Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 27, 2010, 01:18 AM   #1
Dsync
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Access locally hosted website??

I am trying to host my iWeb site from my home computer. My question is what would the address be? (So that I can register it under a domain) I know it would be something to do with my IP, but I'm a little lost =)
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 07:48 AM   #2
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
It would either be your IP address, or if you have a router, then it would be the IP of the router. Then if you have a router, the router would need to be configured to forward port 80 to your machine. Configuration will depend on your specific router, but you can use the manual to look up how to do so. There's also plenty of tutorials online for any additional setup.

Be aware that most ISP (internet service providers) hand out temporary IP addresses so you'll need to update that information for the domain name each time it changes. Alternatively you would need to setup something like DynDNS to keep track of that information.
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 01:18 PM   #3
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
I have DynDns installed and working and I have forwarded port 80 to my system. Now I don't know what to do from here. Where do I place my index.html file??? I need to be able to type in the domain that dyndns gave me and have it pull up my website

If it helps any, here is the information about my setup:
My home server is a vista premium desktop running without a monitor via a VNC client. (I access it from my mac) Here are the specs:
Intel Quad at about 2.33Ghz
8GB RAM
A few large HDDs
Wired direct with ethernet to my router
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 01:40 PM   #4
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Google is where you need to go. There's plenty of tutorials around.
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 04:08 PM   #5
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
I never bother with IP services. I've had the same IP for 3 years under Comcast. I just set up a domain and point it to my router, set the router to pass port 80 (and whatever other ports, like for ARD) to your machine. If you're using non-server SW, just put the index.html file in your USERS > NAME > Sites folder. Otherwise with OS X server add it to Library >WebServer > Documents.
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 04:28 PM   #6
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Les Kern View Post
I never bother with IP services. I've had the same IP for 3 years under Comcast. I just set up a domain and point it to my router, set the router to pass port 80 (and whatever other ports, like for ARD) to your machine. If you're using non-server SW, just put the index.html file in your USERS > NAME > Sites folder. Otherwise with OS X server add it to Library >WebServer > Documents.
Thanks so much for your respose! I have a few follow up questions:

1st: I don't have any "Sites" folder in my users folder. What should I do to fix that?

2nd: Can I put the site files in another directory of my choosing and make the port forward to that? I would really like to be able to do that

3rd: I read somewhere else that I needed IIS installed and working in vista. I have no idea what that is for or how to use it. Do I even need it?
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 05:38 PM   #7
BertyBoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsync View Post
Thanks so much for your respose! I have a few follow up questions:

1st: I don't have any "Sites" folder in my users folder. What should I do to fix that?

2nd: Can I put the site files in another directory of my choosing and make the port forward to that? I would really like to be able to do that

3rd: I read somewhere else that I needed IIS installed and working in vista. I have no idea what that is for or how to use it. Do I even need it?
1st - then use /Library/WebServer/Documents, it's a much better option anyway.

2nd - you can put the files anywhere you want, but you'll need to change the /etc/httpd/httpd.conf config file to let it know where to look. Be careful, everything below this in the directory hierarchy will be accessible to everyone on the web.

3rd - Everything you need is already installed and running in Mac OS X, although you really should be looking to learning how to update your Apache version, and maybe PHP and MySQL also.

You also mentioned earlier about being able to access the website from either the same computer or another computer on your home network. You may have said that you wanted to just type the URL in to access it. Ain't going to happen, that way anyway. But you can access it by using the Mac's "Computer Name" (as set in Sharing System Pref), ie. http://henrysimac.local/

Don't even think of doing this from a laptop, nor from a Mac that you aren't prepared to leave up and running 24/7.
BertyBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2010, 08:09 PM   #8
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertyBoy View Post
1st - then use /Library/WebServer/Documents, it's a much better option anyway.

2nd - you can put the files anywhere you want, but you'll need to change the /etc/httpd/httpd.conf config file to let it know where to look. Be careful, everything below this in the directory hierarchy will be accessible to everyone on the web.

3rd - Everything you need is already installed and running in Mac OS X, although you really should be looking to learning how to update your Apache version, and maybe PHP and MySQL also.

You also mentioned earlier about being able to access the website from either the same computer or another computer on your home network. You may have said that you wanted to just type the URL in to access it. Ain't going to happen, that way anyway. But you can access it by using the Mac's "Computer Name" (as set in Sharing System Pref), ie. http://henrysimac.local/

Don't even think of doing this from a laptop, nor from a Mac that you aren't prepared to leave up and running 24/7.
1st - I need to do this on the vista based home server I talked about earlier. What directory do I use in that case?

2nd - I have no clue what you were talking about there! But it sounded like a mac thing. Remember, I need this for vista

3rd - I don't have a mac to leave on 24/7. That is what my vista system is for. Any idea how to make this work?

(P.S. I am already able to access my site from other computers in my network, I am looking to be able to give out a domain name and have others view my content from anywhere)
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2010, 06:36 AM   #9
Ap0ks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Try http://www.wampserver.com/en/ if you're looking to get a web server setup on your Vista machine quickly and easily.
Ap0ks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 01:07 AM   #10
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Ok, great! I have wamp server up and running! My site is in place and when I go to localhost, it pulls it right up! However... when I go to my external router ip, nothing happens!! I have forwarded port 80 to my server, so I don't know whats wrong! Thanks for helping!
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 02:25 AM   #11
timbloom
macrumors 6502a
 
timbloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsync View Post
Ok, great! I have wamp server up and running! My site is in place and when I go to localhost, it pulls it right up! However... when I go to my external router ip, nothing happens!! I have forwarded port 80 to my server, so I don't know whats wrong! Thanks for helping!
I setup many servers in the course of my job, so I may be able to help a bit.

If you type in your router IP from your computer on the internal network, you're not going to hit the web site with most routers. Most of them aren't smart enough to redirect internal traffic back internally with that type of request. You'll need to use the internal IP address of the server internally to access the page short of having a local DNS server, something that you probably won't want to learn how to do. So don't think anything's wrong from your setup just because it's not coming up how you expect.

BE WARNED: Most ISPs block you from hosting websites or email servers on a standard residential connection. These are restricted for 2 reasons: 1. To reduce the spread of viruses, spam, and botnets. 2. To keep people from hosting sites without paying a premium. So when all this is done and setup correctly it still may not work as your ISP may be blocking it from the world.

What I really do suggest is going with a hosting service like GoDaddy or one of the many other great services out there that cost very little. Of course, this is only if you need the site accessible to the world, otherwise ignore my comment altogether.
timbloom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 02:34 AM   #12
timbloom
macrumors 6502a
 
timbloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Les Kern View Post
I never bother with IP services. I've had the same IP for 3 years under Comcast. I just set up a domain and point it to my router, set the router to pass port 80 (and whatever other ports, like for ARD) to your machine. If you're using non-server SW, just put the index.html file in your USERS > NAME > Sites folder. Otherwise with OS X server add it to Library >WebServer > Documents.
You're lucky. Some services change IPs frequently, others don't. Either way you'll never know when it's going to to change. Static IPs are an option for most internet providers, for a price. DynDNS is probably the best option just to be safe since it's free.
timbloom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 02:38 PM   #13
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by timbloom View Post
I setup many servers in the course of my job, so I may be able to help a bit.

If you type in your router IP from your computer on the internal network, you're not going to hit the web site with most routers. Most of them aren't smart enough to redirect internal traffic back internally with that type of request. You'll need to use the internal IP address of the server internally to access the page short of having a local DNS server, something that you probably won't want to learn how to do. So don't think anything's wrong from your setup just because it's not coming up how you expect.

BE WARNED: Most ISPs block you from hosting websites or email servers on a standard residential connection. These are restricted for 2 reasons: 1. To reduce the spread of viruses, spam, and botnets. 2. To keep people from hosting sites without paying a premium. So when all this is done and setup correctly it still may not work as your ISP may be blocking it from the world.

What I really do suggest is going with a hosting service like GoDaddy or one of the many other great services out there that cost very little. Of course, this is only if you need the site accessible to the world, otherwise ignore my comment altogether.
So what you are saying is that I would need to go outside my network and then put in my external IP? And if that doesn't work, it is my ISP? I will try it and let y'all know how it turns out!
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 03:21 PM   #14
Ap0ks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
You're more than welcome to PM me your DynDNS address and I'll let you know what I see, if you don't have immediate access to an external network.
Ap0ks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2010, 07:58 PM   #15
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
ok, so I got on another network and put in my dns address. It brought up the regular "could not display the webpage" that IE8 always brings up. Any ideas on what could be stopping it?

Thanks again for all the help!!!
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 01:01 AM   #16
timbloom
macrumors 6502a
 
timbloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsync View Post
ok, so I got on another network and put in my dns address. It brought up the regular "could not display the webpage" that IE8 always brings up. Any ideas on what could be stopping it?

Thanks again for all the help!!!
Could be a lot of things, but the first thing to check would be if your ISP is blocking port 80. Who is your ISP?
timbloom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 02:48 AM   #17
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by timbloom View Post
Could be a lot of things, but the first thing to check would be if your ISP is blocking port 80. Who is your ISP?
I have ATT DSL. My router is supplied by them as well. It let me go in and forward port 80 to my server. I doubt that it would let me do that if ATT wanted to block it! (Since the router is from them!)
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 10:25 AM   #18
timbloom
macrumors 6502a
 
timbloom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsync View Post
I have ATT DSL. My router is supplied by them as well. It let me go in and forward port 80 to my server. I doubt that it would let me do that if ATT wanted to block it! (Since the router is from them!)
I do believe they block port 80, As I had to lift my blocks on U-Verse when i switched to it.

Give this site a shot: http://www.canyouseeme.org/ Now this won't differentiate between a blocked port and a misconfiguration. A quick call to ATT support should clear things up.
timbloom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 10:42 AM   #19
Ap0ks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsync View Post
I have ATT DSL. My router is supplied by them as well. It let me go in and forward port 80 to my server. I doubt that it would let me do that if ATT wanted to block it! (Since the router is from them!)
Makes no difference they would block it at their end, rather than on your router. If possible try setting your webserver to a different port (8080 might work), and try forwarding to it from DynDNS if their service allows it.

Or as timbloom said call ATT and see if they will remove the block.
Ap0ks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 04:17 PM   #20
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
I will definitely call ATT and see if they can lift it. Do you know if comcast blocks it??? I am strongly considering switching due to the slow DSL speeds!
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2010, 04:48 PM   #21
Dsync
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Well, I think I will end up switching services! I contacted ATT and they said it WAS blocked and that they would not open it up unless I sign up for their expensive business package! Does anyone know if comcast blocks port 80??
__________________
3.4Ghz i7 Quad iMac, 16GB Ram, SSD+HDD, 1GB 6970M, (2011)
2.53Ghz MBP, 8GB Ram, 750GB HDD; Verizon i4
Final Cut Pro 7+X; Logic Pro; Aperture; Adobe CS5 Production Edition
Dsync is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Access Same Website Locally and Non-locally? fastpurplemedia Web Design and Development 3 May 30, 2013 09:10 PM
Cannot Access a Website jisaac Web Design and Development 11 Apr 11, 2013 07:18 AM
This file server is available on your computer, access the files and volumes locally mrshultz OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Mar 7, 2013 09:22 AM
All iPads: Store music locally in iPad, still provide access to iTunes Match Cubytus iPad 28 Feb 21, 2013 11:57 AM
locally hosted web server Static IP address cost v dynamic DNS cost? infobleep Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 6 Aug 4, 2012 11:31 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC