Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2002, 04:35 PM   #1
shadowfax0
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2002
Send a message via AIM to shadowfax0
Where can I get a copy of the NeXT OS?

Anyone know where I can get a copy of the NeXT OS? I kinda want to load it onto some older computers of mine, just to get a look at it, get in touch with my proto-Mac OS X roots
__________________
I might be in the gutter, but I'm looking up at the stars...
shadowfax0 is offline   0
Old Aug 17, 2002, 04:51 PM   #2
sageenos
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South Carolina
Send a message via AIM to sageenos
The Windowmaker window manager for Linux is pretty much the same exact thing.
__________________
// Sage Enos

Powerbook G4 17"
sageenos is offline   0
Old Aug 17, 2002, 05:44 PM   #3
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Try GnuStep

WindowMaker (as suggested above) is just a window manager. Whilst it can look quite a lot like NextStep it does not provide the underlying NS Objective C libraries (what is now Cocoa on OSX). GnuStep provides an open source clone of OpenStep (what NextStep was renamed as). It provided an almost complete implementation of the FoundationKit and AppKit, a NS-like window manager, a NS-like "dock", the works.

If you want/need real NextStep, try eBay and the like.
robbieduncan is offline   0
Old Aug 17, 2002, 06:08 PM   #4
rigor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Blackhole has OpenStep 4.2 with CDs for both Intel and Black Hardware. They're kind of pricey though:

http://www.blackholeinc.com/

I've got NextStep 3.2 CDs but they're for black hardware only. Make sure you know which cpu its for if you go the eBay route.
Attached Images
 
rigor is offline   0
Old Aug 17, 2002, 07:46 PM   #5
shadowfax0
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2002
Send a message via AIM to shadowfax0
So would I be able to use the OS with an old Performa? Or do I ahve to ahve the black NeXT hardware as well...?
__________________
I might be in the gutter, but I'm looking up at the stars...
shadowfax0 is offline   0
Old Aug 18, 2002, 06:46 AM   #6
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
I don't think that there was ever a version of Next that ran on Apple hardware, just the original "black" version and the latter (once it became OpenStep iirc) for Intel. You might be able to get the Black version to run on Apple hardware but I doubt it. You could pick up a dirt cheap Intel box (remember that OpenStep was around a long time ago) and run it on that. Or install fink on your apple and install GnuStep on there...
robbieduncan is offline   0
Old Aug 18, 2002, 08:15 AM   #7
alex_ant
Banned
 
alex_ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: All up in your bidness
If you decide to get OpenStep for Intel, try to run it on a computer of similar vintage. I doubt OpenStep would run on modern x86 machines with their AGP and USB etc. technologies that weren't around when OpenStep was.

I don't believe there was ever a PowerPC version of Next/Openstep, so that rules out running it on a Mac. If you want to be really obscure, you could get an old SPARC workstation.
alex_ant is offline   0
Old Aug 18, 2002, 02:29 PM   #8
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Isn't Rhapsody as close as you can get on the mac?

Especially if he wants to stick with trying on a Mac.

Can't remember the server software product name that got you close ... big differences though between the OS X Server v1.2 and OS X v10.2
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Aug 18, 2002, 03:14 PM   #9
porovaara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: sf
Email me if you want a copy of openstep 4.2.
porovaara is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy cloud backup (from copy.com) and CPU usage PeterSmith Mac Basics and Help 2 May 21, 2014 07:46 AM
CD copy downtownjudyebr Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Dec 27, 2012 03:29 PM
Can't get my copy Tritons OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 25, 2012 10:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC