Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11, 2010, 02:03 PM   #1
Davy.Shalom
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Cloning OS in Leopard to new HDD on PM G5

How should I go about cloning my noisy Maxtor 500 GB 7200 RPM to a newer quieter Western Digital 500 GB 7200 RPM?

All thoughts are quite welcome, thanks!!
__________________
-Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 750 GB HD
-Mac Pro 8 core (3 GHz Xeon), 10 GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1900
-PowerMac G5: 2 x 2.3 GHz, 14 GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD
Davy.Shalom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 02:12 PM   #2
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Carbon Copy Cloner has worked great for me in the past
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 02:19 PM   #3
Davy.Shalom
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBookG4user View Post
Carbon Copy Cloner has worked great for me in the past
I agree, in the past using Tiger on my PowerBook G4 CCC has been very reliable. However:

Stupid question 1:
Will my B drive in there be bootable after using CCC if I put it in the primary slot in the PM G5, or will it not. CCC gives me some warning about PPC Macs and apple partition map.
__________________
-Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 750 GB HD
-Mac Pro 8 core (3 GHz Xeon), 10 GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1900
-PowerMac G5: 2 x 2.3 GHz, 14 GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD
Davy.Shalom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 02:27 PM   #4
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy.Shalom View Post
I agree, in the past using Tiger on my PowerBook G4 CCC has been very reliable. However:

Stupid question 1:
Will my B drive in there be bootable after using CCC if I put it in the primary slot in the PM G5, or will it not. CCC gives me some warning about PPC Macs and apple partition map.
Alright, what you'll want to do is connect the hard drive that you're going to be cloning the data on to. Then go to Disk Utility and select the new hard drive, select "Partition". Set Volume Scheme to 1 Partition and then select "Options..." under the flyout menu select Apple Partition Map and select ok. Then click "Apply". That will allow your Mac to boot from the hard drive. And then after Disk Utility is done, go to CCC and clone the disk over to it.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 02:31 PM   #5
Davy.Shalom
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBookG4user View Post
Alright, what you'll want to do is connect the hard drive that you're going to be cloning the data on to. Then go to Disk Utility and select the new hard drive, select "Partition". Set Volume Scheme to 1 Partition and then select "Options..." under the flyout menu select Apple Partition Map and select ok. Then click "Apply". That will allow your Mac to boot from the hard drive. And then after Disk Utility is done, go to CCC and clone the disk over to it.
Thanks so much!! I didn't even know Disk Utility had this feature...haha I guess we learn something new every day.
__________________
-Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 750 GB HD
-Mac Pro 8 core (3 GHz Xeon), 10 GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1900
-PowerMac G5: 2 x 2.3 GHz, 14 GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD
Davy.Shalom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 02:33 PM   #6
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy.Shalom View Post
Thanks so much!! I didn't even know Disk Utility had this feature...haha I guess we learn something new every day.
No problem, glad to help
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone old bootcamp partition to new hard drive (OSX Lion) Blair230 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Nov 16, 2011 12:31 PM
New Mac, How do I transfer my sites in Dreamweaver to new HDD? SamIchi Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Mar 22, 2011 11:07 PM
How to transfer a 4+gb file to a HDD on MacBook? Halvard Mac Basics and Help 3 Feb 23, 2011 12:55 PM
Cloning old HDD to new HDD SandboxGeneral MacBook Pro 21 Oct 29, 2010 04:08 PM
Leopard on PM G5? eb6 OS X 2 Jul 24, 2007 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC