Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 17, 2010, 03:11 PM   #1
AdamA9
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Really Slow MacBook Air

Guys, need some help. I've a first revision macbook air here, that's suddenly grind down to a really slow and sluggish machine.

How can I find out what is slowing it down, and more importantly, how can I speed it up again? What information do you need to diagnose any problems with the computer?

It's the original 1.6GHz C2D with 2GB 667MHz DDR2

The Activity monitor is saying that Safari is using 1.2GB virtual memory, as is Mail, which I'm sure has not always been the case, however, even with these shut it's still really slow.

Thanks for any help.
Adam
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 03:13 PM   #2
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Have you tried SMC and PRAM resets?
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 03:16 PM   #3
jaykk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AZ
Send a message via AIM to jaykk Send a message via MSN to jaykk Send a message via Yahoo to jaykk
My Rev A MBA did same thing yesterday, i used Onyx app to clean up the system. The system is much responsive now.

The key is to repair permission and clean up the logs. didn't try PRAM settings though.
jaykk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 03:27 PM   #4
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridemat View Post
Have you tried SMC and PRAM resets?
I haven't tried anything yet, but thanks for the reply. How would I go about doing this?
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 05:03 PM   #5
halledise
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamA9 View Post
I haven't tried anything yet, but thanks for the reply. How would I go about doing this?
SMC reset.
Air off.
power cord in.
hold down shift + control + option and press power button once.
wait for a slow 5 count then start normally

PRAM zap

hold down command + option + p + r as it starts up and wait to hear the chime repeated 3 times.

let go and Air should start normally.

if that don't improve things, start up from your install disc (having backed up your stuff) and either reinstall OS 10.6 or (what I'd do) erase and install then add back in your apps and home folder.

the latter will give you your original snappy machine.

update Software via SW Update
halledise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 07:44 PM   #6
sevimli
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
similar thing happened to me and bam, 2 days later i lost my hdd

now i have runcore ssd, very pleased with that!
sevimli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 03:35 AM   #7
halledise
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamA9 View Post
I haven't tried anything yet, but thanks for the reply. How would I go about doing this?
if sevimli is right regarding your machine - back up now just in case your HDD might **** itself

Last edited by halledise; Jul 18, 2010 at 06:16 AM.
halledise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:56 AM   #8
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevimli View Post
similar thing happened to me and bam, 2 days later i lost my hdd

now i have runcore ssd, very pleased with that!
What, after doing the PRAM and SMC reset or just when it slowed right down?
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:29 AM   #9
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I've tried that and it doesn't seem to have made too much difference. How do I know if the SMC reset was successful? No noises went off, just about to try the PRAM now...
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 06:51 AM   #10
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Guys,

Sorry to trouble again, but this seemed to help for about a day or so, and now it's gone back to an almost un-useable machine.

The beachball just spins and spins, particularily when using Safari or Mail. I don't want to have to keep doing this every other day to keep it running.

Do I have any other options? Annoyingly it's about 2 months outside the 3 years for Apple Care too... Typical...
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 09:15 AM   #11
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
It does seem like the hard drive is on its last legs. Do you have an old external you could try in its place?
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 09:17 AM   #12
McDughf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Mate, I've got a Rev B Machine and about a month ago it started acting a bit funny ( incorrect permissions and all really made the whole OS grind to a halt)
In the end i just did a repair install off of the Snow Leopard discs and everything is running FANtastically well.
McDughf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 09:34 AM   #13
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
We have a TC backing up but that's about it for external HD.

I was thinking about getting her Snow Leopard, and then installing that, however, we're worried about losing data from the Laptop.

Could we do a full backup onto the TC, and then when we run the snow Leopard disk create from backup and use the data on the TC?

AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 01:47 PM   #14
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
If you want to upgrade to SL then make a full backup of your current machine on TM. Carryout a clean install with SL and then restore from backup.

Easy as pie!
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 08:42 AM   #15
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridemat View Post
If you want to upgrade to SL then make a full backup of your current machine on TM. Carryout a clean install with SL and then restore from backup.

Easy as pie!
Thanks, went to Apple and they said to bring in the MBA first so they can check it out to make sure we don't waste money on SL if the computer is fried! Kind of annoyed because it's JUST outside the 3 year Apple Care. Still, might try get them on the Sale of Goods Act
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:31 AM   #16
VS007
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Same issue with my RevA. It got worse after 10.6.4.

I had called Apple Support,cleaned up cache, file permissions and even did the PRAM reset, SMC reset, still spinning beach balls, ultimately narrowed down to my user id.
Created a new user id and it became responsive again, though it got sluggish over last few weeks, still usable.

Now I keep all my music,video in one user id and use another one just for browsing.
VS007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 07:33 AM   #17
is2myMBA
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevimli View Post
similar thing happened to me and bam, 2 days later i lost my hdd

now i have runcore ssd, very pleased with that!
When you installed your runcore ssd, did you need a superdrive to go about installing the os?
is2myMBA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 07:47 AM   #18
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Just booked into the Apple store for it to be looked at Thursday - I got my dates wrong (I think) and I'm sure I've got Apple Care still so going to get them to take a look at it!

Annoyingly the past day it's started behaving again GRRR! I hope it messes up again so I can get it fixed!
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2010, 11:50 PM   #19
osiris24x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
First place I always check is the console log for "disk i/o errors", a sign of a dying hard drive. Second place I check is CPU usage across all processes.

Good luck!
__________________
Roger Michaels
Apple Certified Consultant
PDXMacRepair.com
osiris24x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 02:41 AM   #20
VS007
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I see stdout Input/Output Error
VS007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2010, 05:25 AM   #21
AdamA9
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Just a quick update, turns out it was the logic board that had gone funny! We got it replaced under warranty and it's all working fine now!

Thanks for all the help
AdamA9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2010, 04:58 PM   #22
bowlerman625
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago, IL area
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A400 Safari/6531.22.7)

I noticed my 10 month MacBook Air with SSD had slowed down considerably on start and shutdown. I worked with apple support and wound up reloading OS X. Now things are good again! And fast like the original speeds.
__________________
Have iPhones, iPads, iPods, Apple TVs - enjoy the products!
bowlerman625 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2010, 12:11 AM   #23
VS007
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Update

Took my MBC to Apple few days back and they confirmed a disk issue.
I got the hard disk replaced today and am happy to report my MBA is snappy like a new one and the OS is 10.6.3 and have no plans to update to 10.6.4.
VS007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2010, 02:11 AM   #24
ScottFitz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I'll get my Rev A back tomorrow. Took it in for the loose hinge issue (had a known fix for that) and the slow down. I'll report back tomorrow. Hopefully, all is well.
ScottFitz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 06:54 AM   #25
drvelocity
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
THIS WORKED: For anyone coming to this thread via Google, I have a 2011 Macbook Air that was ridiculously slow after an accidental complete battery rundown, showing sub 2000 geek bench scores (instead of about 6000 where it should be). An SMC reset fixed this, I'm at 5900 now and the computer feels three times as fast.
drvelocity is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook air mid 2009 very slow tz4bu MacBook Air 10 May 25, 2014 05:55 PM
MacBook Air 2013 slow shutdown. sachin234000 MacBook Air 4 Jul 25, 2013 10:35 PM
New MacBook Air slow to shut down... Drew017 MacBook Air 34 Jan 1, 2013 08:49 PM
Macbook air suddenly slow. orfeas0 MacBook Air 4 Sep 20, 2012 01:37 PM
Macbook Air horribly slow. barrysfarm MacBook Air 25 Jul 19, 2012 10:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC