Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Old Jul 21, 2010, 09:33 AM   #1
Richardjoseph
macrumors newbie

Best DAM cataloging software for MacbookPro

Hi,

I'm a photographer with a 5000 image photo library and want to know what other members would recommend I use for DAM cataloging.

My 1st & 2nd choices would be Idimager & imatch but there for windows only or can I install them successfully using Bootcamp ?

I've heard only bad stuff about aperture & it appears as if DAM software choices are limited for Mac users - is this the case ?

I've heard good reports about imagingester - any comments ?

My library consists mainly of slides which I will first have to scan and then import onto the Mac.

Thanks RichardJoseph
Richardjoseph is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 09:58 AM   #2
Vantage Point
macrumors 65816

I am also a photographer, mostly wildlife and landscape, with closer to 50,000 images in my library. I like to keep things simple and flexible so if I make a change to different software I can find what I need quickly (recently changed from PC to Mac).

Anyway, my software is Photoshop, currently CS4 and I just use Bridge for everything. My system is based on folders that are subgrouped like a tree. So I may have one folder for Great Smoky Mountains, and within that a folder for each region of the area or for wildlife like 'bears' folder. Same with NYC which may include folders like Nightscapes, Museums (then a folder for reach museum), Bridges, Street Photography...all folders within a NYC folder.

Each of my photos will be tagged with keywords for searches like landscape, spring, sunrise, yellowstone, national park, waterfalls, lakes, fog.... So I can simply do a keyword search within a folder, group or my entire library. With this system I can find anything and if I change software my folder system still has everything organized.