Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2004, 01:14 PM   #1
believo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
One processor at a time?

I've heard that when working in a program, even though it's a multi-processor supported program, you are only using one processor at a time on that particular program. Is this true?

I've also heard that while the G5 dual 2.0s have 8 ram slots. Four are used for one processor and four for the other. Is this true?

thanks!

Last edited by believo; Nov 13, 2004 at 01:16 PM.
believo is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 01:18 PM   #2
DanTekGeek
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to DanTekGeek Send a message via MSN to DanTekGeek
i belive that one processor handles current foreground programs, and one handles system idle processes and background programs.
DanTekGeek is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 01:20 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by believo
I've heard that when working in a program, even though it's a multi-processor supported program, you are only using one processor at a time on that particular program. Is this true?
Depends on the number of THREADS that the program creates.

The OS manages threads, which can be run on either CPU (and in some cases the GPU.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by believo
I've also heard that while the G5 dual 2.0s have 8 ram slots. Four are used for one processor and four for the other. Is this true?

thanks!
Nope all the memory is hooked to Memory Controller and shared by both CPUs, it's not hooked to the CPUs -- what you are talking about would be for a NUMA architecture system, which we don't have yet (because there are NO integrated memory controllers.)

Thats part of AMD's architecture.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 01:26 PM   #4
believo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked
Depends on the number of THREADS that the program creates.
for instance photoshop or final cut HD, do u know about these particular programs?

thanks
believo is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 01:30 PM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by believo
for instance photoshop or final cut HD, do u know about these particular programs?

thanks
Check out www.barefeats.com

Considering some of the "filters" run twice as fast on duals as they do on singles would lead one to think that they take advantage of the 2nd CPU.

Plus photoshop is one of the oldest multi-cpu capable applications on the Mac.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 02:41 PM   #6
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
Quote:
Originally Posted by believo
for instance photoshop or final cut HD, do u know about these particular programs?

thanks
Both of these programs are fairly heavily multithreaded. So are most 3D programs, Omniweb, and many others. These programs will use both processors at the same time. Some other programs will only use one, and the other processor will be used for other tasks running at the same time (and there are always other tasks running).
Catfish_Man is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 03:22 PM   #7
slooksterPSV
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
Trace the traces from the RAM slots to the controller, then from the controller all the way back to the CPU, there's one way you can tell that, but seriously, it all runs on the same memory. On a multi-cpu system, 1 cpu won't handle a certain number of slots of memory, that'd just make the system sluggish. Especially if it was using the processor the memory was hooked up to the most. Nothing would honestly run that fast. OS X, would probably take 10 more seconds to load, Photoshop about 12 more seconds, and yeah just think of it like that. Like I said, you want to see it for yourself, trace the traces back and forth.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0
Old Nov 13, 2004, 03:23 PM   #8
daveL
macrumors 68020
 
daveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Montana
Quote:
Originally Posted by believo
I've heard that when working in a program, even though it's a multi-processor supported program, you are only using one processor at a time on that particular program. Is this true?

I've also heard that while the G5 dual 2.0s have 8 ram slots. Four are used for one processor and four for the other. Is this true?

thanks!
One thing's for sure, whatever your source was for the information stated above should not be viewed as authoritative ;-)
__________________
-daveL
daveL is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2004, 01:14 AM   #9
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTekGeek
i belive that one processor handles current foreground programs, and one handles system idle processes and background programs.
no
superbovine is offline   0
Old Nov 14, 2004, 02:49 AM   #10
Jaz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catfish_Man
Both of these programs are fairly heavily multithreaded. So are most 3D programs, Omniweb, and many others. These programs will use both processors at the same time. Some other programs will only use one, and the other processor will be used for other tasks running at the same time (and there are always other tasks running).
Yeah, most pro apps will be multi-threaded but you won't see it in Safari or Mail anytime soon.

The real benefit for general use will be when ALL of the OS is multi-threaded. Some parts of OS X are not yet.
__________________
Making my life easier, one point release at a time ... Shake 3.5 & Motion 1.0
Jaz is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Animating one word at a time in Powerpoint or Keynote annk Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Oct 10, 2006 11:01 PM
Compress TV DVD, one show at a time opusthe2nd Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 14, 2006 07:59 PM
Changing the Tone in Washington... One Finger at a Time mactastic Politics, Religion, Social Issues 14 Jul 28, 2005 02:25 PM
Anyone try video chatting with more than one person at a time? amin OS X 1 Aug 9, 2004 01:47 PM
Winning the war one battle at a time... Marvenp Community 4 Nov 29, 2002 11:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC