Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2004, 09:48 AM   #1
wPod
macrumors 68000
 
wPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Just got RAM what should I do?

I got a 512MB stick of ram for my 12" PB 867mhz. Its off brand, but when I installed it the RAM worked fine. Is there anything I should do to 'optomize' the RAM since it is not Apple brand? Repair premisions or anything like that? Any key combo to punch in when the system is starting up? Or should I just be happy I can run 10 apps at once w/o any trouble?!
__________________
15" PB 1.33 Ghz 1.5GB ram, Dell 2005FPW
Mac Mini solo 1.5 Ghz; iPod 10GB 1gen, 20GB 4gen,
80GB 5.5gen, Shuffle 1 gen 512, 2gen 1GB
TV 40GB
wPod is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 10:05 AM   #2
Logik
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by wPod
I got a 512MB stick of ram for my 12" PB 867mhz. Its off brand, but when I installed it the RAM worked fine. Is there anything I should do to 'optomize' the RAM since it is not Apple brand? Repair premisions or anything like that? Any key combo to punch in when the system is starting up? Or should I just be happy I can run 10 apps at once w/o any trouble?!
ram is ram big guy. some is higher quality than others. you simply install it and it either works or doesn't. nothing more you can do, if it works, you're good.
Logik is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 10:13 AM   #3
jxyama
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
yep, if it works, it works. no optimization necessary...

RAMs from different vendors are practically the same. the only reason some are more expensive than others is due to testing. some places have tighter threashold for what's acceptable and what's not - and those threashold are above and beyond whether the RAM works or not. accordingly, if one vendor has higher standard and discards more RAM as "unacceptable" for their standard (even if the RAM works fine), then RAM from that vendor will be more expensive and of "higher" quality.

let's say you need a score of above 60 for RAM to work. vendor A may say 70+ is acceptable while vendor B may say 90+ is only acceptable. though RAM from both vendors are likely to work, vendor B can claim to have higher quality RAMs.
jxyama is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 10:29 AM   #4
Dreadnought
macrumors 68000
 
Dreadnought's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Also the speed/latency of RAM is why the price is higher. The cheaper the ram the more the latency, the slower the ram is. But this is something you almost don't notice.
__________________
Fold with our MacRumors folding@home team and I dare you to fold with us and catch up with me if you can! Also, we have our own folding widget
Dreadnought is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 10:40 AM   #5
aricher
macrumors 68020
 
aricher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chi-il
Quote:
Just got RAM what should I do?
Have fun with you're zippier machine - duh.
aricher is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 11:20 AM   #6
wPod
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
wPod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by aricher
Have fun with you're zippier machine - duh.
it sounds like thats what ill be doing!! im going to go try medal of honor!!
__________________
15" PB 1.33 Ghz 1.5GB ram, Dell 2005FPW
Mac Mini solo 1.5 Ghz; iPod 10GB 1gen, 20GB 4gen,
80GB 5.5gen, Shuffle 1 gen 512, 2gen 1GB
TV 40GB
wPod is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 11:38 AM   #7
jxyama
macrumors 68040
 
jxyama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
totally off topic, but i still can't get over wPod's red apple on the PB. so cool. if i had a non-silver mini, i'd have tried to match the color of the apple on my PB to the mini!
jxyama is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've had my Mac repaired at least 10-15 times since I got it, what should I do? Jamie0003 Mac Basics and Help 5 Jun 26, 2011 06:06 PM
email got hacked, what should i do? tipman2000 Community Discussion 5 Jun 7, 2011 01:12 PM
Can only have 2GB of RAM, what should I do? pizzafootbal MacBook 6 Dec 31, 2010 04:22 PM
girlfriend cheated over a year ago and just came clean, what should i do? checkerboard Community Discussion 67 May 31, 2010 11:37 AM
just got a MPB, what should I do?! brianbkny MacBook Pro 12 Jan 24, 2007 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC