Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:28 AM   #1
ssindi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Did anyone else's iPad come with this in it?

I bought an iPad 3G from a third party seller, although the box was sealed and the plastic was still on the iPad, there was an AT&T Micro Sim already inside it!

Maybe it's AT&T's way of making sure you already have a Micro Sim to activate a data plan on it? I hope the item was in fact new as advertised and the seller didn't forget his Micro Sim in it.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
ssindi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:30 AM   #2
Sirius389
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Clifton, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssindi View Post
I bought an iPad 3G from a third party seller, although the box was sealed and the plastic was still on the iPad, there was an AT&T Micro Sim already inside it!

Maybe it's AT&T's way of making sure you already have a Micro Sim to activate a data plan on it? I hope the item was in fact new as advertised and the seller didn't forget his Micro Sim in it.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
It is there so that you can activate your data plan straightaway. Apple has included Sim cards with all the iPhones and iPads
__________________
-Nicole
Mac Mini w/8GB RAM iPhone 4 32GB iOS 5 Beta 7 iPad 2 White 16GB Wi-Fi iOS 5 Beta 7
Sirius389 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:39 AM   #3
ssindi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Haha. Ok thanks!
ssindi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:43 AM   #4
DenniZ
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Apple don't ship with sim's outside of the US I guess. Us UK people have to get given one separately.
__________________
iPad WiFi + 3G 64GB | BB 9700 | MBP 15
DenniZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:46 AM   #5
ssindi
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
I don't live in the US either, which is why that Micro Sim is going straight into the bin.
ssindi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 03:53 AM   #6
aimee25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
No free sim here in Australia. We have to go buy ours but we have a choice of 5 or 6 carriers.
aimee25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 07:51 AM   #7
Capt T
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssindi View Post
I don't live in the US either, which is why that Micro Sim is going straight into the bin.
You may want to hang on to it just in case you or someone you know ever plan to go to the US. Then you would already have it.
Capt T is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 10:09 AM   #8
Starrbuck
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Mine from Best Buy had the SIM already installed.
Starrbuck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 11:47 AM   #9
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by aimee25 View Post
No free sim here in Australia. We have to go buy ours but we have a choice of 5 or 6 carriers.
Your SIM doesn't come free from your carrier?
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:00 PM   #10
poloponies
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by darngooddesign View Post
Your SIM doesn't come free from your carrier?
As he notes, there are multiple carriers in some (many) foreign countries, ergo no included SIMs. Just us in the US.
poloponies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:27 PM   #11
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Apple officially supports 4 carriers in the UK. We don't have to pay for SIMs.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:46 PM   #12
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by poloponies View Post
As he notes, there are multiple carriers in some (many) foreign countries, ergo no included SIMs. Just us in the US.
I got that part, but what I thought was implied was a SIM cost in addition to the data plan cost.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 12:57 PM   #13
poloponies
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by darngooddesign View Post
I got that part, but what I thought was implied was a SIM cost in addition to the data plan cost.
SIMS are free or nearly so once you go with a plan.
poloponies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 04:02 PM   #14
shellbryson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh
Send a message via Skype™ to shellbryson
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssindi View Post
I don't live in the US either, which is why that Micro Sim is going straight into the bin.
When you buy an iPad through the UK Apple store, you have the option to pick a network. Apple ship a sim for that network with your iPad, but in a separate packet (at least they did with my Three sim).
__________________
Writer & web developer using 13" Retina MacBook Pro i7 SSD, Mac Mini Server i7 16Gb 2x256Gb SSD with 3Tb IcyBox, iPhone 5S 32Gb, iPad 3 3G 32Gb
shellbryson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 06:28 PM   #15
aimee25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by darngooddesign View Post
Your SIM doesn't come free from your carrier?
Nope, mine cost be ten bucks at telstra.
aimee25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 08:49 PM   #16
Ciclismo
macrumors 6502a
 
Ciclismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Munich
Vodafone NZ has announced that all iPads intended for New Zealand will come with a micro SIM.
Ciclismo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 09:12 PM   #17
aimee25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciclismo View Post
Vodafone NZ has announced that all iPads intended for New Zealand will come with a micro SIM.
Hey if you get a 3G can you let me know that the data plans are like, I have to spend a month or two down there over summer. Save me looking into it.
aimee25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 09:27 PM   #18
Ashka
macrumors 6502a
 
Ashka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Zealand
Fresh out today ~ iPads tomorrow.
http://www.vodafone.co.nz/ipad/

If you are travelling around New Zealand check out the options on Telecom XT as the coverage is better generally and especially on the iPad. XT haven't finalised their plans yet but worth checking out early August.
http://www.telecom.co.nz/mobile/mobi...lansandpricing

I am 100% mobile on a Telecom XT mobile data plan for the internet for my Mac and iPad.. (3G wireless router)
__________________
15"MBP...13"MBA...iPhone5s...iPad Air.
Ashka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 09:45 PM   #19
Ciclismo
macrumors 6502a
 
Ciclismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Munich
Quote:
Originally Posted by aimee25 View Post
Hey if you get a 3G can you let me know that the data plans are like, I have to spend a month or two down there over summer. Save me looking into it.
Alpha - $20 per month for 250MB
Extreme - $50per month for 3GB

Pretty awful though is this under terms and conditions

Quote:
Originally Posted by those cocks at Vodafone NZ in their T&Cs
3. Upon exhaustion of the data Add-On, Vodafone will disconnect access to data, unless another data Add-On is purchased.
http://help.vodafone.co.nz/app/answe...ail/a_id/11290

I dunno what Telecom is offering yet - they won't have an iPad specific plan or a micro SIM until August - but chances are that it will be about the same. The upshot is that you can probably use Telecom's hotspots too, but that has to be finalised yet. Also 2degrees, another network that is still in its infancy here in NZ, has mentioned that they will also offer an iPad specific data only plan, but they are keeping their lips shut tight about any details.

You'll want to check these three just before you come over:

www.vodafone.co.nz
www.telecom.co.nz
www.2degreesmobile.co.nz
Ciclismo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 10:51 PM   #20
aimee25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks heaps guys for all your info, you have both been really helpful. Sorry to everyone else for hijacking the thread Can't believe what you guys have to pay- even the prepaid stuff here $10 for a gig and it only gets better the more you buy.
aimee25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 05:37 AM   #21
duncyboy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just for those interested: in the UK PC World are plugging Three Mobile and give out Three micro-sims with iPads
__________________
Imagined the future, woke up with a scream, I was buying some feelings from a vending machine
duncyboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 09:01 AM   #22
tod
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio
I'd rather pay a few bucks for a SIM card but have a choice of carriers.
__________________
Tod LLC - Apps for Smart People - Limiting choices and restricting access isn't user friendliness, it's user hostility.
tod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
has anyone else's bumper come apart like this? sjn419 iPhone Accessories 13 Aug 19, 2010 05:17 PM
Is anyone else's iPad case still in Reno, NV? gmanist1000 iPad Accessories 0 Apr 7, 2010 08:12 PM
Did anyone else's iPhone 3GS just reset themself?? YankeeSR23 iPhone 7 Jul 15, 2009 12:31 AM
Did Anyone Else's MacBook Pro Come With Extra Rubber on the Hinge? MICHAELSD MacBook Pro 5 Dec 24, 2008 09:35 AM
Forget the "should I wait for an 8 core mac pro," I want one with THIS in it! BiikeMike Wasteland 2 Feb 16, 2007 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC