Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2004, 11:59 AM   #1
Solafaa
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Daddy said not to talk to strangers
Flashing Globe icon when i restart or switch on my mac

When i restart or switch on my G5 iMac i get a flashing globe icon and it stays like that for some time not untill i remove ever cable except power (printer, external dvd-rw, external hard drive and eithernet) dose it work. I searched the internet and foudn this:

http://kb.indiana.edu/data/accw.html...72582.03059.30

- The flashing globe icon means you are trying to start from a netboot server that doesn't exist or is offline.

I have no idea what that mean and how i could fix it, any ideas?
Solafaa is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 12:31 PM   #2
steller
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
go to preferences-> startup disk->change it back to local startup instead of network.
steller is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 12:40 PM   #3
Edot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
The solution is here: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=31355

Sounds like you just need to use Startup Disk system preference and change your startup disk from Network to the Local Drive.

Hope that helps!
Edot is offline   0
Old Nov 12, 2004, 01:55 PM   #4
Solafaa
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Daddy said not to talk to strangers
Thank you guys.

Side note: This site has been the best thing ever with helping me with my mac problems, ever since i got a mac and came here i always wake up the next day loving my mac more then when i went to bed.

Thankd guys, macrumors
Solafaa is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Everytime I click either alt, shift or command on my mac the symbol appears on screen followyourexit Mac Basics and Help 6 Apr 28, 2010 04:44 PM
Remote File Access to a specific driver or folder on my Mac jdl8422 OS X 3 Jun 26, 2009 04:24 PM
I have accumulated a virus (or malware or whatever) on my mac tim123mac Wasteland 8 Jul 4, 2008 11:05 AM
Virus or spyware on my mac.. squwish MacBook Pro 20 May 14, 2007 12:21 AM
Spyware or malware on my Mac? GanChan Mac Basics and Help 9 Jan 14, 2007 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC