Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2010, 11:47 AM   #1
DanielDMB
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
BOOTCAMP - Disk Error - Press Any Key to Restart

Okay so this has been giving me problems for the past hour or two..

I just did a fresh install of Mac OSX 10.5.8 Leopard, and started bootcamp. I have a brand new copy of Windows XP Professional with SP2 so that shouldn't be a problem..

Well, I get all the way to windows being installed and it restarting, but once it restarts it says "Press any key to boot from CD" then four seconds later "Disk error, press any key to restart."

Obviously any key doesn't work.

Now I am aware that this is a formatting error. It should be formatting with NTFS but instead it formats with FAT32 and does NOT give me that option to change the formatting process.

I can't really go out and get another copy of XP, because let's face it. This isn't cheap stuff we're dealing with.

If you have a solution, it's well appreciated! Thanks in advance!!
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:01 PM   #2
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Bump. Still looking for help :S
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:12 PM   #3
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
So you're looking to reinstall Windows. Start up the computer with the Windows XP disc inserted then press and hold the OPTION/ALT key until you get to the boot menu. From there select the Windows XP disc and you should get back into the installer.

There is an option in the installer to format to NTFS or FAT32. My guess is that you just installed on the Bootcamp partition which is why you're getting the error.
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:14 PM   #4
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hoping your still here on the thread with me, I'm desperate for help and appreciate your response.

Yes, I can go back into booting windows, but it skips allowing me to choose formatting.

It automatically formats with FAT32 and then gives me Disk Error.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:16 PM   #5
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I think it would be best to just start from scratch. I'm hoping that the rest of your system is still good. What I suggest you do is go back into OS X, run Bootcamp Assistant again and remove the Bootcamp partition and then recreate it.

After the partition has been created, boot off the Windows XP disc and I guess the first real screen with options should allow you to format the partition. Select the Bootcamp partition that was created and then it will ask you to select the file system. The one you want to select is "Format the file system using the NTFS file system <quick>"
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:18 PM   #6
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I've removed it, and partitioned again (I've tried using 29GB partition because I've read that FAT32 won't partition anything over 32GB but still got the Disk Error)

Any other solutions? I've tried removing the partition, re-partitioning and re installing windows maybe three or four times.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:24 PM   #7
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Sorry, I'm a little confused now. If you're able to get into the Windows installer, follow my steps to see if you might have skipped something. If you're not able to get into the installer, we might have to be looking at external problems.

This might be of some help to you:

http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/...Setup_10.6.pdf
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:27 PM   #8
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLog.Genius View Post
Sorry, I'm a little confused now. If you're able to get into the Windows installer, follow my steps to see if you might have skipped something. If you're not able to get into the installer, we might have to be looking at external problems.
Haha, I've been confused too

Okay, I'm able to get to the windows installer and actually install XP. After XP installs it reboots my computer and then goes to a black screen and says:

"Press Any Key to Boot from CD...."

Four seconds later it then says:

"Disk Error. Press any key to restart."

If I'm fast before it says Disk Error I can boot from the CD again but it brings me back to the Windows XP installation.

Once it says "Disk Error Press Any Key to Restart" it does NOT allow any key to restart I have to actually hold the start button down.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:32 PM   #9
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Ok, it's definitely a formatting error - you didn't format the partition.

You're going to have to reinstall Windows again. What you need to do is turn on your computer then press and hold the Option key down to boot back into the Windows installer (this will allow you to surely boot off the disc, no timing is required).

Once you're in, follow my instructions few posts up or click on the link I provided and that should get Windows installed correctly. This problem happens to many people and it's simply a formatting miscue when installing Windows.
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:35 PM   #10
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Okay, problem though is that it doesn't ask me to format.. If it did I'd choose NTFS.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:47 PM   #11
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Do you see these two screens?

[IMG]

[IMG]
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:48 PM   #12
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLog.Genius View Post
Do you see these two screens?

[IMG]

[IMG]
I saw the first one, but not the second one.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:57 PM   #13
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Ok. I haven't installed Windows in a while so hang with me. On the first screen, could you not delete the Bootcamp partition and then recreate it in the installer? I would think if you did it this way, it would then ask you which format you want the partition to be created.
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 12:57 PM   #14
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Let me try that. Back in a few.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:14 PM   #15
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Okay, so I went into Bootcamp did everything normally but when it asked me where to install XP I did what you said, deleting the partition that bootcamp created, but there was no-where else to install XP afterwards.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:18 PM   #16
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
You should now have unpartitioned space. You need to repartition that space and format it to NTFS by pressing C
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:20 PM   #17
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Alright I'll go try that now.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:38 PM   #18
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Alright Windows installed, and I didn't get the Disk Error. It then gave me another black screen with this:

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
<Windows root>\system32\hal.dll.

Seems like one thing after another.

How do I fix this now?

By the way, I REALLY appreciate the help that you've given me so far!!

Last edited by DanielDMB; Jul 25, 2010 at 01:43 PM.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:44 PM   #19
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Weird you're having all these problems.

Check out this link for help on your error:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314477
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:49 PM   #20
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLog.Genius View Post
Weird you're having all these problems.

Check out this link for help on your error:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314477
Yeah no kidding. Luckily your method for the partition worked and now I don't have the Disk Error anymore. Now I just have to deal with this Hal.dll.

Do you know how to fix this? The link pretty much told me what I was figuring - Re-installing windows again and seeing if that works.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 01:51 PM   #21
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
By the way, not sure if it makes a difference but when I was choosing what to format with, I chose the NTFS (quick).

Should I have chosen the other one which wasn't the (quick)?
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 02:49 PM   #22
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
No it doesn't matter. Either option works. You can try to re-install again and if it's the same problem, my guess is that something is wrong with the install disc.
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 09:44 PM   #23
hypermog
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Are you installing a disc that is embedded with service pack 3? It might have a hard time reading the SATA drives in the macbook if it doesn't.
hypermog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2010, 11:50 AM   #24
DanielDMB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypermog View Post
Are you installing a disc that is embedded with service pack 3? It might have a hard time reading the SATA drives in the macbook if it doesn't.
No, it's a Legal copy of Windows XP Professional 2002 with Service Pack 2. Basically just what Apple says it's supposed to be.

I've actually installed Parallels desktop (trial) and tried it out. Great program, minus the fact that I can't do one of the things I originally wanted to do with bootcamp.

That's PC Gaming So I guess I'm back to trying to work out bootcamp.
DanielDMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2010, 11:56 AM   #25
iLog.Genius
macrumors 68040
 
iLog.Genius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Did you try to reinstall Windows and see if you still get the same error?
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Blue 500GB HDD, GeForce 9400M + 9600M GT
iPad with Retina Display
iPhone 5S
iLog.Genius is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Late 2012 imac bootcamp error"Non system disk, press any key to reboot" schrobro08 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 9 May 5, 2014 01:15 AM
no bootable device insert boot disk and press any key dannyhv Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Feb 16, 2014 07:18 AM
No Bootable Device -- Insert Boot Disk And Press Any Key 53kyle Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Jul 24, 2013 12:51 PM
Bootcamp after reboot i have non-system disk press any key to reboot vigorito MacBook Pro 2 Mar 11, 2013 11:25 PM
No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key. nkllr Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 27, 2012 09:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC