Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2004, 01:59 PM   #1
applekid
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Airport and Linksys router

I accidentally updated my Aiport drivers to whatever is the recent version is, so now I can't use my neighbor's Linksys wifi router (they know I'm using it ). I have another Mac in my apartment that I network over the router since the MacWireless USB Adapter I have and my Airport in this Mac are somehow incompatible.

Is there anyway I can downgrade my drivers?
applekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2004, 02:43 PM   #2
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
That's odd. I am running the latest drivers on both my iMac and my PowerBook and am able to connect to my Linksys router from both (one is Airport, one is Airport Extreme).

Without going back and doing a doing a fresh install of OS X 10.3 and then carefully re-updating everything, I don't think you can do a re-install.

I'd try resetting preferences or repairing permissions before trying to downgrade. Mostly because I know it works fine on my system with the WRT54G.
__________________
Think. Then post.
emw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2004, 01:03 AM   #3
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by applekid
I accidentally updated my Aiport drivers to whatever is the recent version is, so now I can't use my neighbor's Linksys wifi router (they know I'm using it ). I have another Mac in my apartment that I network over the router since the MacWireless USB Adapter I have and my Airport in this Mac are somehow incompatible.

Is there anyway I can downgrade my drivers?
tell your neighbor to reboot his router.
superbovine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2004, 09:52 AM   #4
jaseone
macrumors 65816
 
jaseone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, USA
Send a message via MSN to jaseone
Quote:
Originally Posted by superbovine
tell your neighbor to reboot his router.
What is with that? I've noticed the same thing on my Netgear router with my 15inc 1.5Ghz PB and my room mate's 12inch PB, every now and then AirPort can't connect and the only way to get it to connect is to reboot the router. Neither my Toshiba laptop running Gentoo Linux or my Compaq running XP has the same problem so it must be something in Apple's networking code, any idea what?
jaseone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2004, 11:51 AM   #5
applekid
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Ah, excellent. It works. Thanks.
applekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble with wireless router and Airport - Linksys router proverbs Mac Basics and Help 0 May 3, 2009 12:18 PM
Airport and Linksys Router Nauthez Mac Basics and Help 15 Feb 26, 2007 09:53 PM
help...Airport Extreme card and linksys router S. Carter Macintosh Computers 7 Nov 9, 2004 03:25 PM
help...Airport Extreme card and linksys router S. Carter General Mac Discussion 1 Nov 6, 2004 12:10 AM
Connecting PB w/Airport Extreme and Linksys Router.... gemio17 General Mac Discussion 8 Mar 18, 2004 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC