Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 31, 2010, 06:54 PM   #1
Johnny Mix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Macbook Pro stuck at startup screen

My macbook pro keeps getting stuck at the startup screen with the spinning wheel. I have tried booting in safe mode but nothing different happens. I tried booting from the install disc but it keeps ejecting the disc before getting stuck at the startup screen again. Sometimes a folder flashes with a '?' on it a few times before going to the the apple logo with the spinning wheel when trying to boot from the disc. I have tried resetting the PRAM but that didnt work ether.

anything else I can do?
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 06:58 PM   #2
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Put the disc in and hold alt at bootup. See if it lets you pick the disc.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 07:03 PM   #3
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
ok I did that and it ejected the disc just before showing a picture of my hard drive. I clicked on the arrow below the picture of my hard drive and it went right back and got stuck at the startup screen again.

any idea why it keeps ejecting my install disc?

i tried holding 'd' to get to the apple hardware test and that seems to work. any idea what i should do from there?
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 07:06 PM   #4
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Did single user mode work?

Sometimes even with a thrashed file system, it'll load.

---

Target mode is also the other saving grace, if it'll boot into target mode. Just want to get at it with fsck, since you can avoid a $99 disk warrior tax if you can rebuild the catalog/directory with fsck.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 07:12 PM   #5
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
single user mode worked but it ejected the startup disc again just as the black and white screen came up.

is this useful at all? everything i know about troubleshooting this issue i've learned in the past hour or so from reading forums, so i dont really know what's going on

EDIT: not sure if single user mode is working becasue the last line says

"Failed to issue COM RESET sucessfully after 3 attempts. Failing..."

and it won't let me type anything

Last edited by Johnny Mix; Jul 31, 2010 at 07:24 PM.
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 07:45 PM   #6
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Just need to get at it with fsck, then you can rebuild the b-tree catalog using the extended fsck modifier.

If you can't get at fsck to run it, can't rebuild the catalog.

Rebuild probably won't let you boot, but usually it'll give you some time to save some data.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:02 PM   #7
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
ive been using the tiger install disk that came with the computer. i just realized i upgraded it leopard a while ago. should i be using the install disk for leopard instead of the one for tiger?
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:03 PM   #8
highres
macrumors 6502a
 
highres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Near the Singularity...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mix View Post
ive been using the tiger install disk that came with the computer. i just realized i upgraded it leopard a while ago. should i be using the install disk for leopard instead of the one for tiger?
Yes.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved
than those who falsely believe they are free.

-Johann Wolfgang Van Goethe-
1749-1832
highres is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:16 PM   #9
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
just tried booting while holding 'c' and while holding alt with the leopard disk instead but same results. it just ejected the disk.

should i try the apple hardware test? single user mode wont let me type anything
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:21 PM   #10
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Don't need to hook it up to another computer, just boot into target mode to see if it works.

And AHT is always worth a shot.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:37 PM   #11
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
target mode worked and now the firewire symbol is bouncing around my screen.

this helpful at all?
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:39 PM   #12
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mix View Post
target mode worked and now the firewire symbol is bouncing around my screen.

this helpful at all?
Basically yes, means if you can get a FW cable and another Mac, you might have a chance of repairing the drive and recovering the data.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:42 PM   #13
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
well im posting on my brothers macbook right now, but i dont have a FW cable.

guess ill just run an AHT and see what it comes up with
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2010, 08:57 PM   #14
Johnny Mix
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
quick test found no trouble. now running an extended test
Johnny Mix is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro A1278 (2011) Startup with DING to white screen GelleCC MacBook Pro 8 Oct 20, 2013 06:44 PM
Stuck on startup screen after update RossB92 MacBook Pro 1 Mar 30, 2013 11:25 AM
MacBook Pro (2007) stuck in sleep mode on startup Stephen Valente MacBook Pro 0 Jan 22, 2013 06:21 AM
MacBook stuck on Startup Screen. Meaganmariee MacBook 1 Jan 9, 2013 08:17 PM
MBP stuck at startup screen - tried everything. animusheart OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Nov 17, 2012 04:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC