Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2004, 08:27 AM   #1
raulapeno
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
G4 mac Dual Monitors? How?

I have a G4 I bought in 2000 and want to have dual monitors for video editing. How do I do it? Do I need to buy a special card, or is my mac already capable?
raulapeno is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 08:28 AM   #2
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
It's hard for anyone to say if your Mac can already support dual screens when you give no information! What graphics card does your Mac have?
__________________

Last edited by edesignuk; Nov 15, 2004 at 08:32 AM.
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 08:48 AM   #3
raulapeno
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
I've got no clue. I'm a new mac user...I've added nothing to the tower, it's all stock.
raulapeno is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 09:33 AM   #4
caveman_uk
Guest
 
caveman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hitchin, Herts, UK
OK....what sort of tower is it? If it's a recent G4 or G5 tower it will most likely have a video card with two outputs on it. A DVI output and a ADC output. Also in the box should be a ADC->DVI adaptor. With these you can use two DVI TFT monitors. Alternatively with a DVI->ADC adaptor (extra cash) you could run two of Apples' old TFT monitors. (The old ones were ADC, the new ones are DVI). Or if you get hold of some DVI->VGA adaptors you could run two VGA monitors. The last option is not as good as the image quality is better with digital outputs-VGA is analog

EDIT: Having just checked the 2000 powermacs most likely it's one of these

PCI Graphics
or these
Gigabit Ethernet

If it's a gigabit ethernet it has DVI and ADC connectors. If it's a PCI graphics it's VGA only. Both have quite low spec G4 processors so you may like to consider a processor upgrade if you're going to be doing any serious video editing

Last edited by caveman_uk; Nov 15, 2004 at 09:39 AM.
caveman_uk is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 09:58 AM   #5
raulapeno
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
that makes sense looking at my tower I see what you mean.

thanks caveman,
raulapeno is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 01:46 PM   #6
caveman_uk
Guest
 
caveman_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hitchin, Herts, UK
Or it could be an AGP Graphics model. Sorry I missed that one.

Sadly all three models look pretty similar. So look at the graphics card outputs. The PCI graphics has VGA, the AGP has VGA and DVI and the gigabit has DVI and ADC.

If you aren't sure what you're looking at on the graphics cards - a VGA socket is female D-shaped.. Both ADC and DVI are male and long thin connectors.
caveman_uk is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitors with 2012 Mac Mini JamesTheFish Mac mini 18 Sep 25, 2014 08:23 PM
Connecting mac and pc to dual monitors minneola24 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 30, 2013 07:40 AM
Mac Mini with dual monitors help jerkstore99 Mac mini 4 Aug 23, 2013 04:01 AM
Mac Mini Dual Monitors JWalker1995 Mac mini 4 May 29, 2013 04:08 PM
Mac Mini - Dual 4:3 monitors gabicava83 Mac mini 11 Jan 5, 2013 05:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC