Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2004, 03:46 PM   #1
jaw04005
macrumors 601
 
jaw04005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AR
Hub vs. Switch vs. Router?

I have an Airport Extreme Base Station, and I need to add LAN ports so that I can network my old PC, my iMac FP, and my iMac DV together. Do I need a hub, router, or switch?
jaw04005 is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 03:48 PM   #2
stoid
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
You should be able to use a hub, because the Airport Base Station is already a router. However, either a router or a switch would also work if you can get one cheaper than the hub.
stoid is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 03:48 PM   #3
kgarner
macrumors 68000
 
kgarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah
The AirPort Base Station should function as a router for you in this situation. I would just get a switch as they are a smarter version of a hub and generally less expensive than another router (which you don't need).
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad | Mini 1.42 G4 (running as HTPC)
digitalsandbox.net
"Monkeys are like bacon. They improve just about anything." -Andy Ihnatko
kgarner is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2004, 04:08 PM   #4
Cuckoo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Netherlands - Utrecht
Hi,

Well, first of all, you don't need a router, you've already got that.

So you either need a switch or a hub. In function they are the same, so you can't miss. A switch is faster than a hub (even a 100mbit switch is faster than a 100mbit hub).

Hubs are a bit 'oldish' in technology, but there is no reason to reject them for that reason since they do everything they need to do.

Although i wander if you can still find a hub, it's totally up to you.

(performance difference is hard to say, but i'd expect it to be like 5-10%, but is very dependant on what kind of data you transfer and the number of simultanious active nodes)

Hope that helps a bit.

Cuckoo
__________________
Man goes to the zoo ... but when he arrives there is only a dog ...
.. it's a shitzu ...
Cuckoo is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Applescript activation switch? wrignj08 Mac Programming 5 Jun 21, 2011 10:19 AM
Zuni Connect Travel Router / Charging Station wasabinuki iPad Accessories 0 May 25, 2011 01:28 PM
ultraportable router for MBA anand.rohira MacBook Air 8 Feb 24, 2011 08:52 PM
Router Vs. Switch camilletom Mac Peripherals 20 Jun 2, 2010 10:20 AM
hub vs router PlaceofDis Macintosh Computers 11 Feb 18, 2004 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC