Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:39 PM   #1
maximus.darby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
error message 9, recboot doesnt work...help!?

what do i do? will apple release a fix?
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:41 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Have you tried a DFU mode restore?
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:50 PM   #3
maximus.darby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticpride678 View Post
Have you tried a DFU mode restore?
yeah still nothing
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:51 PM   #4
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus.darby View Post
yeah still nothing
Before you said you had an error message..now nothing?

You need to give us a lot more information
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:55 PM   #5
maximus.darby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticpride678 View Post
Before you said you had an error message..now nothing?

You need to give us a lot more information
sorry, tried it in dfu mode, still error message 9. loading bar on iphone doesnt move from empty when attempting restore, then error 9 appears
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:57 PM   #6
Derrick Velasco
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Take it into Apple. I got that same exact error and the Genius explained to me that it had something to do with the USB. So he replaced it and it worked great. Good luck.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz, 2GB RAM
13" iMac G3 400MHz, 512MB SDRAM
COLLECTORS EDITION MACBOOK 2GHz Aluminum
^^ I LOVE THAT!!
Derrick Velasco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 05:57 PM   #7
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus.darby View Post
sorry, tried it in dfu mode, still error message 9. loading bar on iphone doesnt move from empty when attempting restore, then error 9 appears
Fixing common restore issues:

http://itsalltech.com/2010/07/08/fix...estore-issues/


Error 9: This error occurs when the device unexpectedly drops off of the USB bus and communication stops. This can occur if the device is manually disconnected during the restore process. This issue can be resolved by performing USB isolation troubleshooting, using a different USB dock connector cable, trying another USB port, restoring on another computer, or by eliminating conflicts from third-party security software.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:06 PM   #8
maximus.darby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
nope, not worked
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:07 PM   #9
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus.darby View Post
nope, not worked
What doesn't work? Info?
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:11 PM   #10
SCOTTGAZ9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Glasgow,Scotland
Send a message via MSN to SCOTTGAZ9
Same issue for 4 days mate...my other 2 handsets restored and sync fine just the new iphone 4 was giving me problems...tried everything on the forums and Apple site, cleared library,mobile sync and re-installed itunes. took it to Apple today and it did the same instore so instant replacement.

See thread on 02 forum.

http://forum.o2.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=48162
SCOTTGAZ9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:23 PM   #11
maximus.darby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticpride678 View Post
What doesn't work? Info?
the update, plugged it into a mac and a windows based pc, you plug it in, it says its in restore mode, you click restore, the iphone flashes on and off, then it gets to a screen with an apple logo and a loading bar beneath it, it doesnt move then the screen turns off and i get error message 9
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:33 PM   #12
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus.darby View Post
the update, plugged it into a mac and a windows based pc, you plug it in, it says its in restore mode, you click restore, the iphone flashes on and off, then it gets to a screen with an apple logo and a loading bar beneath it, it doesnt move then the screen turns off and i get error message 9
Did you try all the solutions in the link I gave you?
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:37 PM   #13
maximus.darby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticpride678 View Post
Did you try all the solutions in the link I gave you?
yep tried them all, still not working
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 06:39 PM   #14
JonnyBravo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Glendale, CA
Agreed..take it back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derrick Velasco View Post
Take it into Apple. I got that same exact error and the Genius explained to me that it had something to do with the USB. So he replaced it and it worked great. Good luck.
Had the same issue twice. First time when I did a general restore when I had iOS 4.0 and the second time when I was upgrading to 4.0.1.

First time...I fixed myself by doing a complete reinstall of iTunes (that was after going through 2 computers to try to reactivate it). The reinstall worked. After two weeks when 4.0.1 came out, upon downloading the upgrade, it went back to the endless recovery mode with the same error 9 message.

Best thing at this point: make a genius appt at Apple and let them recreate the issue. I did and they replaced my phone on the spot. They said the exact same thing: maybe an issue on the USB connector port inside the iphone itself. Seemed more like a software issue than hardware, but I wasn't going to complain..since they exchanged my phone for a brand new one!
__________________
27" iMac Quad-Core i7 (Late 2012)
13" Macbook Air Dual-Core i5
iPhone 6 64 GB Space Gray AT&T (Unlimited)
JonnyBravo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 07:01 PM   #15
thaddeusbear
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I had the same problem as you with my wife's ip4. My own ip4 updated with no problems. Anyway, used 3 different iphone usb cables, restored, restored in dfu mode, restarted my imac. I attempted this 7-10 times. Still error 9.

Went to the apple store yesterday and the genius attempted to update to ios 4.0.1.

Didn't work so Apple gave me wife a new ip4. Updated effortlessly at home.
thaddeusbear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 07:11 PM   #16
maximus.darby
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
do i 100% need an appointment or can i just walk in?
maximus.darby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2010, 07:39 PM   #17
JonnyBravo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Glendale, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus.darby View Post
do i 100% need an appointment or can i just walk in?
You can try your luck going to the store without an appt, BUT if they have a busy queue then you'll have to wait it out until they get ahead so they can fit you in.

Even when I had a 10:20am appt, I waited another 20 min. (The appts are 10-15 min windows) and some customers' issues take longer than others. Just be friendly cause they're human too. My experience: they'll take care of you if you're nice about it!

Good luck!
__________________
27" iMac Quad-Core i7 (Late 2012)
13" Macbook Air Dual-Core i5
iPhone 6 64 GB Space Gray AT&T (Unlimited)
JonnyBravo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tethering doesnt work borgqueenx iPhone 3 Oct 4, 2013 08:44 PM
New 5S but TouchID doesnt work twisdit iPhone 10 Sep 20, 2013 11:40 AM
Why doesnt the else statement work in this? bigMAC28 Mac Programming 2 Aug 4, 2013 05:44 PM
'Use As Defaults' doesnt work? Sir Ruben OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Apr 21, 2013 05:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC