Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 8, 2010, 10:05 PM   #1
Mrbill317
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Need help with G5 Power issues please Model A1047

have a G5 Power Mac (Dual 2ghz). and it will not power on. I plug in the cord and here a power click.
I depress power button and light comes on for a sec and goes out. Front fans do a quick partial spin and thats it.

Is that a bad power supply? This isnt easy to get out and can be expensive right?
Mrbill317 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 11:07 PM   #2
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbill317 View Post
have a G5 Power Mac (Dual 2ghz). and it will not power on. I plug in the cord and here a power click.
I depress power button and light comes on for a sec and goes out. Front fans do a quick partial spin and thats it.

Is that a bad power supply? This isnt easy to get out and can be expensive right?
i just acquired the same model powermac and i have the same issue... i would also like help, although im afraid that both of us are suffering from a failed logic board..
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 06:24 AM   #3
Mrbill317
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Shouldnt be the case

My unit was fully functional before placing in my bedroom closet (I have a Mac Pro now). It wasnt connected to anything in there , how in the blazes did it blow the logic board.
Unit wasnt even used much before
Mrbill317 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 07:02 AM   #4
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
Doubt it will be the motherboard, I have just had a Power mac in at the office. with the same problem. I dismantled and checked the power supply no signs of bulging capacitors or any internal damage with the power supply.

I have a college that has a working powermac i grabbed his psu out of his and put it in the customers and it fired up straight a way.

if your game enough, strip it down, you will need to remove both cpu's the front fans / back fans ( make sure u label the cpus according to there position top / bottom) remove the 4 screws under the case psu should come up, may need some force to get it out so be careful.
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 12:07 PM   #5
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I have a good 600w PSU laying around that you can use to test yours if you think you can change it yourself. If you're near Cleveland, I'd do it for free for you. I also have service manual if you need it.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 01:47 PM   #6
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
it is either the psu or the ram, i believe
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 02:10 PM   #7
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
RAM you can for sure exclude of your "suspicions list".
It looks like PSU (from described symptoms), I bet on its capacitors. If unit was unused for a long time, they could simply dry-out. It happens sometimes, especially with "not best quality" capacitors.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2010, 04:11 PM   #8
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Sounds exactly like what happened with the 1.6GHz Powermac G5 I had a couple years ago. I made this YouTube video showing the problem. Watch it, and see if your problem is the same. I replaced my PSU and it didn't fix the problem. To this day I'm not totally sure what was wrong with it, but I am almost 100% sure it was the logicboard.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 11:56 AM   #9
jhnhth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
battery?

If it was unplugged for a while, it may be the battery - it's a 3.6 volt Lithium battery.

Mine was like that (same model, same problem), didn't get a chime or anything until I replaced the battery. (full disclosure, my machine is still not working, but at least it chimes before it hangs on startup)
jhnhth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2010, 11:16 PM   #10
cat3rn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Could you send me the service manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
I have a good 600w PSU laying around that you can use to test yours if you think you can change it yourself. If you're near Cleveland, I'd do it for free for you. I also have service manual if you need it.
If it is in PDF that would be great if not where could I get a copy?
cat3rn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Favorite Power Mac G4 model? gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 60 May 21, 2014 03:02 PM
Power Mac G5 power issues - Red lights on CPUs gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 10 Mar 23, 2014 05:34 PM
Power Mac G5 A1047 sounds like its taking off. sneakybells PowerPC Macs 10 Nov 23, 2013 10:52 PM
Power Mac G5 A1047 won't switch on sneakybells PowerPC Macs 10 Nov 5, 2013 10:05 AM
GTX 680 4GIG model and power requirements (MP 4.1)? IceMacMac Mac Pro 11 Jun 25, 2013 08:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC