Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2010, 01:27 AM   #26
chembox
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Experimented with this a little more, I found out that the status bar is a ~60% opacity black bar, and the bottom portion has a shadow-like gradient.

I added a 40px black bar layer with 60% opacity that stayed at the top of the document, and made changes accordingly beneath it. The tricky part is the shadow at the bottom, but I impressively managed to make the illusion. It looks much more invisible on the iPhone than on a desktop:



Thumb resize.
chembox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 02:04 AM   #27
UCLAKoolman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chembox View Post
Experimented with this a little more, I found out that the status bar is a ~60% opacity black bar, and the bottom portion has a shadow-like gradient.

I added a 40px black bar layer with 60% opacity that stayed at the top of the document, and made changes accordingly beneath it. The tricky part is the shadow at the bottom, but I impressively managed to make the illusion. It looks much more invisible on the iPhone than on a desktop:



Thumb resize.
Thanks for the px details. I'll give this a try in Photoshop later.
UCLAKoolman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 03:40 AM   #28
TechIsCool
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I got board as hell tonight and wrote this in php let me know what you all think take a url that is not a attachment on these forums and paste it there then just copy the picture and email yourself the link or click the Email Link button...

iPhone Transparent Bar

Please let me know what you think about it
TechIsCool is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 03:54 AM   #29
iSaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
iSaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: WVU
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechIsCool View Post
I got board as hell tonight and wrote this in php let me know what you all think take a url that is not a attachment on these forums and paste it there then just copy the picture and email yourself the link or click the Email Link button...

iPhone Transparent Bar

Please let me know what you think about it
Thanks! I'll check it out when I get home... I'm at work
__________________
PLEASE QUOTE ME IF YOU ARE REPLYING TO ME SO I GET NOTIFIED.
Gold iPhone 5s 64GB 17" MacBook Pro
iSaxon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 04:04 AM   #30
chembox
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechIsCool View Post
I got board as hell tonight and wrote this in php let me know what you all think take a url that is not a attachment on these forums and paste it there then just copy the picture and email yourself the link or click the Email Link button...

iPhone Transparent Bar

Please let me know what you think about it
You're a freaking genius! This script is awesome, the only tweak you should look into is that 1px shadow at the bottom of the bar.

Major props, TechIsCool.

chembox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 04:43 AM   #31
Goldinboy17
macrumors 65816
 
Goldinboy17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by chembox View Post
You're a freaking genius! This script is awesome, the only tweak you should look into is that 1px shadow at the bottom of the bar.

Major props, TechIsCool.

And that background's pretty cool. Mind sharing? ;p
Goldinboy17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 08:06 AM   #32
jk4lebron23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Gallatin,TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechIsCool View Post
I got board as hell tonight and wrote this in php let me know what you all think take a url that is not a attachment on these forums and paste it there then just copy the picture and email yourself the link or click the Email Link button...

iPhone Transparent Bar

Please let me know what you think about it
it would work great but the bar isnt big enough
__________________
15" iMac13" MacBook aluminum body120 GB iPod classicWhite/Silver 64gb iPhone 5White 16gb iPad 2 wifi
jk4lebron23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 08:07 AM   #33
Ollie N
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
sorry if im asking too much but can someone also do this as a transparent menubar wallpaper?
Ollie N is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 08:15 AM   #34
jk4lebron23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Gallatin,TN
i officially suck at photoshop....i cant figure it out
__________________
15" iMac13" MacBook aluminum body120 GB iPod classicWhite/Silver 64gb iPhone 5White 16gb iPad 2 wifi
jk4lebron23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 09:37 AM   #35
bowzer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Send a message via AIM to bowzer Send a message via MSN to bowzer
Here is my attempt - and I've included my photoshop psd for anyone that wants to try using it to make their own. It's just the top bar set to dodge... I think this method will only work if you have a darker wallpaper... bright ones won't work.

DOWNLOAD PSD

bowzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 09:40 AM   #36
illutionz
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Warwick, RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowzer View Post
Here is my attempt - and I've included my photoshop psd for anyone that wants to try using it to make their own. It's just the top bar set to dodge... I think this method will only work if you have a darker wallpaper... bright ones won't work.

DOWNLOAD PSD
Hey, do you have the jpeg version of this picture?
__________________
2009 iMac 27" + 24" monitor, i7 QC 2.8Ghz, 8GB RAM, 1TB iPhone 5 White 32GB iPad Mini WiFi+4G 16GB 2011 MacBook Air 13"
illutionz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 10:03 AM   #37
bowzer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Send a message via AIM to bowzer Send a message via MSN to bowzer
Quote:
Originally Posted by illutionz View Post
Hey, do you have the jpeg version of this picture?
http://bowzer.net/stuff/colour4.jpg
bowzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 10:07 AM   #38
illutionz
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Warwick, RI
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowzer View Post
Thanks!
__________________
2009 iMac 27" + 24" monitor, i7 QC 2.8Ghz, 8GB RAM, 1TB iPhone 5 White 32GB iPad Mini WiFi+4G 16GB 2011 MacBook Air 13"
illutionz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 11:52 AM   #39
iSaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
iSaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: WVU
Quote:
Originally Posted by jk4lebron23 View Post
it would work great but the bar isnt big enough
There's no way to fix it. Because of the retina display... If you make it any bigger, it overlaps and just makes a dark black line...
__________________
PLEASE QUOTE ME IF YOU ARE REPLYING TO ME SO I GET NOTIFIED.
Gold iPhone 5s 64GB 17" MacBook Pro
iSaxon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 11:57 AM   #40
iSaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
iSaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: WVU
Amazing guys. Great work! I knew it was possible w/o jailbreak

Originial:


Here are my results. Left is with the script. Right is with the PSD.
The PSD works a little better, but they are both great! I am still amazed at the php script Thanks guys!


__________________
PLEASE QUOTE ME IF YOU ARE REPLYING TO ME SO I GET NOTIFIED.
Gold iPhone 5s 64GB 17" MacBook Pro

Last edited by iSaxon; Aug 1, 2010 at 12:13 PM.
iSaxon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 12:15 PM   #41
Ollie N
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Yay! I made one! I did it with the PSD because the script does not work for me.
Ollie N is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 12:21 PM   #42
nin7474
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
How do you stop all the Apps going into Home Screen 1? Every time i Sync or Apply all the Apps fill into Home Screen 1.
nin7474 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 12:42 PM   #43
Ollie N
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nin7474 View Post
How do you stop all the Apps going into Home Screen 1? Every time i Sync or Apply all the Apps fill into Home Screen 1.
You Cant
Ollie N is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 01:09 PM   #44
nin7474
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie N View Post
You Cant
K, thanks. I just put all the Home Screen Apps in 1 Folder like i've seen other people on the Home Screen. So only 1 folder on top left is better than nothing i guess.
nin7474 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 01:14 PM   #45
markrideout
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldinboy17 View Post
And that background's pretty cool. Mind sharing? ;p
I second that! i like that wallpaper, care to share??
markrideout is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 01:42 PM   #46
Frenchjay
macrumors 68000
 
Frenchjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSaxon View Post
Amazing guys. Great work! I knew it was possible w/o jailbreak

Originial:


Here are my results. Left is with the script. Right is with the PSD.
The PSD works a little better, but they are both great! I am still amazed at the php script Thanks guys!


EPIC
__________________
"stay hungry, stay foolish"
Steve Jobs 
Frenchjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 03:20 PM   #47
jreed91
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
So if you can do this with the status bar could you do this with the whole lockscreen?
__________________
20" iMac, 2.4 GHz, 2GB Ram, 250GB HD; iPhone 4; The "New" iPad
jreed91 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 03:53 PM   #48
chembox
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldinboy17 View Post
And that background's pretty cool. Mind sharing? ;p
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrideout View Post
I second that! i like that wallpaper, care to share??
Sure:
Thumb resize.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed91 View Post
So if you can do this with the status bar could you do this with the whole lockscreen?
Nope, the lock screen uses a non-transparent black status bar. Impossible without a jailbreak.

Edit: Here are a few others I did:

Thumb resize. Thumb resize. Thumb resize.

Last edited by chembox; Aug 1, 2010 at 05:01 PM.
chembox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 05:34 PM   #49
gtmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Nice work guys!
gtmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2010, 05:54 PM   #50
TechIsCool
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Alright I have updated it tell me if you guys like it better...

Click Here for Image Maker
TechIsCool is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How to get transparent status bar? Krupke Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Oct 17, 2013 01:41 PM
iPhone: Transparent status bar MaxLikesCheese Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Mar 17, 2013 07:21 PM
iPod Touch: NEED HELP!! status bar become transparent Kroller Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Feb 25, 2013 12:49 AM
iPhone: Transparent Status Bar - White bar in some apps unknownx Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Feb 11, 2013 09:31 AM
iPad: Transparent Status Bar frenchbullcho Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 8, 2013 03:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC