Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:02 AM   #51
Hitchophilia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Lack of USB 3.0 is a deal breaker.

I knew intel wouldn't support it until '11 but there was always hope Apple got in early.

Firewire 800 and USB 2.0 I/O? Jesus, it's a long way to October '11 Apple.
__________________
"For no one knows the date or time of the Mac Pro's return, not the developers or the engineers, but only St. Jobs in Heaven." - dgookin 19/7/10 10:54 AM
Hitchophilia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:02 AM   #52
Kristenn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
How are these prices steep? Apple always has the best AIOs money can buy. For $2100 you can get a core i7 @2.8 GHz (Not intel Core 2 Quad!) 4GB DDR3 RAM (not DDR2, DDR3!) and a 500 series ATi with 1GB (over a older gen Nvidia 1GB)

I don't see other companies offering this just yet in AIOs. People need to quit comparing Desktop Tower prices to AIO desktop prices. It doesn't work. Okay, so the sony has a 21 inch TOUCHSCREEN for the same price as the high end iMac but it's 24 inches NOT 27.

I guess nobody will ever be happy =/
__________________
Things that annoy me on Mac Rumors.
People who say MAC (Media Access Control) when they mean Mac (Macintosh)
People who say Mac osx (Mac OS Ex) when it should be Mac OS X (Mac OS "Ten")
Kristenn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:02 AM   #53
killmoms
macrumors 68040
 
killmoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Send a message via AIM to killmoms Send a message via Yahoo to killmoms
The SSD + hard drive option is tempting, but I’d only want an Intel X-25 80GB in there for OS and apps, and keep my home folder on the HDD. Too bad Apple’s only option is a $600 256GB SSD. I wonder if the 2.5” bay will be user-accessible after the fact. I don’t like the idea of opening up and operating on an iMac (dust, screen, etc.), but to save $600? I might be convinced.
__________________
thrillmoms.com - You know it.
Welcome to the family…
Mugi: Mid-2012 15" Retina MBP, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Azusa: 64GB iPhone 5, Nagato: 16GB WiFi Retina iPad Mini
killmoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:03 AM   #54
MacQuest
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: You See Dead People...
Send a message via AIM to MacQuest Send a message via Yahoo to MacQuest
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLew715 View Post
Wow, i know this wasn't expected to be a major update, but God forbid Apple would come up with a new design! I've been waiting literally six years for a design that wasn't just a computer-in-a-monitor. Another year, another disappointment. Did they fire all the guys who did the iMac G4?
LOL!

Why would Apple change the all in one design that windows pc manufacturers are all just now starting to copy? Sony, Gateway, Acer, MSI, etc.

HP TouchSmart has been out for a couple of years now but is still relatively new compared to the original G5 iMac design from 5+ years ago.
__________________
ROFLMAO
Sep 1, 2007, 12:27 AM: "You really are quite hooked on this new and great multitouch. ... So please tell me what are the benefits of the multitouch screen in iPhone[?]"
FAIL meets EPIC.
MacQuest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:03 AM   #55
ModestForumName
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
oh man. 2.93GHz Westmere processors. I love you apple. standard at 6gb RAM. And the new iMacs getting the whole Core iX treatment. I can't wait to start playing Starcraft II on one of these bad boys and hopefully The Old Republic
__________________
13" MBA 512GB Flash, 2.0GHz Core i7, 8GB RAM, 2TB Time Capsule
iPhone 5 16GB
Apple TV 3
ModestForumName is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:05 AM   #56
pmz
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliensporebomb View Post
A lot of us iMac 27" owners are already using SSD drives behind that big pane.

For me, my thing was ram. I'm four gigs beyond my G5's 8 gigs now:



I still have 4 gigs to go...

I guess for me the things I'll feel a little whiny about is the faster CPU and the better graphics card but I've had this thing for almost a month now so I think it's beyond the point of taking it back and it's been far more Mac than I expected it to be. No problem.
What kind of daily work are you doing with that iMac? Just wondering, that's a lot of RAM.
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:05 AM   #57
bearcats087
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
ehh no cinema display yet...
__________________
16gb iPhone 5s
15 in rMBP late 2013 base
bearcats087 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:05 AM   #58
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Apple really doesn't want to use Intel graphics at all. That's why they're all ATI.

I just don't know how I feel about the iMac having i3s across the line except for the top.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
Warbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:06 AM   #59
InBetweenBlueXO
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
[redacted]

Last edited by InBetweenBlueXO; Oct 10, 2011 at 11:41 PM.
InBetweenBlueXO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:07 AM   #60
REM314
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
The GPU in the top end iMac will have trouble running games at native resolution and with high graphics options. That GPU should be in the 21'' version.
REM314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:07 AM   #61
jhende7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
I am dissapoint :(

Apple needs to get it's act together with the iMac GPUs. It pisses me off I have to get a bohemeth 27 inch monster just to get the ATI 5750, which is still a mediocre card. If I want a 21.5' I'm stuck with a 5670 at best.

Really wanted to drop the cash on a 21.5" to play SC 2, but the 5670 just won't run that game at 1080P with Ultra settings.
jhende7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:07 AM   #62
MorphingDragon
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The World Inbetween
Send a message via Skype™ to MorphingDragon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella View Post
Wow - only i3s - apart from the highest end. I was expecting i5s at least in all.


No Mac Pros.. still.

Are the ATI Radeon HD 5670 any good for games? Did apple up the graphic cards due to Steam?
The 5670 is ATI's midrange offering. It will play anything you throw at it, just not on the highest settings.
MorphingDragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:08 AM   #63
pmz
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 xx View Post
I'm not excited about this update.

1. No MacPro
2. Why can't Apple use Intel's 6-core processor in their iMac? 4-core is old.
3. No new iLife as speculated
4. No new LED display
5. iMac's memory still too expensive.
1. Yes new MacPro. Try reading.
2. It's an iMac. Who cares.
3. No idea what you're talking about. It's speculated to be released Aug. 7th. is that today?
4. Never any indication otherwise.
5. Get it from crucial like the rest of world.
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:08 AM   #64
iMacmatician
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 xx View Post
2. Why can't Apple use Intel's 6-core processor in their iMac? 4-core is old.
Heat and price.
__________________
"There is no 5.5" iPhone." - 1080p
"iPhone 6 Plus has a resolution of 1920 by 1080" - Apple
iMacmatician is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:08 AM   #65
opeter
macrumors 6502a
 
opeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia (EU)
Does the i3 have HT? I mean, are these i3 have virtually 4 cores?
Thanks for answers.
__________________
My cartoon hero: www.dangermouse.org
opeter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:09 AM   #66
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maserati7200 View Post
Check the Mac Pro page... it says it has 6/12 cores now... they just didnt post the story yet
Its not listed on Apple Canada Store... neither is the new display.
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.
Stella is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:09 AM   #67
peakchua
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
isisnt the 5750 slower than the 4850 or is it the desktop version
peakchua is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:09 AM   #68
pmz
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhende7 View Post
Apple needs to get it's act together with the iMac GPUs. It pisses me off I have to get a bohemeth 27 inch monster just to get the ATI 5750, which is still a mediocre card. If I want a 21.5' I'm stuck with a 5670 at best.

Really wanted to drop the cash on a 21.5" to play SC 2, but the 5670 just won't run that game at 1080P with Ultra settings.
What is SC 2 and how old are you?

iMacs, despite being good at most games, are not for little kids playing mind-wasting computer games.
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:10 AM   #69
Aegelward
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
To be honest i was hoping them to shift the i5 quad into the base iMac 27"

And have the i7 as the default for the high end.

Not a bad upgrade, but could do better...
Aegelward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:10 AM   #70
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 xx View Post
I'm not excited about this update.

1. No MacPro
2. Why can't Apple use Intel's 6-core processor in their iMac? 4-core is old.
3. No new iLife as speculated
4. No new LED display
5. iMac's memory still too expensive.
Uh ? MacPro coming August. New LED Display coming soon, iLife was speculated for August and the 6 cores are Xeon processors, not something you want in a consumer machine.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:10 AM   #71
MorphingDragon
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The World Inbetween
Send a message via Skype™ to MorphingDragon
Quote:
Originally Posted by peakchua View Post
isisnt the 5750 slower than the 4850 or is it the desktop version
5750 is faster than a 4850. Mobile or not.
MorphingDragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:10 AM   #72
iMacmatician
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by opeter View Post
Does the i3 have HT? I mean, are these i3 have virtually 4 cores?
Thanks for answers.
Yes it does.
__________________
"There is no 5.5" iPhone." - 1080p
"iPhone 6 Plus has a resolution of 1920 by 1080" - Apple
iMacmatician is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:11 AM   #73
aliensporebomb
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
Send a message via AIM to aliensporebomb Send a message via Yahoo to aliensporebomb Send a message via Skype™ to aliensporebomb
Because

Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 xx View Post
I'm not excited about this update.

1. No MacPro
2. Why can't Apple use Intel's 6-core processor in their iMac? 4-core is old.
3. No new iLife as speculated
4. No new LED display
5. iMac's memory still too expensive.
The 6-core processor is the 32 nanometer Corei7 extreme.
That's a thousand dollar chip right there.
Local Microcenter sells them for $999 a pop.

My machine geekbenches close to the entry level Mac Pro as it is.
Apple will not cannabalize sales on the Mac Pros even if the i7 mac is darn capable.
An i7 extreme iMac 27 would be a wrecking machine.
As it is I often am running with 8-faux cores on the i7 since so much software is multithreaded.
An i7 extreme Imac 27 would be 6 real cores and 6 virtual - amazing performance for a "consumer desktop."

If in the future that chip were to become available cheaply I'd give it a shot in this machine once it goes out of warranty. Why not?


Yes, they are LED displays, they all have been since the last refresh.

Don't buy Apple memory. I expanded my iMac to 12 gigs for around $200 USD.
__________________
ASB Music Web is at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/
"This is Aliensporebomb" (a soundtrack with no film) is available at http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/thi...mb/id391880218

Last edited by aliensporebomb; Jul 27, 2010 at 08:30 AM.
aliensporebomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:11 AM   #74
TMar
macrumors 68000
 
TMar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ky
Send a message via Yahoo to TMar Send a message via Skype™ to TMar
Quote:
Originally Posted by killmoms View Post
The SSD + hard drive option is tempting, but I’d only want an Intel X-25 80GB in there for OS and apps, and keep my home folder on the HDD. Too bad Apple’s only option is a $600 256GB SSD. I wonder if the 2.5” bay will be user-accessible after the fact. I don’t like the idea of opening up and operating on an iMac (dust, screen, etc.), but to save $600? I might be convinced.
Your the second person to mention this price but it shows $750 for me...
TMar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2010, 08:12 AM   #75
smiddlehurst
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Okay, here's what I don't get... doing a quick price check between US and UK prices on the top end iMac we're back to the usual 8 - 10% increase which is more or less what you expect as we're a more expensive country to trade in. No problem there and no complaints. So how come the Mac Mini still has that 20%+ markup? It just doesn't make sense and considering that the base iMac is only £350 more for a better processor, double the RAM, 1/3rd more Hard Disk space, better graphics card, wireless keyboard and mouse AND a 21.5" monitor it's very hard to recommend one. Really wish Apple would sort that out.

Other than that, nice update all ways round, especialy as the lack of shiny new cases for the Mac Pro might stop some of my users from breaking down the door demanding updates they have no use for.
smiddlehurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Cards in iMacs. BenFromPerth23 Buying Tips and Advice 8 Oct 9, 2013 08:31 AM
What would be a nice graphics card update from an ATI Radeon HD5870? chrono1081 Mac Pro 9 Jul 8, 2013 04:33 PM
Ati Radeon 5870 upgraded to Ati radeon 6950 dtechlogic Mac Pro 6 Dec 8, 2012 10:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC