Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2004, 04:51 AM   #1
spxy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Where are my fonts?

Hi , I need to complete a project I'm working on at home working in colledge.
They dont have the Fonts I need.How do I find my fonts on my MAC?
I have a emac OX 10, I've done HD>system>Library>fonts but only a few are there (I have hundreds) so where are my fonts?
Thanks.
spxy is offline   0
Old Nov 9, 2004, 06:12 AM   #2
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by spxy
Hi , I need to complete a project I'm working on at home working in colledge.
They dont have the Fonts I need.How do I find my fonts on my MAC?
I have a emac OX 10, I've done HD>system>Library>fonts but only a few are there (I have hundreds) so where are my fonts?
Thanks.
There are 4 places fonts are stored in Mac OS X:
/System/Library/Fonts (which you already looked at)
/Library/Fonts
~/Library/Fonts (in your home directory)
/System Folder/Fonts (if you use Classic)
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0
Old Nov 9, 2004, 06:16 AM   #3
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
You don't say which OS X you have. If it's 10.3.x you should have an application called Font Book to view and manage your fonts...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Nov 9, 2004, 07:46 AM   #4
spxy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Found them now.I didn't know there were different libraries.
Thanks.
Font book doesnt let you copy fonts by the way.
spxy is offline   0
Old Nov 9, 2004, 04:34 PM   #5
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by spxy
Font book doesnt let you copy fonts by the way.
Why would you want to copy fonts? The font sets you make in Font Book can have fonts from all the places wrldwzrd89 mentioned. And new fonts you install through Font Book is placed where you tell them to (Classic, User og Systemwide).
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Nov 10, 2004, 08:22 AM   #6
spxy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Why would you want to copy fonts?
Er to put them on another computer.
spxy is offline   0
Old Nov 18, 2004, 02:30 PM   #7
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by spxy
Why would you want to copy fonts?
Er to put them on another computer.
Aaah... you want to i m p o r t or i n s t a l l fonts...

Just drag'n'drop them in Font Book, and they install to the user level you set it to... as I said in prev. post... you don't even have to know the different locations OS X puts them, just decide if you want them machinewide, just your user or in Classic, then Font Book puts them accordingly...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0
Old Nov 18, 2004, 02:37 PM   #8
Toe
macrumors 65816
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Just a little reminder that many fonts are copyrighted and cannot be distributed without a license to do so.

Stealing is stealing, no matter how easy it is.

OTOH, these days many fonts are public domain. So it's up to you to know the difference.
__________________
Have MBP and iPhone. Have operated almost every Mac model.
Toe is offline   0
Old Nov 18, 2004, 03:56 PM   #9
macmonkey615
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Send a message via AIM to macmonkey615
fonts

I was having this issue too.. thanks for bringing it up.
macmonkey615 is offline   0
Old Nov 18, 2004, 04:58 PM   #10
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmonkey615
I was having this issue too.. thanks for bringing it up.
I'm glad to have been of at least some help to you. I've helped many other members before - newbies and veterans alike.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many fonts should be in /Library /Fonts? bluedoggiant OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Oct 26, 2013 05:50 AM
Fonts+ DamianPlak iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Oct 11, 2013 04:06 AM
Serious problem with fonts in Snow Leopard - can't use most fonts... Soom Mac Basics and Help 5 Jul 3, 2013 06:41 PM
Fonts not right.... rellaps MacBook 0 Nov 28, 2012 07:00 PM
Deleted duplicate fonts and now some fonts have changed? jent Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 7 Jun 26, 2012 01:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC