??
__________________
writer.director.

http://www.warnerbrown.com
WarnerBrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 display issues alew!mac920 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 9, 2011 04:25 AM
New help with copying files to MY Book dlpphoto OS X 2 Dec 3, 2010 05:56 AM
how to erase HD & install/upgrade OS for my old Powerbook G4 tibook jitty PowerPC Macs 1 Feb 20, 2008 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC