Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iSamurai

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Nov 9, 2007
ɹǝpun uʍop 'ǝuɐqsı&#
Hi all :)

There's a bike rack design thing going on in my uni, so I think I should ask fellow Mac Rumours readers about parking your bikes in public places.

So... I'd like to know what elements will make a good rack design, such as the reach height (you don't want to bend over), easy access, security, placement/locations and aesthetics and so on.

I think most of you would be glad if there's a space available, so I'm also thinking on optimising the space to pack bikes efficiently. As an engineering student I'll be worrying about the manufacturing procedures, durability and cost, and some other required specifications and make sure the user gets what he/she wants in the end.

Also, are there any particular bike rack designs that you HATE? Please shout out.

Thanks a lot :)

MattSepeta

macrumors 65816
Jul 9, 2009
375th St. Y
Bike Racks

Well. One thing that always bothers me is how difficult it is to use one lock on two bikes, say, if you are with a friend who has no lock. Unless you have a cable lock.

If you could figure out a way to rack the bicycles standing upright, on one tire, that would be awesome too!

Rodimus Prime

macrumors G4
Oct 9, 2006
Well. One thing that always bothers me is how difficult it is to use one lock on two bikes, say, if you are with a friend who has no lock. Unless you have a cable lock.

If you could figure out a way to rack the bicycles standing upright, on one tire, that would be awesome too!

Not a smart friend.
Have zero faith in cable locks after a friend broke his key off in his cable lock and we had to cut it free.
It was at the end of dinner out side of one of the dinning halls on campus. We took a hack saw and proceeded to cut threw it in under 5 mins with nothing really slowing us down.