Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gheat93

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 11, 2010
San Francisco
I'm wondering how everyone carries their earphones on the go? I generally coil them up and keep them in my pocket - a little crude I know - and perhaps consequently, the cables invariably break.
How do you all carry your earphones whilst out? Do you have similar experiences to myself, or have you figured out a way to prolong the life of earphone cable?
I'm looking forward to your responses :)

StephenAndrew

macrumors member
Dec 12, 2009
Connecticut, USA
Same here, coiled in pocket or in any bag/backpack I'm carrying. I really only use them when I'm either working out, hiking or motorcycling, so I rarely need to store them on the go. I've been using the same pair of Shure earphones for almost 3 years now, they don't seem to mind how I store them.

Psant

macrumors regular
Jun 12, 2010
My Klipsch S2Ms came with a little felt carrying pouch, so in that. I used to have some Skullcandies and I went through two pairs in a year by just coiling and throwing them in my backpack. I've learned to be more careful.

Stevomcgee

macrumors newbie
Jul 10, 2010
I'm on my third pair of these crappy headphones and I didn't want to buy anything so I made this out of an old contact case. Does the job.
91ed73df.jpg

troop231

macrumors 603
Jan 20, 2010
My Skullcandy FMJ's came with a case like this and they seem to be holding up great:
skullcandy_asym_case_open.JPG
My iPod shuffle fits great inside of there too along with some extra foam tips.

crhudy1985

macrumors regular
Sep 23, 2009
It depends on which earphones. I have a nice pair of sonys I keep in the pouch they came in with my shuffle. I put my apple earbuds coiled up in a small pouch on the side of my purse to be easily accessible.

jbennardo

macrumors 6502a
Jun 16, 2009