Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2004, 01:32 PM   #1
matthew24
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Netherlands
Internet connection

I got a weird 'problem'. I recently started to protect my wireless-router. I order to do this I had to enter the mac-adresses into the Firewall-part of my SMC modem/router. After I did this, it is no longer possible to go to the internet through the cable connection.

What is working:
Wireless (so I don't have a real problem )
My Powerbook does see my Powermac. (The shares are working, but ping doesn't work)

Does anybody have a clue? Just curious. Thanks.
matthew24 is offline   0
Old Nov 21, 2004, 02:15 PM   #2
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthew24
I got a weird 'problem'. I recently started to protect my wireless-router. I order to do this I had to enter the mac-adresses into the Firewall-part of my SMC modem/router. After I did this, it is no longer possible to go to the internet through the cable connection.

What is working:
Wireless (so I don't have a real problem )
My Powerbook does see my Powermac. (The shares are working, but ping doesn't work)

Does anybody have a clue? Just curious. Thanks.
Often times with routers you have to clone the MAC address of the first machine you connected to it in order for it to allow Internet access - it's one of those weird ISP things, and it's annoying. I did this for someone else a little while ago, and the Internet mysteriously started working again.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2004, 09:14 AM   #3
matthew24
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Netherlands
addition

Both computers are working, only the powerbook can access the internet through wireless. (Powermac uses cable and internet works)
matthew24 is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro long connection time JakeOfOz MacBook Pro 3 Dec 1, 2011 04:16 AM
an app lets iPhone in charge of internet connection in Time Capsule? talentsky iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Nov 10, 2011 08:40 PM
How to use office's internet connection from home? Secruoser Mac Basics and Help 3 Jun 17, 2011 04:46 AM
Connected / not connected - Safari issue grahamparker Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 17, 2010 09:02 AM
1 internet connection | 2 MBP's | Only one experiences slow internet browsing sn0warmy MacBook Pro 0 Jul 13, 2010 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC